We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newcastle Overnighter”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed 18 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Everything is clean and tidy. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have slept in! Room is quite small but for the short amount we were in it wasnt a problem. Close to CBD and transport. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed as a family for 4 nights. The hotel is comfortable (great beds), air conditioning does work (even though the sign in the room implies that it doesn't). Great service by all staff, great breakfast and clean rooms.The location of the hotel is ok as long as you have a car to get around with.The streets surrounding the hotel are very empty (a lot of closed businesses) but it looks like they are going to be renovating in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank NMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is well situated within Newcastle, the rooms are basic and clean. The showers are a one piece plastic construction but to be honest this did not bother me as it was very clean and the water pressure was good. As I am typing this the carpets in the rooms are being pulled up and replaced so it should have a better feel for those coming here that read the previous comments.
Why though do Hotels continue to charge large amounts for wifi. Surely now it has been recognised that wifi is as important to guests as running water and electricity. Seriously, this hotel and others need to follow the USA and Europes example.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenfrog-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Greenfrog-j,

Thank you for spending the time to write about your stay at ibis Newcastle.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
You are absolutely right all our carpets have now been changed and it has improved our
in room experience substantially.

In regards to the Wi-Fi offers, our hotel and the Accor as a company will continue to work on improving our internet offers in the future as we do understand that being connected is a very essential part of a customers accommodation. I am sure changes will be made in the future to further address this point.

Again thank you for your feedback and let us know when you here next how you like the new carpets.

Kind regards

Thomas Klotz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Location/General: Located on Hunter St, one of the major streets of Newcastle's CBD, the hotel is situated in a good spot. Right next door is KFC and Pizza Hut if you're not keen on walking far. Otherwise, it took us a casual 20 minutes walk to hit the centre of town where major shops are located and next to the ocean.

Room: We were given the room on the highest floor, 4th floor. For one night this cost us $122AUD inclusive of breakfast otherwise the normal rate would be around $100. This hotel is good for a stop over only because the rooms are small. Approximately 20sqm and is just enough for two people. There wasn't a lot of room to move around the bed and the toilets/bathroom were located within this rounded cubicle, perhaps to save space but only 1 person at most could be in there at the one time.

Check - in: This process was efficient as there were no other people waiting HOWEVER, I was NOT informed of the $50.45 hold on my credit card. This would have been fine had I been told so seeing the charge appear later, I had to contact the hotel to find out what it was. This was later released but still annoying to not be told.

Pluses: There is secure car parking which would normally cost $12 but we were not charged (lucky us!). Breakfast was included within our booking for $22AUD for two people and was worth it. Given that they weren't busy, they didn't have a full spread so instead we got to order what we wanted from the kitchen. Choices included eggs, bacon, sausages,tomato and baked beans. While waiting for it to be cooked, you could help yourself to yoghurt, museli, toast, cereal, coffee etc. For $11 per person, the spread was very good. Sleep quality was also good as the bed was comfortable and being higher up, no street noise could be heard.

Minuses: As previously stated, the rooms are small. It does however have A/C and a working mini bar. Despite being on the highest floor, there isn't much of a view of anything. The window to our room overlooked the car park.

Overall, I would stay at the Ibis again for a stop over in Newcastle due to location, price and convenience however if I were to stay for more than one night, I would look elsewhere due to the size of rooms and lack of facilities.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up to have a quiet sleep.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnhNguyen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 23 in Newcastle
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
385 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#15 of 23 in Newcastle
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing