We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok just strange” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newcastle Beach YHA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok just strange”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is an odd hostel, different to all the others we stayed in Australia. It's like a huge old style house with lots of rooms. Dorms were ok but my main issue was the amount of cockroaches that I saw rubbing about in almost every room, it made me uneasy at night thinking they might crawl over me. Anyway wouldn't to back to newcastle as there's nothing to really do and so many other amazing places in Australia to go.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
27
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hostel is old and looks like its last upgrade was a few decades ago.
bathroom and kitchen are clean, location is good.
I mainly have issue with the cleaniness of the bedroom.
found bugs on the bed. last time i stayed in YHA canberra which they provided a sheet to cover the blanket. Not in Newcastle. luckily i have my own sleeping bag. that blanket they provided looks like is just came from a good will bin,

i stayed only one night , and saw two cockroaches in the TV room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night as part of our roadtrip from Brisbane to Sydney and stayed in a 4 person female dorm.

This house brought me back to my days of living in a sorority house- The old architecture, dark wood and open entrance was awesome ( I think it was an old men's club).

Anyways, facilities were clean and I enjoyed having separate Mens and Women's bathrooms. There are large lockers in the room but make sure to bring your own lock! We really didn't stay here long at all but the staff was friendly towards us and I noticed the hostel hosts a couple dinners a week for a good price. The night we arrived it was pizza night- all you can eat for $7 I think? We arrived too late but had a good crowd.

They make you pay for WIFI but don't do it! Newcastle as a town has free WIFI in most places- as in one block away - and its really good. Would have been nice if they would have mentioned this to us! (but thanks Lonely Planet for the heads up!)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Had a faultless 3-night stay at this wonderful YHA. I booked a single room at the reasonable rate of $60 and was glad I did. The room was spacious, comfy, clean, quiet and had a TV for a spot of luxury.

All of the communal areas are similarly impressive and the hostel itself is a beautiful old building. Managed to get that chore laundry done here, great facilities for that.

The staff were friendly and at just a short walk from the beach and from the main shopping area, the hostel is ideally located.

On the Thursday night I signed up for the free (yes, free!) dinner at a local pub with a 2 for 1 beer offer thrown in. Great way to get to know some of your fellow travellers.

In summary, a perfect stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend and I was very disappointed with the standard of this hostel. The staff were nice enough but the room looked like it hadn't been decorated in decades. The beds were uncomfy and there was little to no atmosphere in the place. The location is good for the beach but if you enjoy meeting people and having fun I wouldn't recomend this, especially not for $37 a night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bremmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here overnight while seeing relatives in the region and very impressed with the friendly relaxed service, room cleanliness, location and all round unpretentiousness of the place. The Newcastle Beach YHA doesn't pretend to be anything its not, it's cheap and cheerful, it's basic, but comfortable and it's clean. Constructively, the common space downstairs could do with some better lighting but location wise, for the cost, if you are happy for basic, friendly accommodation in Newcastle this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: We got an unexpected ocean view from our double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecloverfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at YHA Hostel – the building was charming and very close to the beach and the cafe life of Newcastle. My room was spacious and uncrowded and although it was June and a little cool there was still enough guests in house to create a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Newcastle Beach Hotel
#17 of 22 in Newcastle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Beach YHA

Property: Newcastle Beach YHA
Address: Cnr King St 30 Pacific St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Newcastle Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing