We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times when I have attended functions. Occasionally I have had a decent room but mostly, like this stay, they were old, tired and dingy.

My room apparently overlooked the bottle disposal area in the carpark. The crash of bottles meant the door couldn’t be left open. Telling the receptionist was met with total disinterest. Her “I’ll tell the manager” sounded like she was used to complaints.

The bathroom had a sink on a pedestal and little space for toiletries. The cupboard had warped timber and flaking paint. The toilet seat was thin cheap plastic - which summed up the room. The alleged harbour view could just be seen over the roofs of adjoining buildings.

The best feature was that it was not too far to walk to some excellent restaurants.

The hotel is in a great location. With experienced owners and well-trained staff it could be good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I am sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay at NOAH'S. We are committed to ongoing improvement and all of your comments will be taken seriously. I hope that you choose to visit us again in the future. Your sincerely Deb GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    209
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
64
169
13
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place has three things going for it: the ocean view, a staff member named Reuben and proximity to the train station.

The ocean view is spectactular. Reuben assisted/managed a function I attended and was helpful, courteous, professional and friendly - a real asset to the property. The train station is only a short walk from the property.

Check-in: quite easy and efficient, not really welcoming. Receptionist didn't enquire about whether I'd stayed previously or proffer any information about facilities, amenities or the locality at all - simply took my credit card and gave me a room keycard. Check-out: I checked out at a busy time and the two staff were swamped. They did their best and you can't ask for more than that!

Having stayed here some time ago, I knew what to expect in terms of size and facilities in the rooms. I wasn't prepared for the musty smell and damp atmostphere when I entered my room on the second floor. At the moment it isn't possible to open balcony doors (work is being done on the balconies) and I am certain it would have assisted to freshen the room if I could have opened the balcony door. As it was, I tried to get some air circulating by turning the airconditioner fan up high but it didn't really assist. That aspect was quite off-putting.

My room had all the things I expected it to have but, as other reviewers have said, it is all a bit tired, worn and in need of a refurb - including the now-flattened by use, hard pillows. The room was seriously overcrowded by having both a queen size bed and a single in it - it just isn't big enough. As it was, the armchair had to be jammed in between the desk and cabinet on which the television sat, which meant you sat with your back to the television.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macsla255349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the function that you attended and will pass your comment on to Reuben. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your accommodation. We are committed to ongoing improvement so please always let us know during your stay, if you experience a problem. I hope that you choose to visit us again in the future. Yours sincerely Deb GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

After having a few meals there we decided to stay there two nights for a conference in Newcastle - just too far to drive home after a night out. We opted for a lower sea view room. The room is not very large but comfortable with all the necessary things, like TV coffee and tea making facilities, a queen size bed, desk with internet connection and a bathroom with bath.
It is all a bit older, not worn but missing the modern touch: the "broadband" internet is slow, no mixing taps in the shower or bath. The door to the missing balcony cannot open more than 10 cm.
The bed was comfortable and the air-conditioning effective and silent.
Breakfast was sumptuous (but at an extra charge) and the thing that made up for all the minuses was the view: not like most "sea view rooms" a dark hole at night but with a view along the promenade and during the day time with lots of surfers riding the waves.
Under cover parking is available at no charge but is very tight and needs careful manoeuvrings if you don;t want to get a scratch.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms at the lower level look out over the restaurant roof but still offer a great sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay, your feedback is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great views from this hotel and it is in a prime Newcastle location close to the beach and to good restaurants and bars etc. It looks a bit tired from outside, but looks much better looking from inside to out.

The rooms are good quality without being spectacular, clean and well appointed.

We had a business meeting in one of the rooms on the 6th Floor. Meeting room was pretty basic, but with good views. Meeting food was pretty good, again nothing to write home about, but its meeting food.

All of the staff we encountered at reception and in the meeting room were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel regarding your recent stay.

We thank you for choosing NOAH'S as your meeting venue, Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Best PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and comfortable, the service was attentive, yet not in your face.

The food was good, everything cooked well, and nicely presented, and came out nice and quickly. The view stunning, and the whole night very reasonably priced for such a premium venue.

We look forward to Sunday Lunch here sometime soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach regarding your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you had the "perfect Dinner" at our restaurant and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to providing you with the same service and views when you return for Sunday Lunch.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
524 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a multi-storey hotel set right above the beach on the open beach, close to the station, the free bus services and a small supermarket. Our room has a view out over the beach which is MAGNIFICENT! The views out the back are less appealing, but not bad: over rooftops to the Hunter River. Each room has a balcony which is not accessible. This is because the balustrades are so low as to make the balconies unsafe. However in the sea side rooms it is possible to open the window a little to let the sound of the surf in. The hotel has a high class feeling from the moment you enter, with high quality fittings. This continues into our room which is tastefully decorated and superbly equipped. There is no pretence about this being an apartment - no microwave or toaster - but everything else is here. The comfortable Queen bed comes with extra pillows and blankets. The TV has Freeview and Foxtel channels. The lighting is excellent and there are plenty of power plugs and even a computer connection. The double wardrobe has mirror doors. The large en suite has toilet, basin and bath with shower over. The room is serviced daily with clean towels, and toiletries and tea/coffee supplies are replenished - even shortbread biscuits each day! The hotel room is clean and smartly presented. Parking is available in the basement, but we made no use of this. There is free wifi with a limit, but the presentation could be better: you start off thinking you're signing on to some plan. The room has a minibar, and a complimentary newspaper miraculously appears outside the door each morning. Some minor irritations ... . The bed head has a ridge around the top which just catches me when sitting up. There is no tea towel supplied. The mirror shelf unit over the basin is badly placed and makes it hard to wash your face or clean your teeth! The shower was hot, but the flow disappointing - for this money I expect a good bracing shower. The basin plug leaked. And although the desk staff were friendly enough, I didn't find them very helpful in providing useful tourist information - for example, a good tourist map of the city.

We had the continental breakfast at Jonah's, the Hotel restaurant, and that was a good experience. Quality seating, a good range of food and drink, friendly service, and the same wonderful beach view through a window wall.

In summary ... Dated decor? I don't understand such comments. Older quality furnishings in good condition are a great attraction! I'd be more concerned about the little things. I do have a philosophical question though. For $214 a night you can rent a large serviced quality apartment in Central Sydney. So what value should be placed on the sight and sound of the Newcastle surf? Nevertheless, we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for the feedback - we always welcome opportunities for improving our services. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and we will make sure that your sentiments are relayed to the appropriate departments to help improve our guest experience. We look forward to your return. Best, PR Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

An overall great night spent at the Quality Hotel in Newcastle. The staff were wonderful, the room spotlessly clean (unlike the Hotel we stayed at the night before in the Hunter Valley) despite being a bit tired, it was well appointed, and in a superb location with terrific views. We can also recommend the restaurant, but the breakfast was a big let down,after such a wonderful night at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Suggest a higher floor and request a room with an ocean view. Also non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoahsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your review - We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and meals at our restaurant. We do apologise for the unpleasant experience at breakfast and I ashore you your sentiments will be relayed to the appropriate departments to help improve our guest experience.
Best PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Property: Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Address: Cnr Shortland Esplanade and Zaara St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is situated directly opposite spectacular Newcastle Beach and is Newcastle's only Beachfront Hotel. NOAH'S offers the perfect place to beach yourself for business or simply to relax and unwind. Located within minutes of the CBD, harbour and city shopping, Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is the ideal venue for any wedding, conferences and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Quality Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing