We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and comfortable, the service was attentive, yet not in your face.

The food was good, everything cooked well, and nicely presented, and came out nice and quickly. The view stunning, and the whole night very reasonably priced for such a premium venue.

We look forward to Sunday Lunch here sometime soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach regarding your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you had the "perfect Dinner" at our restaurant and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to providing you with the same service and views when you return for Sunday Lunch.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    209
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
64
169
13
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
524 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a multi-storey hotel set right above the beach on the open beach, close to the station, the free bus services and a small supermarket. Our room has a view out over the beach which is MAGNIFICENT! The views out the back are less appealing, but not bad: over rooftops to the Hunter River. Each room has a balcony which is not accessible. This is because the balustrades are so low as to make the balconies unsafe. However in the sea side rooms it is possible to open the window a little to let the sound of the surf in. The hotel has a high class feeling from the moment you enter, with high quality fittings. This continues into our room which is tastefully decorated and superbly equipped. There is no pretence about this being an apartment - no microwave or toaster - but everything else is here. The comfortable Queen bed comes with extra pillows and blankets. The TV has Freeview and Foxtel channels. The lighting is excellent and there are plenty of power plugs and even a computer connection. The double wardrobe has mirror doors. The large en suite has toilet, basin and bath with shower over. The room is serviced daily with clean towels, and toiletries and tea/coffee supplies are replenished - even shortbread biscuits each day! The hotel room is clean and smartly presented. Parking is available in the basement, but we made no use of this. There is free wifi with a limit, but the presentation could be better: you start off thinking you're signing on to some plan. The room has a minibar, and a complimentary newspaper miraculously appears outside the door each morning. Some minor irritations ... . The bed head has a ridge around the top which just catches me when sitting up. There is no tea towel supplied. The mirror shelf unit over the basin is badly placed and makes it hard to wash your face or clean your teeth! The shower was hot, but the flow disappointing - for this money I expect a good bracing shower. The basin plug leaked. And although the desk staff were friendly enough, I didn't find them very helpful in providing useful tourist information - for example, a good tourist map of the city.

We had the continental breakfast at Jonah's, the Hotel restaurant, and that was a good experience. Quality seating, a good range of food and drink, friendly service, and the same wonderful beach view through a window wall.

In summary ... Dated decor? I don't understand such comments. Older quality furnishings in good condition are a great attraction! I'd be more concerned about the little things. I do have a philosophical question though. For $214 a night you can rent a large serviced quality apartment in Central Sydney. So what value should be placed on the sight and sound of the Newcastle surf? Nevertheless, we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for the feedback - we always welcome opportunities for improving our services. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and we will make sure that your sentiments are relayed to the appropriate departments to help improve our guest experience. We look forward to your return. Best, PR Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

An overall great night spent at the Quality Hotel in Newcastle. The staff were wonderful, the room spotlessly clean (unlike the Hotel we stayed at the night before in the Hunter Valley) despite being a bit tired, it was well appointed, and in a superb location with terrific views. We can also recommend the restaurant, but the breakfast was a big let down,after such a wonderful night at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Suggest a higher floor and request a room with an ocean view. Also non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your review - We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and meals at our restaurant. We do apologise for the unpleasant experience at breakfast and I ashore you your sentiments will be relayed to the appropriate departments to help improve our guest experience.
Best PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great view...albeit over the corrugated roof top to the beach. I would suggest requesting a room on one of the higher floors. Decor is quite dated and as such has the dated smells associated with them but are visually clean and tidy. For the cost they are certainly overpriced compared to the quality. One of my biggest put-offs is finding long hairs in the bathroom...presumably one missed or one from the cleaner. I want a bathroom that appears to be unused prior to me arriving..A quick once over by cleaning staff should alleviate this problem. All in all, good location but pricey for the standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors - and ask for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback - Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a business conference also held in accommodation.

Room very very old and stunk of cigarette smoke, after I raised issue their fix was to fill room with air freshener for me to choke on. The bathroom was very tired and not something you would expect for the price. As for sleeping...well the mini bar sounded like a jet engine every time it kicked, poor pillows bed poor, so sleeping very minimal.

Whilst housekeeping: dirty linen dumped in piles near lifts, bins of rubbish lining corridors, having to fight to use lifts with housekeeping staff.

Jonah's very average food, breakfast good, dinner disappointing, ordered a rare angus rib eye received a med-well one was offered to re-cook but at 9pm?

Based on this will not stay again, I understand it is getting upgraded but it was a disappointment.

Very sad for my home town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback - On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Best PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just came back from a night at this hotel and the views are stunning, the rooms clean and tidy and the restaurant for dinner is first class. This place would have been given a 5 star except it fell down very badly on the breakfast. I have stayed in many hotels in the world and unfortunately breakfast seems a consistent failing. Ordered the full help buffet breakfast and I am afraid this one rated 1 out of 10. The mushrooms looked like they had been sitting in the sun for weeks, the tomato was dried, the bacon consisted of mainly 90% fat and little meat and the scrambled egg well it was so dry I had to leave it. The only good thing was the small sausages and potato cakes.
All of the above I may add was barely warm let alone hot. Not good enough I am afraid and why oh why don't these places have plate warmers which would at least make it a bit more palatable.
If food was dished up in this cold state in a take away the authorities would fine them!
Certainly not worth the $28 per head.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomerang52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for the feedback - we always welcome opportunities for improving our services. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the unpleasant experience. We will make sure that your sentiments are relayed to the appropriate departments to help improve our guest experience. We look forward to your return. Best, PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night. We had an upper ocean view room which has excellent views over the beach. The hotel is in a great location as there are lots of cafes an restaurants around the area within walking distance. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean. The hotel is rather dated though and could do with a refurb other than that we had a great nights stay.

Room Tip: Get and ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback - I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Best regards, PR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Property: Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Address: Cnr Shortland Esplanade and Zaara St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is situated directly opposite spectacular Newcastle Beach and is Newcastle's only Beachfront Hotel. NOAH'S offers the perfect place to beach yourself for business or simply to relax and unwind. Located within minutes of the CBD, harbour and city shopping, Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is the ideal venue for any wedding, conferences and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Quality Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing