We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Decent Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newcastle Beach YHA
Reviewed 23 October 2011

It is a nice place, right by the beach, with a lot in the area to do. If I stayed in Newcastle again I would stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geroge4982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

This is a great hostel for travellers. Great location so close to downtown and the beach great price, free dinners and events, large kitchen, clean rooms and a friendly fun vibe! I would recommend to all travellers!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this YHA. Close to the beach and street with shops around the corner. If you take a walk along the beach you get great vieuws of the cliffs and ocean.
The YHA is in an old building that used to be occupied by nurses who worked in the local hospital. It gives you a nice feeling but it can use a bit of an update. The rooms are very old-fashioned. Big kitchen in the basement with loads of storage place. They organize pizza nights ect. Had a good time good hostel for YHA standards

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Even if Newcastle doesn't excite you as a city, book a week at this hostel - I cannot recommend it enough. The building is beautiful and right next to a stunning bit of coastline. The atmosphere here is wonderful and there are free events on most nights with quiz evenings and FREE FOOD!!! Which is pretty unheard of at other YHAs and really great fun.
The only slight criticism is the bedrooms that are a bit dated and could use a freshen up, but otherwise we absolutely loved this place and would recommend it without reservation to absolutely everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weasel_retreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

This is one of the best hostels we've stayed in during our two months in Australia.

The building is very plush and could easily pass for a hotel. Our room was large and had a TV and DVD player (you can rent DVDs for free from reception). The staff are very helpful and can advise on any tour bookings (the Hunter Valley wine tasting tour is fun).

The kitchen can get a bit cramped but the eating area is huge. The shared toilets and showers are very clean.

The one downside is that the internet WiFi options are $4 for an hour or $6 for two hours - not great. The free body boards and surf boards just about make up for that though.

If we were to come back to the beautiful city of Newcastle, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The hostel was basic but clean, the shower facilities where shared but there were plenty to use. I had asked in advance if there was parking and I was told yes but it turned out I couldn’t park outside for too long and had to keep moving my car about which was a bit of a pain. I was only there for one night which is probably enough for Newcastle as there wasn’t that much to do.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This place does feel like your back on a school trip however its a good place! 2min walk to the main beach, friendly staff! and a 24hour kitchen for late night munchies!
The kitchen was a bit messy but this was more to do with no one washing and drying! The room we were in was tiny! i think it would have suited at max a double bed but there
was 4 of us in there! Felt a bit too cramped! Good common room as well! Big problem was that the reception was constantly queued up, i know it was the start of Summer but 2 is definitly needed on reception! Easy to walk to the bars near by - a good place to come after Sydney! Also take the Hunter Valley wine tour through the hostel it was great!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
861 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 24 in Newcastle
189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newcastle Backpackers
Newcastle Backpackers
#6 of 27 in Newcastle
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Beach YHA

Address: Cnr King St 30 Pacific St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range: £22 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newcastle YHA is close to the beach and city centre in the historic part of Newcastle. Located in a former gentlemen's club, the atmospheric building is cosy and comfortable with a range of rooms. Walk to all the sights, local cafes and bars, and transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Newcastle Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing