We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Thai food in Newcastle !”
Review of Ruan Kao Thai

Ruan Kao Thai
Ranked #79 of 566 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Dine in, takeaway
Restaurant details
Description: Dine in, takeaway
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Thai food in Newcastle !”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have been a regular at this place for almost 2 years now and it is undoubtedly the best place in Newcastle to have Thai food. The food taste is amazing and the staff is very friendly. They even remember the level of spice you usually request in the food. The yellow curry and spicy Thai fried rice are my favourite. I highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to have genuine Thai food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vgaikwad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai ”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I have been a regular customer of this restaurant for years. Friendly staff, free home delivery to my area and the food is second to none. I have had almost all dishes on the menu but my favorites would be the penang curry, pad see ew, penut sauce and cashew nut. Very reasonably priced and never disappoints.

Helpful?
4 Thank emmieg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the larb! ”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This little restaurant may look humble but wow they have great thai food. Personally I never order anything except for the pork larb which is sensational but I have been with others who have loved all the other dishes they have ordered.
The staff are always smiling and are really lovely. Delivery is also cheap and convenient if you live near by.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Newcsstle”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Great food, if you are craving the genuine flavours of Thailand there is no better place in Newcastle, value and flavour

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai in Newcastle”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Fresh and authentic Thai food. Great service and sensational flavours. I have eaten lots of Thai, and this one is the best! Massaman Curry to die for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruan Kao Thai also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Ruan Kao Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing