We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Newcastle Stay”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
1
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights with a group of 4 friends. Generally a good experience with a few minor niggles - like the breakfast serving Bain Maries not heated correctly resulting in cold food.
Another missed item was housekeeping not washing up the tea cups in the room.
The location adjacent to the train line and loud conversations outside the Hotel spoiled the sleep quality.
Staff were keen to please and responded promptly to requests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Dear Traveller,

thank you for posting this review about your stay at the ibis Newcastle.

We value your comments and will make sure we address the issues mentioned in regards to the quality and heat of the breakfast items and the quality of cleaning in our rooms.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you again here one day.


Sincerely,

Thomas Klotz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

I recently stayed at the Ibis following a meeting in Newcastle. It was the normal Ibis standard with pleasing decor, all the essentials, and good value. We had the benefit of cheap parking and 1/2 price breakfast thanks to AClub and Advantage Plus membership. The hotel is within the Fare Free Zone on Newcastle buses so it was easy to get into Civic, Darby Street shopping, and to the beaches. Newcastle is a great place to visit, and the Bacchus Restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Hicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
11
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My first reaction to the location was disappoihnjtmen but once inside was greeted by friendly staff who answered several queries I had, the room was very clean, comfy bed and pillows enjoyed watching foxtel before turning out the light, but as for the food - most enjoyabole - not a huge menu but the steak was cooked to perfection and the breakfast got me on the road to my destination, Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sydney
21
Reviewed 22 June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2011

i think that the staff should know where the local pubs,clubs, papershop were
also all of these are near where coles is about 500 metres away
breaky and the restaurant were good
room was warm but as it was sat nite there was a lot of doors closing all nite

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Checked in late in pooring rain, paid $209 for a poky room, was like staying in a backpackers hotel. Complained to staff in morning , no free internet access, wanted extra $$ ontop of the $209. Found out normal room rate was $139, was a ripp- off , would never recommend and would never stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank port255329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Dear Traveller,

your posting here on Tripadvisor is much appreciated and it is always a pleasure to read positive and negative reviews as they give us the opportunity to improve our products and services.

I am sorry that your stay did not meet the expectations for the price paid. Our rates are set by various factors such as demand in town, events, special functions or corporate conferences therefore we do not have a static rate. The best chance for a good deal is to book as far in advance as you can, to visit our website or join Accor’s loyalty program Advantage Plus. We can help you here in the hotel to gain all information about this program you need.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Thomas Klotz
General Manager
ibis Hotel Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sydney
1
Reviewed 21 June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 24 in Newcastle
1,508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,038 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
392 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £61 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing