We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost, disappointed. Bugs in room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

For $260 a night a shower over a bath is not acceptable.
Even when a note is added for a room close to lift due to mobility issues - this did not happen.
$29 a day for parking, while typical is a ripoff. Limited metered off street parking. I believe IHG/PP customers should be offered a deal or discount on parking.

We had to change rooms on arrival once we realised its a shower over a bath, as i cannot do this due to mobility. I had honestly NOT expected one for the price, disappointed.
Lucky the mobility room, which is between conference rooms, bottom level with a view of the pool, was available & we could switch. Again, soooo glad we didn't pay full price.

Room service is expensive, but nice.
Bar fridge prices are typical.
Breakfast room service is expensive, but good, & $33 for a large amount of food. With real coffee!

The staff are the real saving grace for this place. Friendly, polite, efficient, helpful & follow through with what they say they will do.

Our TV had 1990 reception, but the guy fixed it all up with a new box quickly & friendly. He was even good enough to be quiet as our young son was asleep in the room.

Size of rooms is good.
Bathroom good. THough ours needed an exhaust fan badly.

We had a small wood roach on arrival on the coffee table, & worse still each morning we woke to find dead little bugs all over the tiles near the bar fridge YUK!

I have stayed in FAR better for FAR cheaper!
We paid $130 a night & i think that is pushing it.
Would not stay here again, i think there is much better to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your most recent stay, especially as an IHG Rewards and Priority Privilege member. Though regrettable, comments such as yours allow us to highlight where we could improve - so we appreciate you bringing these issues to light.

Your comments regarding the bugs in your room are concering - we have a rigorous pest control system, so please accept my apologies that this occured during your stay and caused you discomfort.

It is pleasing to note that our staff were able to address issues quickly and follow through on resolutions. For your next stay, please contact us directly at the hotel and we can tailor a reservation to your needs, and provide a room to suit your preferences.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was our first visit to Newcastle, and what a lovely surprise. The Crowne Plaza is a fabulous hotel ! The room we stayed in was so nicely appointed; it was spacious,,clean and had all the amenities we needed. The view from our room was of the harbour, and we didn't know Newcastle was so beautiful ! The staff at the hotel were well informed, so very helpful - they couldn't do enough for us. The pool and all outdoor areas were a pleasure to visit and enjoy. Dinner and breakfast at the Seasalt restaurant was also first rate. We will definitely return to this beautiful hotel and to this lovely city and its beaches !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mveljanovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Mveljanovski, thank you for your lovely review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel - from the staff to the view, from Seasalt restaurant to the amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Lovely harbor view from all rooms, on the boardwalk with lots of restaurants within walking distance, incredible beaches for ocean swimming close by, and nice Newcastle and maritime museums. Loved our stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Janice B, thank you for taking the time to share your great experience!

We are indeed in a great location - it sounds like you made the most of your time here in Newcastle. There is always more to see, so we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

At 6:30am I was woken by the sounds of someone in the room above us having a shower. Then their companion had a shower too- I could hear every drop of water hitting the bottom of their shower.
Late night room service menu is the following- toasted sandwich, garlic bread or cheese and tomato pizza- extremely limited. We ordered toasted white bread sandwiches and received a call 15 minutes later saying they had run out of white bread.
Breakfast was fabulous- fresh juicer to make your own juice, great hot food and the best buffet scrambled eggs EVER.
It was certainly not the flashiest Crowne Plaza we have stayed, the room was pretty uninspiring but it was acceptable.
Probably would not stay there again but would go there for breakfast for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Cat G, thank you for you review!

We pride ourselves on our In-Room Dining and Seasalt Restaurant options. We're so glad that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, however I apologise that the late night options for In-Room Dining did not meet your needs.

Please accept my apologies for our shortage of white bread, I hope that you still enjoyed your meal on one our other bread offerings that were available. Our head chef was made aware of the situation, and we thank you for your feedback.


We will see you next time, if only for breakfast, but we hope to change your mind!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We are locals from Shoal Bay and after shopping and a nice lunch at The Beach Hotel, Merewether we decided to book a room to stay the night in Newcastle.

We checked deals online and then phoned the Crowne Plaza and were granted the internet deal price. Check in was swift with very friendly and helpful service. We spent the night in and around the Honeysuckle cafes and bars. Stopping for a few drinks on the way to the Honeysuckle Hotel. The Honeysuckle Hotel (a huge old revamped woolshed) was about a five minute walk from our Hotel, the service and entertainment there was great!

The Crowne Plaza's room layout was quite inviting, with a nice view over the pool and harbour. The bedroom has a double sliding door for privacy to the lounge and kitchen. Wasn't really fussed on the window from the bedroom to the bathroom. The blind is on the bathroom side, so any guests could open and pry into the bedroom (poor design in my opinion)

We agree with 'Grismans', the block out curtaining was perfect - just what we needed for a cosy sleep in! Plus the fact that check out was 11am and a real A-Plus is the later option for room service breakfast (ie. 10 - 10.30am) - although pricey! If you prefer a discounted breakfast option, you can book the restaurant breakfast for around $29 (from memory I think that was the current price/deal for two people?!)

The standard of cleanliness in the room was excellent. Only negative, the shower recess had quite a lot of mould in the grout areas and could have used some bleach!!

Check out was a breeze, and once again very friendly service - even the offer for transport, which was great - we arranged a taxi (which was there in 5 minutes)!

Overall, yes I would stay at the Crowne Plaza again! Reasons: the proximity to the city centre, cafes and bars and waterfront and the great friendly service by all staff we met during our brief stay!

Room Tip: Choose the harbour view, rather than street view - much more interesting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dric3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

dric3, thank you for your review!

We appreciate your comments on the great service and friendliness of our staff. Thank you for providing your feedback on the cleanliness of the room - we will address the bathroom tiles with housekeeping, however it's great to see that the overall cleanliness was up to our high standard.

It sounds like you made the most of our location, exploring Honeysuckle and the surrounding areas. There is always more to see so we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I had great service from reservation, although the centralised website is hard to navigate! Communicate directly with the hotel I'd say. I got a great room, not quite what I asked for but quiet and with a water view. The bed and blockout curtains are great for busy travellers, I had great sleeps each night. I skipped breakfast as there are great options very close to walk to, but the room service menu and food is good for dinner! A very limited and non-local wine list though, sadly, for so close to the Hunter region. Lovely staff, attentive service and very helpful. Valet parking is easily the best alternative despite the cost. Definitely the best option in this city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and away from lifts; lots of options - don't try doing it yourself on the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grismans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Grismans, thank you for your lovely review.

Our room service menu is extensive - I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal! Of course, a relaxing and restful night's sleep is the essential ingredient for a great stay. It's great that you received this.

Thank you for your room tip - you're correct that calling in-house reservations is the best way to ensure that specific room requests are met!

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Good location and fantastic veiw. Rooms and nie, pool is good, towles and linen good, clean and comfortable bed. Rooms are starting to date but overall good presentation, well set out and furnished. The block out curtains are excellent and you will get a good nights sleep. Service is not so good, the restaurant menu is ok but plenty of better selections in the immediate area. Bar is average. Breakfast is typical of chain hotels. TV and selection of channels is a nightmare to workout.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moei-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Moei-Oz, thank you for your feedback.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the view, rooms and amenities - your comments are much appreciated!

Please accept my apologies that you did not receive the service we strive to deliver. I can understand your frustration at the many television channels to choose from - there is a printed channel guide in front of every television for reference for future stays.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 24 in Newcastle
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £102 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing