We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Newcastle”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night and it is a good Budget hotel. Rooms are small, but clean and very comfy bed. Small bathroom but works and the shower was fine and powerful. Found the room hot and we had the option of leaving the window open which was fine but with the local yahoos walking past at 3am, it was a bit noisy. They did have air conditioning in the room but I couldn't be bothered trying to work out the control and our friends said they had there's on and it was very noisy. . Breakfast was fie but one two sliced toaster for everyone was just a pain. Was told the original toaster broke a few days ago. How hard is it to walk to the local shops and buy a few mor toasters or replace it with a proper catering one?
Otherwise not a bad place to lay your head.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhutcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We travelled to Newcastle to check out the area and just needed somewhere to spend the night. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we asked, on booking, to have a room on the railway side of the hotel. I think that this was the first time ever that my 'request' was granted!! We arrived later than we anticipated so didn't get a feel for the area until the morning. I thought $12 for the car park was unnecessary, it's not as if our car was in a covered area. Receptionist was pleasant, although she tried to sell us breakfast, which from previous reviews, we declined! Our room was small but clean, it was really warm, but the air conditioner was too noisy to keep on overnight. Usual tea, coffee making facilities, iron, fridge. We were kept awake by the toilet, which sounded as if it was continually filling up, at 2am my husband flushed it several times and it finally stopped making a noise. Bed & pillows were comfortable. Disappointed there was no shower gel in the bathroom.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Bed: comfortable, Room: not luxurious, but warm and clean - what you would expect from an ibis hotel. Decor: simple, a bit dated, tidy. Bathroom: weird, circular design but separate shower, water pressure OK. TV: large screen and clear picture. Power outlets: only one available at desk, none beside bed. One in bathroom. Breakfast: nothing to write home about but probably what you would expect for the price. Check in/out process: slow - only one guy on the desk and he was not in any hurry. Staff: friendly. Car parking: $12 overnight to use the onsite parking - but I parked on the street right outside the hotel for free.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
sydney
3
Reviewed 11 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kiddy7668
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TerenceFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Better than usual Ibis - coffee & tea + hair dryer provided. We were in town for one night (a Saturday) to go to the theatre and the hotel is well served by rail and bus services. We were on the rail side of the hotel - definitely quieter than the hoons on the Hunter St side. The $5 muffin & coffee breakfast was a good option.

Room Tip: The railway side is quieter than the road side at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 25 in Newcastle
1,639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 25 in Newcastle
896 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 25 in Newcastle
1,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#17 of 25 in Newcastle
45 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 25 in Newcastle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing