We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, comfortable, friendly”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Lovely, friendly and efficient checkin and check out. Standard Ibis room and 'pod' bathroom, which was clean enough but another vacuum of the carpet would have been good. Close to Honeysuckle, the harbour, it's waterfront restaurants, great pub ( have a great lunch there every visit)and a good walk or short free busride to Newcastle CBD....Clarendon Hotel(pub) excellent meal and service for dinner. Hotel room was quiet when window is closed (especially considering railway is a block away). Beaut little cafe round the corner called Bank Cafe...good coffee, breakie and service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hi1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 701 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
1
Reviewed 18 December 2011

For the money you can't really beat it - its in a good location, the food is good in the restaurant, easy to park is relatively quiet. This is my fourth stay here and on the other times I've stayed there its been great. This time however either I've just got an ordinary room or the cleaners aren't doing what they should have. There is an awful smell of damp rising in the rooms which is cured quickly by aircon or opening the window. The other problem being this time was that the bed was like a rock to sleep on. I don't remember it being this bad, so I may have just got a bad room. All in all, I'd return here as the staff do go out of their way to help you, without all the BS you get in the larger hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel location was good, close to everything.
Room was very clean/neat with modern fittings but was a bit small/pokey. The bed was very comfortable though. Bathroom was also quite small. Room only had heating not airconditioning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAmy1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This hotel was very close to the centre of Newcastle, harbour, beaches and public transport, staff were friendly and keen to meet your needs. Good value for money.

Restaurant provided a good atmosphere, with a good selection of main meals for dinner and the service was excellent.

From the moment you arrived until the time you checked you were always made to feel at home and just relax.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimpy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wollongong, Australia
1
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A comfortable stopover. Breakfast not very appealing. The food was overcooked, cold and limited. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but adequate and the bed was comfortable. I would like to complain about the minimum 200 character length of this review. Frankly I think forcing someone to write more words in their review can onlt cause a more negative response than you would normally get or the reviewer giving up and not bothering with the review at all. Something to think about.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
sydney
1
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had a lovely stay in Newcastle. This hotel is in Hunter Street so a short walk to the foreshore. Clean, very affordable rooms. My 8 year old bed came out of the wall and he loved that so very cool.
Reception were great very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A good clean basic hotel. A rather small toilet which is to be expected of a hotel in this class. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good value for money. A good convenient location on Hunter Street the main street of the town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,051 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £61 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing