We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT MORE DOES A WEARY TRAVELLER WANT.”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
A TripAdvisor Member
“WHAT MORE DOES A WEARY TRAVELLER WANT.”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My first reaction to the location was disappoihnjtmen but once inside was greeted by friendly staff who answered several queries I had, the room was very clean, comfy bed and pillows enjoyed watching foxtel before turning out the light, but as for the food - most enjoyabole - not a huge menu but the steak was cooked to perfection and the breakfast got me on the road to my destination, Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    302
    184
    56
    36
See reviews for
102
246
93
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

i think that the staff should know where the local pubs,clubs, papershop were
also all of these are near where coles is about 500 metres away
breaky and the restaurant were good
room was warm but as it was sat nite there was a lot of doors closing all nite

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Checked in late in pooring rain, paid $209 for a poky room, was like staying in a backpackers hotel. Complained to staff in morning , no free internet access, wanted extra $$ ontop of the $209. Found out normal room rate was $139, was a ripp- off , would never recommend and would never stay there again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank port255329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Dear Traveller,

your posting here on Tripadvisor is much appreciated and it is always a pleasure to read positive and negative reviews as they give us the opportunity to improve our products and services.

I am sorry that your stay did not meet the expectations for the price paid. Our rates are set by various factors such as demand in town, events, special functions or corporate conferences therefore we do not have a static rate. The best chance for a good deal is to book as far in advance as you can, to visit our website or join Accor’s loyalty program Advantage Plus. We can help you here in the hotel to gain all information about this program you need.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Thomas Klotz
General Manager
ibis Hotel Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Typical budget 'Airport' Hotel, as such quite ok. Location in part of Newcastle where there is nothing going on.Rooms are small, comfortable and clean
Online connection is very expensive.
Reasonable breakfast.
For short stay it it fine

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The service was friendly and efficient; the hotel and room was fine and suited my needs as I was on business during the day and after checking in had time for a drink at the bar before going out to dinner.
I found the foyer/bar/restaurant area too cold and very impersonal (recently changed) and the chairs in the foyer (I had a nightcap and coffee when I returned) were so uncomfortable after only a few minutes I had to sit in the restaurant - I won't bother with nightcaps/drinks again due to this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Property: Ibis Newcastle
Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing