We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed overnight for a work Christmas party. Valet service was friendly and prompt. Reception was welcoming, happy and efficient. The room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. There are some great restaurants and cafes right next door. The swimming pool is lengthy and beautiful right on the harbour. There were a couple of young families at the pool, so probably a great hotel for families as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    440
    128
    26
    17
See reviews for
142
401
51
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My partner had our room booked a part of a group booking for their Christmas Party last weekend and we were very happy with our stay. Esp the In Room Breakfast that was delivered right on time and was hugggeee! Signing up for their loyalty program is a must. The comp 12pm check out made our morning alot more pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I ticked the "Very Good" button because it's better than average, but I really would like an in between option. We just spent our second weekend at this hotel and as regular visitors to Newcastle can speak from experience and say the Crowne Plaza location stands out in the Inner City. The development of the riverside precinct and in particular the "Honeysuckle" area means you are surrounded with restaurant choices and can take an extensive stroll along the river through pleasant parkland. (Just avoid Hunter Street). The hotel itself is still of good standard although showing signs of being a little tired around the edges. Both TV's in our suite had problems, that were fixed to an extent on request, but related to "guests fiddling with the connections" (one continued to have only intermittent sound). The curtains were difficult to open and close due to track wear and tear and the windows needed a good clean. The valet parking is I guess the best they can do given the site, but my car came back after two days with a fair spotting of bird poo and tree droppings. I have no idea where it was parked but was assured it was "secure". The staff were without exception friendly and helpfull which always helps counter any adverse impressions. Overall not a bad experience (just could be a little better) and the location will get us back.

Room Tip: Both Cityview and Harbourview are identical inside - the Harbourview is worth a few more dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKSWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time a couple of weeks ago in order to attend a local wedding. We found this hotel to be clean, fresh and quite new, the rooms (as I understand all suites) are clean and spacious. Our room had a terrific view over the water. As a working port, you can be woken at all hours by the sounds of the boats and ships sounding their horns. As a Platinum Ambassador I asked whether there was a chance for a room upgrade but was assured that we had already booked and paid for their top tier of room. We don't really have the need to travel to Newcastle but if we did, we would surely stay there again. A club lounge would be an asset for this Hotel, especially with the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We recently stayed here overnight & was very impressed not only by the staff but also the convenience of the location. The hotel is on the waterfront & I think almost all have views of the harbour. The rooms are spacious comfortable & quiet. There is a foreshore walkway which is pleasant and there are lots of cafes nearby. While not a fan of valet parking it was reasonable and the car was parked outside ready & on time after a request the previous night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79suzannem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I have stayed at this hotel over 40 times in 3 years both for work and vacation. Every time the stay has been enjoyable and has never varied.The service and attentiveness of the staff is 2nd to none. On the down side is the parking even the valet parking can be a problem. All in all pretty damn good to stay at.

Room Tip: Avoid the western wing, train noise and the gym make sleeping that bit harder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeroclock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The rooms are great, the staff helpful, the location is ok close to number dining attractions. The parking is hard if your not using valet. The bar staff are great most attentive. Highly recommended for a business or leisure stay, only issue was the priory club drinks no loner occur.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and a harbour view is always great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing