We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous building, excellent staff, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newcastle Beach YHA
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous building, excellent staff, great location.”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

This is one of the best hostels we've stayed in during our two months in Australia.

The building is very plush and could easily pass for a hotel. Our room was large and had a TV and DVD player (you can rent DVDs for free from reception). The staff are very helpful and can advise on any tour bookings (the Hunter Valley wine tasting tour is fun).

The kitchen can get a bit cramped but the eating area is huge. The shared toilets and showers are very clean.

The one downside is that the internet WiFi options are $4 for an hour or $6 for two hours - not great. The free body boards and surf boards just about make up for that though.

If we were to come back to the beautiful city of Newcastle, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    43
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
27
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The hostel was basic but clean, the shower facilities where shared but there were plenty to use. I had asked in advance if there was parking and I was told yes but it turned out I couldn’t park outside for too long and had to keep moving my car about which was a bit of a pain. I was only there for one night which is probably enough for Newcastle as there wasn’t that much to do.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This place does feel like your back on a school trip however its a good place! 2min walk to the main beach, friendly staff! and a 24hour kitchen for late night munchies!
The kitchen was a bit messy but this was more to do with no one washing and drying! The room we were in was tiny! i think it would have suited at max a double bed but there
was 4 of us in there! Felt a bit too cramped! Good common room as well! Big problem was that the reception was constantly queued up, i know it was the start of Summer but 2 is definitly needed on reception! Easy to walk to the bars near by - a good place to come after Sydney! Also take the Hunter Valley wine tour through the hostel it was great!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The location is great and the building has lots of character. Staff were always pleasant to deal with, and there's an overall relaxed atmosphere with everybody there.

The lounge/TV area is the nicest area inside, with high ceilings and a bunch of fans for good airflow. Bathrooms were bright and clean. I stayed in 3 different rooms, all of which were different. The only airflow was what came through the window(s), so it got uncomfortably sticky at night. Construction on a highrise across the street would begin at 6:30am, so noise would wake you up with the windows open. Bed sheets were pretty old & grotty and need to be replaced. Same goes for the drapes.
Half of the computers didn't seem to be functional. The food at the free dinners at local restaurants wasn't very satisfying, but better than nothing. The kitchen facilities were adequate, but flies were a bit bothersome.

With some thorough cleaning, maintenance, and updating the place would be great. As it is, it's a bit expensive for what you're getting.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We stayed here for one night in a mixed 4 person room. There was no ventilation, fans or air conditioning. It was so hot at night that it was hard to breath. the room was stuffy and had an odour. We were also getting bitten by Mosquitos. We ended up sleeping downstairs on the leather couches under the fan. Not a summer time hostel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiechan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This place is a stones throw from the beach, great location just up from the shops as well and not far from the main station and many bars/pubs/restaurants nearby. Downstairs is huge with loads of areas to hang out, large kitchen, but preparation area not as large, but we didn't cook once when we were here.

Thanks to the staff they organise free dinners with the local bars! They're excellent, tasty food, not huge portions, but it's free! Along with them are bingo and pool competitions. Our private room was massive, quite plain but we had everything we needed and it was comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and well stocked with everything you need. The free body board hire is great with the beach so close and only $5/hour for surfboards, they have wetsuits as well if you need one.

The best thing about this place is the staff, they will tell you everything you need to know about tours in the area and can provide you with really in depth directions to anywhere. The only thing that was a little annoying is that they was a lot of building noise coming from across the street when we went, i assume it's another hotel as its right by the beach. Didn't bother us too much as we were up early most mornings anyway. We'd definately go back and stay here, really great place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn00pycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Our guidebook said that this place used to be a gentleman's club, and the lounge certainly looked like it with leather sofas and wood paneling. We even had a leather sofa in our room. The hostel was handy for the Greyhound bus stop and we enjoyed one free meal night at a local pub.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne72Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Newcastle Beach Hotel
#18 of 22 in Newcastle
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Beach YHA

Property: Newcastle Beach YHA
Address: Cnr King St 30 Pacific St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Newcastle Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing