We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, great value for money.”
Review of Ibis Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Newcastle
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I recently stayed with my girlfriend for a Friday night in the Newcastle CBD. Phone/internet communication was prompt & informative.

Check-in was fast & friendly, the only downside (probably not the fault of the receptionist) was all the locations & venues she suggested were closed. I was honestly suprised the CBD was so dead in a Friday night. Only a few places open after 830pm with a handfull of patrons.

The room size was moderate for 2 people, the bathroom funtional if a little when 2 people tried using it at the same time. The exhuast fan continuosly operates disturbing our sleep with a high pitched whistle.

After reading previous negative comments about breakfast I'm happy to stay there was plenty of food served, & all hot food was hot. The coffee machine was handy but the hot chocolate was terrible - alot of hot water & milk but no chocolate. I appreciated the complimentary cold cordial available 24hrs.

I disagree with previous comments about parking fee being included in hotel price. We came by train a short walk to hotel & wouldn't appreciate paying extra for a feature we didn't use. So I thank management for having the parking fee seperate.

Overall a great place to stay, here's hoping the CBD nightlife improves & council remain honest about public transport improvements to satisfy the community not real estate developers.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingRiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear RovingRiffy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay and experience in Newcastle.
We do appreciate the positive comments and I'll ensure to share them with our whole team.

We have noted down the suggestions in regards to the nightlife offerings and will endeavour to do additional research to have more variety available to go to on a Friday night. We would like to make your breakfast as special and enjoyable as we can therefore next time you are here feel free to ask for a freshly made hot chocolate and we are more than happy to provide you with one.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Thomas Klotz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Repeat visitor to this hotel .Great beds -so comfy that definitely keeps me coming back!
Staff service is excellent ,food in restaurant is great also and reasonably priced.
Centrally located in Newcastle CBD - in walking distance to foreshore and business.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mitchybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mitchybear,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I'll ensure to pass it onto our staff
as it will serve as encouragement to keep doing what they do best.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Thomas Klotz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you need to come to Newcastle this property is in a great location and very good value. The room is not overly large, but it is very comfortable and clean. Must say it is one of the most comfortable beds for a hotel.

From this location you can walk to the beaches, harbour foreshore and Darby Street (which is a great venue for some of the best cafes). If you come to Newcastle by train this is a short walk from Wickham or Civic Stations. We cycled around Newcastle for the weekend and the IBIS was a good central base.

Room Tip: Level 4 (top floor) at the back of the property is very quiet and has a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulinepan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Paulinepan73,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay with us in Newcastle.

We appreciate the comments made and I'll ensure to share them with our team.
Please feel free to contact us at any time if you do have any special requests such as room location and we will ensure to help you with that as much as we can.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Thomas Klotz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 442Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SHobbs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,051 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £61 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing