We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service & Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

In my opinion, best hotel in Newcastle for service and location. Great front of house service and very accomdating to our requests. Nice view overlooking the harbour. Hotel location close to town centre.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Mike W, I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    413
    125
    26
    15
See reviews for
133
379
48
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a high standard, beautifully located 5 star hotel. The suite we had was great, overlooking the harbour and fully equipped and of a standard that left nothing to complain about at all - huge bathroom, comfortable and well equipped bedroom and the kitchen/living area was large and comfortable encouraging one to relax and enjoy the stay, along with a great view. The dining facilities were excellent, great food and service. This hotel definitely lived up to the Crpwne Plaza reputation if not exceeding it.

Room Tip: we had a small suite overlooking the harbour and definitely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Ian E, thank you for your review!

We strive to achieve total satisfaction for our guests - I am so glad that our team were able to deliver a great stay for you and your partner! Your comments have been passed onto the team, in particular the Seasalt staff as you enjoyed your dining experience so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business for 3 nights recently.. Must say the staff whr terrific and really helpful, room overlooked street, comfortable..That said..I thought all the "Facility charges" a bit over the top..
$25 p/n parking
$29 p/n internet - more than I spend a month
$4.00 for any type of room service + normal high food/Bev charges, but that's to be expected in any hotel.. Oh and headache will cost you $4.00. as well.
Overall I think a hotel that offers services as part of there offerings is nicer that one that charges you for every thing they can.....an avg mid week stay is $200 a nite.
But thought the staff amazing!
Cheers

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MzLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback MzLink - it is always good to get a review from a guest who has stayed with us for a few nights, not just a fleeting visit!

Your comments regarding the staff and service are much appreciated, as our team work hard to make sure that every guest is both productive and rejuvenated during their stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding the facility charges. Our internet is usually charged at $19 for 24 hours, but I am pleased to let you know that our free rewards program, IHG Rewards, gives guests complimentary standard internet at any of our properties worldwide.

Please ask reception about IHG rewards next time you stay, as well as alternative parking options if the valet parking is not suitable.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a lovely place to stay with great views of a working harbour where ships pass your window and the waterfront walkway takes you into town-a pleasant stroll.There are plenty of cafés and restaurants along the boardwalk and Honeysuckle area has a great hotel.We had a balcony which is great to stand or sit on and watch the comings and goings of the harbour area.Staff were efficient and friendly.As an IHG member we received free internet and we were happy with the size and great layout of the room which was very clean and modern.Sunset from the balcony was superb

Room Tip: Get a balcony room with harbour view-worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiedrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Aussiedrivers, thank you for your lovely review!

It's great to see that you were able to relax together and enjoy Newcastle and the Honeysuckle precinct! As IHG Rewards members, your feedback is very important to us. It is therefore even better to receive a great review.


We look forward to welcoming you next time,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

this is a beautiful hotel, with a great bonus breakfast. valet parking is a rip off wouldn't waste you're money. beautiful view of the harbour. but this hotel is just like the budget one's nothing fancy.

Room Tip: get a water room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butler226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Butler226, thank you for your review from your stay in 2013 - a long time coming so we appreciate the thought!

I am so glad that you enjoyed our lovely hotel and extensive breakfast buffet in Seasalt Restaurant. Many of our guests enjoy the Harbour views, spacious suites and attentive staff. I apologise that your experience did not meet the high standards that we strive for.

We look forward to welcoming you next time - and I am pleased to let you know that there is street parking available which is free between 5pm and 9am, if this is more suitable than valet.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great staff, with attention to the customer. Great location with the waterfront access and plenty of eateries along the foreshore. (A little more expensive but the variety is great) the hotel had breakfast included which is to a high standard. Rooms are more generous than I first expected with a small kitchenette included. If you want wifi it will costs extra. Car parking out front is free if you get a spot or for a fee in the hotel. Very convenient for business visitors. As mentioned by others the very long hallways are different. And the hotel has a pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Richard S, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

Your comments regarding the staff are certainly appreciated. Our staff work hard to ensure that every guest enjoys their time in the hotel and in Newcastle, so it is wonderful to see that we succeeded.

I am pleased to let you know that our free rewards program, IHG Rewards, has the benefit of complimentary standard internet! Next time please ask reception.


Regards,

Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel would have to be the best located hotel in the city of Newcastle. Being right on the harbour and in the happening Honeysuckle precinct, everything you'd possibly need is right on your doorstep.

The check in process was fast and the staff were very friendly. The complimentary upgrade to a suite was very much appreciated, thank you, so I had my very own one bedroom apartment with a balcony that overlooked the sparkling Newcastle Harbour. The only problem was that I wasn't in my room long enough to enjoy it! The sun rising over Nobbys Head set the picture.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room and make sure you set your alarm for the sunrise. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GF2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Guest Experience Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
GF2183, thank you for your lovely review!

We are also very smitten with our great location and wonderful views of Newcastle Harbour and Nobbys! I am glad that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and the service provided by our team - delighting guests is our main aim.


We look forward to welcoming you next time,


Erin O'Brien
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Property: Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing