We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Newcastle
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Newcastle Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$165
Novotel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$185
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
The Grand Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarendon Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
US$166
US$161
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gateway Inn(Newcastle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveller rating
437
473
139
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
473
139
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingthe crowne plazaworking harbourvalet serviceking spaseasalt restaurantseparate bedroomharbour viewhunter riversitting areawater viewsmall kitchenetteroom servicenobbys beachhotel restaurantwater frontshower curtain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
672 - 677 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, wonderful location and access to the waterfront makes this a great place to stay. Loved the layout of the rooms and separate lounge area. Highly recommend this place and we will certainly be returning for a little longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldinel752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Geraldine_53_10, thank you for your recommendation.

We do find that the suite layout of our rooms allows for more space to both work and relax. I am glad to see that the service from our team at Crowne Plaza allowed you to enjoy your time here.

We look forward to welcoming you back (as you say, for longer next time!),

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 5 nights in crowne plaza in Newcastle and it was a great place to stay.Excellent location - everything's within walking distance- beaches , shops and restaurants. Great value and great service. Definitely worth the extra for a harbour view. We stayed in junior suite which was lovely family accommodation with a fabulous view.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a harbour view.Make sure to enrol as a hotel club member to avail of free wifi
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Jayne B, thank you for your review and savvy room tips - becoming an IHG Rewards member is certainly a good move!

It is great to see that you were able to take the time and enjoy Newcastle over your 5 days with us. It was a pleasure to host you and your family.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for two nights. Requested a quiet room and they did not disappoint. The front desk staff were terrific and Josh the concierge was really very helpful.

Must admit it was perplexing as to why the televisions are so crappy. Dreadful grainy pictures and if I wanted to use my i Pad on the tv I had to contact reception so they could send someone with the master remote to switch to the correct av channel. If you wanted to switch back to the tv you had to contact reception again to follow the same procedure.

Get with the program Crowne Plaza, sort out your TVs and allow the guests to control their own remotes, they are not children.

I travel about 7 months of the year and rarely come across anything as absurd as this.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank documentary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Documentary2, thank you for your review and feedback. Our hotel is certainly a calm haven in a bustling harbour - I am glad that we were able to meet your request of a quiet room.

I can understand your frustration if you were attempting to use your i-pad on the television. Due to the AV needing to be changed, this does require a master remote. I apologise if this negatively impacted your stay.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The room was clean, comfy and with a nice wharf view. Valet parking was excellent. There is a public car park in about 400m away from the hotel, so there's a freedom of choice.

Great sunrise and sunset view of the wharf. Good for a morning jog or stroll along the wharf. There's plenty of restaurant/bars along the wharf. Its a little pricey though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CatByTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

CatByTe, thank you for your review.

It's wonderful to see that you made the most of your time in Newcastle, and were able to explore the Honeysuckle and Newcastle foreshore areas. There is always more to discover, so be sure to come back soon!


Regards,
Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My employer chose this hotel for me and I am very glad they did! With direct access to the harbour boardwalk and many restaurants thereon the location is excellent.

Rooms are very good with a separate bedroom and nicely done bathroom. There is a huge TV in the living room.

Breakfast is very tasty with made to order omelets and waffles as well as a great buffet selection.

Only downside was noise from the street during the night (drunks?).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had a street view room, maybe a harbour view room would be quieter?
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank billichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

billichka, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Newcastle! We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Newcastle and were able to experience our excellent location right on the working Newcastle Harbour. I am glad you found our room layout desirable and of course the wide array of food on our breakfast buffet.

Our Harboursides Suites allow for a quieter evening with beautiful views across the Newcastle Harbour. When you return to Newcastle be sure to call our in-house reservations on 024907 5062 for the best rate and rooms available.

Kind Regards

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews