We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It's a good budget hotel for a short stay. Rooms, as expected, are small but comfortable. Bathrooms are like in a cruise ship, but works. Satff are friendly and helpfull. Walking distance to Lee Wharf, CBD area, and Darby Street restaurants. They have a paid car parking, but there's a lot of off street parking spaces.
Good place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marceloschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed one night at the Newcastle Ibis while attending a function. My previous review covered the room and breakfast, and there is nothing to add in those areas.

On this stay I had occasion to test the Ibis "15 minute promise". The iron in my room didn't work and as the function (which was in central Newcastle) was black tie, started in less than one hour and I also needed to shower, it meant that the "15 minute promise" needed to be met. After calling reception with my issue a new iron was delivered in less than 10 minutes. However, Murphy's law struck - when I plugged the second iron in and turned it on it blew the room fuse! A second call to reception and a third iron arrived within 5 minutes. The staff plugged this one in to make sure it worked. So well done to Ibis Newcastle - they met their 15 minute promise and I was able to iron my shirt and trousers, shower and (for once) was actually one of the first people to arrive at the function.

PS The other change from my previous review is that the Ibis Newcastle is now also carrying the Newcaslte Herald as a morning newspaper.

TC

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank jack39k
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
wollongong
52
Reviewed 19 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night and it is a good Budget hotel. Rooms are small, but clean and very comfy bed. Small bathroom but works and the shower was fine and powerful. Found the room hot and we had the option of leaving the window open which was fine but with the local yahoos walking past at 3am, it was a bit noisy. They did have air conditioning in the room but I couldn't be bothered trying to work out the control and our friends said they had there's on and it was very noisy. . Breakfast was fie but one two sliced toaster for everyone was just a pain. Was told the original toaster broke a few days ago. How hard is it to walk to the local shops and buy a few mor toasters or replace it with a proper catering one?
Otherwise not a bad place to lay your head.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhutcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We travelled to Newcastle to check out the area and just needed somewhere to spend the night. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we asked, on booking, to have a room on the railway side of the hotel. I think that this was the first time ever that my 'request' was granted!! We arrived later than we anticipated so didn't get a feel for the area until the morning. I thought $12 for the car park was unnecessary, it's not as if our car was in a covered area. Receptionist was pleasant, although she tried to sell us breakfast, which from previous reviews, we declined! Our room was small but clean, it was really warm, but the air conditioner was too noisy to keep on overnight. Usual tea, coffee making facilities, iron, fridge. We were kept awake by the toilet, which sounded as if it was continually filling up, at 2am my husband flushed it several times and it finally stopped making a noise. Bed & pillows were comfortable. Disappointed there was no shower gel in the bathroom.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 23 in Newcastle
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
385 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#15 of 23 in Newcastle
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing