We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little sleepover”
Review of Merewether Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merewether Motel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We needed a last minute night's stay and were recommended we try this motel which is undergoing renovations by a lovely and incredibly hard working young family. The room we were allocated, which has had it's renovations completed, was perfect. I particularly loved the thoughtful use of space, for example, the clever toilet / sink combo which also makes sound environmental sense. Nothing was too much to ask for from the warm and friendly management. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello Felicity,

It was great having you and your husband stay with us at our newly renovated property, and it is extremely pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our room was beautifully renovated and very very clean. The bathroom is excellent too, with a sink/ toilet combo (so much fun to play with, you'll see when you get here) and the shower is soooooo good. Customer service is also excellent. Would recommend this motel 100%

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amadeusishellonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The water saving integrated hand basin toilet and shower head both feature in our bathroom, and we find them great, so we are glad you do too. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Newcastle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent room. On first arrival I thought that road noise may be a problem but turned out to be more than acceptable.

The renovation is excellent, a very neat and tidy room with wifi, tv, Foxtel, AC.

Customer service is fantastic, even after getting locked out of the room (my own fault)!

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Trickbooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you made mention to the road noise not bothering you. When we renovated our rooms we went above and beyond to make sure that these items were addressed, and included measures such as new walls with sound screen insulation and new windows with heavy duty seal, and also solid core doors, so it is good to get the feedback and hear that our efforts have paid off. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I can't recommend this place highly enough. The new owners have done an excellent job of tastefully renovating the building paying homage to its coastal location.

The two highlights were undoubtedly the comfortable bed and the amazing shower-head! The only criticism of the bed is that I didn't think I'd actually be able to bring myself to leave it! The shower-head was certainly an indulgence that you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.

I stayed here approximately 1 year ago, and whilst it was comfortable then, it's exceptional now. The staff were warm and welcoming, and clearly committed to establishing an unparalleled reputation.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Tim,

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed our property improvements. The beds and the shower according to us are two of the most important items when it comes to a short term stay at a motel, so we are wrapped that you enjoyed both.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wow. We sure were not disappointed when we were shown into our room (no 3) at this thoughtfully renovated motel. From the beautiful canvas photo print above the new and very comfortable bed to the waterfall shower, our room was amazing. Attention to detail is demonstrated in every aspect of getting a good nights' rest for the weary traveller. Not knowing the area and driving around in the dark did not help our situation as each motel we found had a no vacancy. Then the Merewether sign above the motel came into view and after finding the entrance around the back a very pleasing sign sat timidly on the pavement "Room now available". It was like seeing a cold glass of water in the desert.
The thoughtfulness for the environment has been considered in the use of a unique hand washing and toilet flushing system which has to be seen to be believed and the fridge will not keep you awake at night.
Our only disappointment is that we did not find this motel sooner. Thanks to the manager because you have done an excellent job in renovating this motel and we wish you all the success in the future.
Give this motel a go you travellers out there, you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Anne,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is very pleasing to us to read such a positive review about the hard work that we have done. Luckily for us you have not left any stone unturned in this review. The key items that we focus on have all been mentioned.

I think I will find myself looking back on this review on the odd occasion, because knowing that our guests were happy is what makes all the hard work worth while.

I hope the move to Perth went well. We had the pleasure of living there for 5 years, it is a great city and I am sure you will thoroughly enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and would definately stay again.

The main address states Glebe Road, however you need to enter from Railway Street.

We arrived around 6ish, dropped our bags and went to dinner. There are 2 places within 2 minutes walk. 1 is an asian restaurant (probably the cheapest I have had in Australia and just delicious. Review pending with TA) and the other is the Ellen Hotel. (Pretty pricey for a pub. Review pending with TA).

Our room and bathroom was clean and the beds were extreemly comfortable. TV, small fridge, soap, shampoo, conditioner, biscuits, tea, coffee and milk were all in our room. As we didn't want to get back in the car to get milk, we asked at reception and received a larger jug of milk that would last us for the next 2 days. Nothing was a problem.

We normally don't order breakfast but sure glad we did. For $9.95 I had bacon, eggs, tomatoe and toast. Fit for a king and delivered with a great smile from the staff. Absolutely delicious.

In the middle of the U shaped units, there is a lovely garden style setting which is under cover and was very peaceful to sit there after a long day. A little added bonus.

There is a Shell service station right next door where you would normally be able to purchase any extras you needed, however it was being renovated while we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AdelaideFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 25 in Newcastle
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 25 in Newcastle
1,076 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 25 in Newcastle
896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 25 in Newcastle
1,639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 25 in Newcastle
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewether Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewether Motel

Address: 231 Glebe Rd | Merewether, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia (Formerly Aloha Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £55 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewether Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merewether Motel! Located in Merewether, you are just a short drive or walk to just about anything in Newcastle- just a 3 minute drive to the ever popular Merewether Beach & a 12 minute stroll to The Junction, that is bustling with cafes, restaurants & boutiques! Staying with us, we are sure you will only experience the best in affordable & stylish accommodation! Our accommodation services are a class above the rest, ensuring that your next journey is as comfortable & welcoming as your own home! Make Merewether Motel your next destination & be greeted with a smile! We believe you should be comfortable when you're away from home so all our rooms have been fully refurbished, offering beds that ensure a restful sleep & consist of ultra-modern amenities! Each room bursts with style & comfort & convenience comes first! That is why our rooms offer 30 premium Foxtel channels on flat-screen TV's with inbuilt DVD players, iPod docks, reverse cycle air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, ironing equipment & options to hire porta-cots. Arrive after a day of travel, check-in & freshen up in your private bathroom under the amazing ' waterfall' showerhead & use the toiletries provided - it really is that easy! Our rooms have both privacy & block out window covering, so you can open the block out & enjoy the sunshine in your own privacy or keep them closed & enjoy a cat nap during the day! Don't have access to a phone? No problem, we have a free guest phone in the reception area for you to use at your leisure! We have 30 fresh & new rooms & offer 14 on the ground floor, one being a disabled friendly room, catering for everyone's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merewether Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing