We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service gets this hotel 4 stars”
Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Junction Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service gets this hotel 4 stars”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We called ahead to let this hotel know that we wouldn't be arriving until late due to a flight delay and were advised that someone would be here until about midnight to check us in, however on arrival at approx 10.30pm the manager was locking up, 2 minutes later and we would have been without accommodation for the night! The hotel website advises that there is 24 hour reception, which there is not.

The manager opened back up, started to check us in but found that the room we had booked (and paid for) had someone else in it and that our paperwork had been lost! We can't speak more highly of how the manager dealt with this situation, sorting us out with another room and making sure that we were happy.

We stayed in room 9 which is a lovely room with a comfortable bed. The only down point was the birds who seem to be confused as to what time it was... Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper!



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimnJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your gracious review, even though their were a few hiccups. We have gone back over procedures with all our staff just to ensure that everyone is aware and knows what's what.

We truly believe in providing our guest with the best experience so i am glad that yours was once settled into your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    91
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
193
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Totally impressed with Junction Hotel. Room is gorgeous, loved the clear glass shower looking into the room, bed was incredibly comfortable. The moment we checked in the staff were amazing! From the manager Lucas to bar staff to wait staff, totally five star experience. On par with the likes of the Hilton etc..in regards to the way these guys do customer service. Restaurant food was also excellent. Will be back for sure. We stayed in room nine and there was some bar noise but it was Anzac Day so we expected that, it was all quiet by midnight. The complimentary bottle of wine may have helped ;)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
It always brings a smile to my face when i read how much people enjoyed their stay with us. We truly believe in the experience that each of our guests have and all of our staff strive to ensure its the best.

When you love what you do it shines through in your work...and everyone loves it here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A nice find in Newcastle, located in a trendy area with ample restaurant choices. Very funky rooms, beautiful decor and great, friendly staff. Illuminated rain shower head was something I have not seen before. Rooms are a little small. But what they lack in size, they make up for in quality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpartanSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for the review! We have certainly tried to make the most of what we have on our second level and are more than pleased with the renovation, and yes quality is what we like to have here at the Junction Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here with my parents during a weekend visit to Newcastle. Can't say enough about the helpfulness of the staff in the hotel and the variety of great food options in the vicinity. If I can offer two tips though:
1. The rooms above the bar areas of the hotel (1-3) are really noisy on Fri/Sat nights, but the rooms at the back of the hotel are super quiet.
2. Probably something I should have picked up from the map, but this hotel is a good 30 minutes walk from the central train station if you don't have a car. On the plus side, gorgeous Bar Beach is only a 10 minute walk away!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Our staff really are some of the best in the business, and like us they love what they do! It must have been a particularly busy night the time you stayed as these rooms don't generally tend to be too noisy but you are right as the rooms at the back of the hotel a more secluded.
And we second your motion...Bar Beach is gorgeous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Junction Hotel in Newcastle. This is a very nice, trendy and modernly decorated hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are very nice, everything is very clean. We liked it a lot.

However there is no official hotel car park and there is no reception. You have to deal with the young ladies at the bar of the Junction Hotel Restaurant wich is on the street level of the hotel. They are very friendly, but cannot help you with questions regarding Newcastle (address of the tourist information) or booking information for a Hunter Valley tour. There is no breakfast served either, but there are cafes all around.

I recommend this hotel to somebody who already knows Newcastle and the region.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We always love to hear about people experiences when they stay with us, it is a great way to know how we can assist others in the future. Parking is available to all guest in our secure parking area for an additional fee. We will be sure to let all of our staff know of where to direct our guest when they are looking for tourism opportunities. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in OZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great price for the number one hotel in Newcastle. I was in Newcastle for a gig at the City Hall and actually walked to the gig, about 2kms. The Junction area was new to me but there are good cafes and restaurants so I'll probably stay there again. The Junction pub is funky and stylish, not grand but good fun. My only problem was the open plan toilet/ shower set up. A glass box in the corner of the room. I have no problem with the shower, it was good, but for me going to the toilet was never a spectator sport so I wouldn't stay there with my wife the toilet is just too open plan for my taste.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozpromoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
The Junction precinct is a great little area that is not too well known to visitors of Newcastle so we are glad to be able to share this with the people who are now staying in our new accommodation. I am guessing that you stayed in room 8 or 9...we have other rooms that are a little less open so be sure to ask the next time you book with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on Sunday and Monday after a long drive from brisbane the staff were very friendly room was fantastic and the food downstairs at the bar was the best pub fair I've had in quite a while would recommend it to anyone staying in newcastle

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us...especially after such a long drive! We had just changed our menu over when you were here so I have glad that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
991 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,369 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Property: Junction Hotel
Address: 204 Corlette St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Junction Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER NSW AHA Awards for Excellence - Best Accommodation. The Junction Hotel is located in a vibrant cosmopolitan area only 10 mins from the heart of Newcastle, NSW. Situated on the coast of NSW, we are only a 2 hour drive north from Sydney or 20 mins from Williamtown airport. This modern hotel has recently undergone a transformation on its second floor, being lovingly and painstakingly designed into 9 striking rooms, each with their own distinct personality.The Junction Hotel exquisite rooms are contemporary in design while quirky in personality, each presenting a unique experience when you stay. All rooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high speed internet, walk-in showers, and most importantly an intimate setting that will refresh your senses and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing