We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, good food and very nice people”
Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Junction Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Erlinsbach
2 reviews
“Perfect hotel, good food and very nice people”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This is a very modern place with lots of light gags. Attractve rooms with glas walls and this rain shower which gives you a kick! Modestly priced makes it extremely attractive. The food was perfect, maybe amount wise not for the big eater but delicious. Great choice of wine including some specially good ones. Don 't miss this place!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rdgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Great to hear you appreciated our wine list, it is definitely something that we enjoy. We always aim high when it comes to our hotel and service so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    91
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
193
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great to see good pub accommodation still exists (or is back). For the operators of this simple but smart hotel the accommodation is obviously not just an afterthought. No broken down furniture, grimy walls and lumpy beds here. Considerate and welcoming staff. Free wi-fi (as should be standard but regrettably is not). Not cheap, but not unreasonable. Good luck to them if they can command a bit of a premium for quality. Maybe it will encourage others.

Room Tip: There is a bar and restaurant downstairs. We stayed in a front room on a Saturday night and were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliannaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review, our aim was to create the unexpected and to provide our guests with the service we would like to experience when we travel so am glad we met your expectations and more. Hope to see you back at the Junction Hotel soon...there are more rooms to explore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Lucas and Emily went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rooms are newly remodeled and different but in a very cool way. Not your regular 8x10 hotel room. Close to the Bar's Beach and shopping area. We walked everywhere. Bar and restaurant downstairs and the food was excellent. Wish it wasn't so far from Colorado as we would love to visit them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Coming all the way from the USA we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and Newcastle, so much. We love our little city and hope that you get to come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Couldn't recommend higher! Best Bed, Easy going staff who checked us in early, were given a complimentary bottle of wine with our dinner, brand new renovated rooms, very quiet and clean modern bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
You summed it up nicely, we are glad you enjoyed your stay...and would have to agree that the beds are AMAZING!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Junction Hotel in room 9 last weekend. The standard of accommodation is excellent. Certainly the best room we have stayed in in Newcastle (and we have stayed in many Newcastle hotels as we visit family there). The bed was comfortable, the room quiet, the bathroom was a feature in the room and it was very well furnished and supplied.
The publican, Lucas, was friendly and extremely helpful. Thanks again Lucas!
The cleaning staff was also friendly and the room was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and we are determined to try all of them over the next year or so :)) R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilhelminaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
I must say that room 9 is one of my favourite! Your review is humbling, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us so much. Looking forward to seeing you back here again when you come to see family...by the time you get through all the rooms you will probably be part of our family too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed in room 2 a week ago on a business trip up in Newy, I normally stay the the Crown on Darby (which is more cost effective and larger and right in the heart of the business of life) but as that place was fully booked I found this place via tripadvisor with No1 ranking and I thought.... man I need to check this place out even it was blowing my budget. I must say the room was very nice and pretty new and also stylish decorated. I loved the ensuite with the glass walls and the cool shower with build in LED's and the whole room on C-BUS...very impressive. Well done guys. I did not check out the food as I had a dinner meeting in Honeysuckle.
Overall it was a great experience except the alarm opposite at 2 am was annoying.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for checking us out, we have only recently renovated but are thrilled to be recommended by so many. We do hope that you visit us again, every room is different so be sure to give them a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Pontevedra, Spain
Level Contributor
222 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The food and the staff are very good but the room was cramped and without any drawer space and very little hanging space no rack for suitcase so everything on the floor ,no chair to sit on only a plastic one so one of us had to stand or sit on the bed (which are comfortable) , and the all glass toilet is not for everyone if you like a little privacy .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank love2travelGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for making us part of your trip while in Newcastle, we thank you for the feedback on aspect of the room. I would certainly recommend room 1 the next time you are in town, it is a biggest (and personally my favourite). Always happy to read that our service and food are a great experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
991 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,369 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Property: Junction Hotel
Address: 204 Corlette St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Junction Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER NSW AHA Awards for Excellence - Best Accommodation. The Junction Hotel is located in a vibrant cosmopolitan area only 10 mins from the heart of Newcastle, NSW. Situated on the coast of NSW, we are only a 2 hour drive north from Sydney or 20 mins from Williamtown airport. This modern hotel has recently undergone a transformation on its second floor, being lovingly and painstakingly designed into 9 striking rooms, each with their own distinct personality.The Junction Hotel exquisite rooms are contemporary in design while quirky in personality, each presenting a unique experience when you stay. All rooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high speed internet, walk-in showers, and most importantly an intimate setting that will refresh your senses and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing