We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back for sure.”
Review of Merewether Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewether Motel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having stayed in many Motels both within Australia and overseas over the years the Merewether Motel certainly gives many of them a run for their money. A1 service, and great newly refurbished rooms, and their rates are very reasonable. I give them a 10 out of 10, great young couple making a name for themselves. Keep it up guys, we'll be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Glenn,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words. It is very rewarding to know that you are well travelled and we can still manage to get a 10 out of 10 from you. See you next time you are in Newcastle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely room. Very impressed with the well thought out renovations. The bed was so comfortable and it is apparent the owners have put a lot of thought in providing quality comfort for their clients. The owners are very friendly and helpful. I was especially impressed when I was told that due to the ongoing renovations that it would be noisy from 7am to 5pm which showed thoughtfulness to prospective clients so that a decision could be made to continue with the reservation. This motel is very close to the Junction which has awesome eating places.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this motel 100% to anyone wishing to have quality accommodation. HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Raelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Raelene,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and found the bed comfortable. We made sure we picked a 5 star pillow top bed and all new top class linen to make sure that our guests get a great night sleep. :) We look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Newcastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had an excellent stay at the Merewether Motel and would recommend it to all. Whether its business, pleasure or just a good night’s sleep you’re after, this motel ticks all the boxes. The outstanding newly renovated rooms truly make it a gem! The service was excellent and the top quality rooms are in my opinion great value for money. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Ben,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate it. Value, Location, Service and Comfort are what we pride ourselves on and it sounds like we have delivered for you, so that is very pleasing to us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We needed a last minute night's stay and were recommended we try this motel which is undergoing renovations by a lovely and incredibly hard working young family. The room we were allocated, which has had it's renovations completed, was perfect. I particularly loved the thoughtful use of space, for example, the clever toilet / sink combo which also makes sound environmental sense. Nothing was too much to ask for from the warm and friendly management. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello Felicity,

It was great having you and your husband stay with us at our newly renovated property, and it is extremely pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our room was beautifully renovated and very very clean. The bathroom is excellent too, with a sink/ toilet combo (so much fun to play with, you'll see when you get here) and the shower is soooooo good. Customer service is also excellent. Would recommend this motel 100%

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amadeusishellonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The water saving integrated hand basin toilet and shower head both feature in our bathroom, and we find them great, so we are glad you do too. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Newcastle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent room. On first arrival I thought that road noise may be a problem but turned out to be more than acceptable.

The renovation is excellent, a very neat and tidy room with wifi, tv, Foxtel, AC.

Customer service is fantastic, even after getting locked out of the room (my own fault)!

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Trickbooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you made mention to the road noise not bothering you. When we renovated our rooms we went above and beyond to make sure that these items were addressed, and included measures such as new walls with sound screen insulation and new windows with heavy duty seal, and also solid core doors, so it is good to get the feedback and hear that our efforts have paid off. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I can't recommend this place highly enough. The new owners have done an excellent job of tastefully renovating the building paying homage to its coastal location.

The two highlights were undoubtedly the comfortable bed and the amazing shower-head! The only criticism of the bed is that I didn't think I'd actually be able to bring myself to leave it! The shower-head was certainly an indulgence that you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.

I stayed here approximately 1 year ago, and whilst it was comfortable then, it's exceptional now. The staff were warm and welcoming, and clearly committed to establishing an unparalleled reputation.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Tim,

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed our property improvements. The beds and the shower according to us are two of the most important items when it comes to a short term stay at a motel, so we are wrapped that you enjoyed both.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
392 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 24 in Newcastle
1,509 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewether Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewether Motel

Address: 231 Glebe Rd | Merewether, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia (Formerly Aloha Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £62 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewether Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merewether Motel! Located in Merewether, you are just a short drive or walk to just about anything in Newcastle- just a 3 minute drive to the ever popular Merewether Beach & a 12 minute stroll to The Junction, that is bustling with cafes, restaurants & boutiques! Staying with us, we are sure you will only experience the best in affordable & stylish accommodation! Our accommodation services are a class above the rest, ensuring that your next journey is as comfortable & welcoming as your own home! Make Merewether Motel your next destination & be greeted with a smile! We believe you should be comfortable when you're away from home so all our rooms have been fully refurbished, offering beds that ensure a restful sleep & consist of ultra-modern amenities! Each room bursts with style & comfort & convenience comes first! That is why our rooms offer 30 premium Foxtel channels on flat-screen TV's with inbuilt DVD players, iPod docks, reverse cycle air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, ironing equipment & options to hire porta-cots. Arrive after a day of travel, check-in & freshen up in your private bathroom under the amazing ' waterfall' showerhead & use the toiletries provided - it really is that easy! Our rooms have both privacy & block out window covering, so you can open the block out & enjoy the sunshine in your own privacy or keep them closed & enjoy a cat nap during the day! Don't have access to a phone? No problem, we have a free guest phone in the reception area for you to use at your leisure! We have 30 fresh & new rooms & offer 14 on the ground floor, one being a disabled friendly room, catering for everyone's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merewether Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing