We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Tidy and nice and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, Tidy and nice and quiet”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here recently with the wife. Booked a water view room. A good size with a separate bedroom. The room was clean and tidy and had a lovely view of the river. Only downside was the long walk to our room which was located half way down a long hallway and the barman who needed someone to wind him up to get him going on a not so busy afternoon! Would definitely stay here again. Nice and close to some lovely restaurants.

Room Tip: Water view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gussy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Gussy001, thank you for your review!

We are so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us at the hotel, and explored the Newcastle dining district. We appreciate your comments regarding the attentiveness of staff - we strive to always be 'on the ball' to make your experience as enjoyable as possible.



Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    433
    127
    26
    17
See reviews for
140
395
49
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for one night only with my mother and teenaged son.

My mother had her own room and I shared a room with my son.

There was a mix up with my booking - but the reception staff worked hard to resolve the issue for me, despite the hotel being fully booked.

Comfortable beds and views to the waterfront - cant ask for more.

Had dinner at the hotel restaurant and I have to say it was an exceptional meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrybelle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Terrybelle1966, thank you for choosing to stay with us with your family.

I apologise that there was an error with your booking - I am glad that we were able to resolve the issue for an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your positive comments regarding dinner in Seasalt Restaurant - we have just updated to a Winter menu so you will have to come back and try it!


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location ! location! Location !
We loved the service from all staff,nothing was a problem. From the booking, to our departure.
The Honeysuckle area is ideally located , with many things to do.........

Room Tip: Harbour View at any level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrantK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you Francine K - all of our team work hard to make sure that our guests are able to relax with a hassle-free stay.

I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and enjoyed Newcastle and the Honeysuckle precinct.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We were in Newcastle for a 30th birthday and decided to overnight at the Crowne Plaza. I made very specific requests for the room, high floor overlooking the pool with an early checkin, and was given exactly what I wanted which is rare and refreshing! At checkin the staff, esp Kirsty, was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The king spa Harbour room with balcony was fantastic and had a resort feel - spacious, clean, really comfy bed and pillows and amazing views of the harbour. The balcony was definitely a bonus where we got to watch the sunset before the party and the sunrise the morning after, fantastic! Breakfast was wonderful, lots of variety from eggs to pancakes to a fresh self juicer which was really great. The wharf area is also so lovely with a good variety of restaurants and bars. Overall, a really enjoyable experience and would recommend Crowne Plaza to anyone staying in Newcastle.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gr8atExpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review - it is wonderful to see that we could accommodate your requests to get your stay off to a great start!

Thank you for your recommendation - you will have to stay for longer next time, to further enjoy Newcastle Harbour and the Honeysuckle area.\


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very disappointed. Used this hotel a few weeks back on a last minute spur of the moment stay. We are local so just wanted to get away for a couples night. No bath in the room, shower was awful and not relaxing in any way. Staff parked our car (at a charge of over $20 for the night) in an open air car park where birds dropped berry feaces onto the car and stained it, reception attempted to rectify the issue by refunding $15 to get the car cleaned it was still an inconvenience that shouldn't have happened and the paint was taken off the car overnight with the acidity causing permanent damage. Hotel itself was clean and decent enough but I certainly wouldn't consider it value for money. I have since spoken to friends who I discovered had been to the hotel before (wish I had known this before wasting my money) and found they were disappointed too. For the price, stay at the Quest or similar, you will be much happier and they have better amenities/ room facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Bel30, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay - it is certainly not the standard we aspire to.

We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further - please contact the Manager on Duty on 49075078 if you wish.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent the weekend at the Crown. It is very central ideal located within walking distance to the foreshore and the top of town.
We booked a balcony suite with separate lounge.
The room had a lovely view of the harbour and surrounds. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. Nice soft pillows and not too soft mattress.
The staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was delicious although I did have to wait 20 minutes for my eggs to be cooked and there was no bake beans!. There was a good variation of bacon and plenty of fruit. The do it yourself juicer was a nice touch.
Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review LeonSokulsky,

It's great to hear that you spent the weekend here, all the better to enjoy Newcastle! Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the space in the room and comfort of the bed and furnishings.

I apologise that the service for breakfast was not as fast as our usual service - I am glad that despite this delay, you enjoyed your stay.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in a good spot on the water, lots of things to see, good amount of restaurants all within walking distance. I think the price of this hotel is high for what you get, but I can't complain when my company is paying for it. Free wifi when you sign up for the IHG rewards card. Nice large rooms with a seperate bedroom with doors you can close off from the TV room/kitchen. The breakfast in the restaurant offers a fairly nice spread, but is a bit pricey (but All hotels in Australia seem to have very pricey breakfasts).

Room Tip: Water side rooms have the best views. Rooms on the short leg of the "L" (hotel is an L sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zachulaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Zachulaa, thank you for your review and savvy room tip - the Harbourview suites certainly have a nicer outlook and are more peaceful.

Our rates do vary nightly, and our best deals are on the weekend - Friday and Saturday nights, and the Weekend Special includes the buffet breakfast! So the good news is that if you ever come for a weekend away, you can get a special rate! It is always cheaper if you are happy to pre-pay, which is also something to keep in mind for next time.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing