We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and fun”
Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Junction Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We liked the decor and the overall ambience of the hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. Enjoyed the restaurant. The Junction provides a good base to explore Newcastle. We walked into the city, swam at Bar Beach and there are plenty of nearby cafes.

I do wonder if the 'see-through' bathroom door feature is also there in twin rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

So you would have been in rooms 8 or 9...these are our only two rooms that feature the glass shower area!

We totally agree that The Junction is a great base when staying in Newcastle with most of its offerings 5 mins in any one directions. If you come back to play in our city a little more make sure you try a different room...no one is the same!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Overnight at the Junction Hotel was an absolute winner. The boutique accommodation was fabulous. Compact, well designed with quality fittings throughout. The bed was so comfortable, the bathroom clean, well laid out with a fabulous shower . Wander downstairs for a great meal, up the road to Bar Beach, down the road to the eclectic collection of shops and resturants in Cooks Hill.
Fabulous value for money at a top location.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I just loved reading your review, it mentioned everything we absolutely love about our Hotel and also our city! We hope that you come again soon, maybe a 2 night stay...there is so much more to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Normally not one to stay in pub accommodation, this was a nice surprise. Room was large, bed was comfy and bathroom was modern and clean. The hotel is nice and modern, and this is reflected in the rooms. After hours access is good. Only downside is cleaning staff were knocking on our door right on 10am. I know they have a job to do but give us a couple of minutes grace!! Overall, a great place to stay for a short visit to Newcastle.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sydneysider1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

So happy that you decided to give us a try..The Junction Hotel has the heart of your traditional pub but has been given a first class make over that we know our guests love.

The accommodation does only have 9 boutique rooms, so we do have a very high turnover rate for bookings, apologies that you feel like you were being rushed. Will be sure to discuss this with our cleaners.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently after a night out. Staff will go out of their way to help you out. Our bags were carried to our room for us and Lukas drove us to our concert. The attention to detail in the rooms is way beyond what you would expect for the price! Won't stay anywhere else from now.. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TIKS1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Newcastle. Lukas definitely goes above and beyond when looking after our guest, it truly is his passion!

We look forward to seeing you again soon and that you will become part of our 'regulars'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The room was fantastic, in a great spot for where I wanted to be. The only negative I would have to say is the corners of the shower had pink and black mould growing on them. Would probably be good if they cleaned them properly. Other then that I had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 9 and it was lovely and quiet. There was a bit of traffic noise but that never bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy3191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Lizzy, thanks for choosing us for your sleepover...and couldn't agree more, we love The Junction as a destination!

We welcome all feedback and have gone over our rooms with a white gloves as soon as we saw your review. ALL rooms are cleaned meticulously daily, even if they haven't been slept in.

On a brighter note, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A colleague and I recently stayed here for one night on business. I attempted to book online but there was only 1 room available, so I rang the hotel direct to enquire if 2 might be available.
The booking for 2 rooms was quickly secured, along with secure undercover car parking opposite the hotel for $20. We could not find reception upon arrival and discovered that check-in is at the bar. We were promptly shown to our rooms and very pleasantly surprised at the modern trendy décor. it is one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in during the regional travels. All the staff provided exceptional service especially Manager Lukas Thodas who ensured every need was satisfied. We dined in-house at the restaurant downstairs and food quality was very good. The bar was packed for a Wed night showing the popularity of the place.
Highly recommend this hotel and will be back next time in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Limited number of rooms so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We love to see people who travel for business enjoying there stay with us... you have a lot to compare us to, so it is nice to hear we stack up or ever surpass other places you have stayed.

Our staff truly are some of the best in the business, and with Lukas leading the charge we know that our guests are being cared for just the way we would expect.

We hope you travel to our little part of the world again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Found this place via Trip Advisor. We were in Newcastle for a sports event for 5 days. It's close to all amenities and shops/restaurants. The Junction Hotel only has about 9 rooms, which have all recently been done up. The whole place was an old pub, but they have certainly spent some cash doing it up. The bars and restaurant look fantastic - but the rooms - WOW..! Small but sufficient for what we needed. The bathrooms are spectacular and all modern. HD TV on the wall with Fox, very comfy beds, a small bar fridge, kettle and toaster. Rooms are well insulated from sound - couldn't hear anything outside our room. No lift access - first floor flight of stairs only.
The rooms have very little storage space or hanging space. The bar fridge is small and there are no cupboards. I would suggest a short stay here, maybe 1 or 2 nights. We stayed for 4 nights but managed ok as we were out most of every day. Nice friendly staff. Nice cold beer on tap..

The rooms are new, modern and comfortable. The restaurant downstairs

Room Tip: I think Room 5 has the biggest bathroom. Careful if you book online, you might end up with a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copthat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

The Junction Hotel has been lovingly transformed over the past few years into a truly amazing hotel, but we do still pride ourselves on our old fashion pub values when it comes to the heart of our business from the friendly staff to the nice cold beer!

WOW is the response we love to hear from our guests, so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer various configurations in most of the rooms so we do recommend giving our friendly staff a call if you are after something in particular...plus its always nice to speak to those who will soon be joining us for the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
867 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#10 of 24 in Newcastle
705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,559 reviews
1 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Address: 204 Corlette St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £83 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Junction Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER NSW AHA Awards for Excellence - Best Accommodation. The Junction Hotel is located in a vibrant cosmopolitan area only 10 mins from the heart of Newcastle, NSW. Situated on the coast of NSW, we are only a 2 hour drive north from Sydney or 20 mins from Williamtown airport. This modern hotel has recently undergone a transformation on its second floor, being lovingly and painstakingly designed into 9 striking rooms, each with their own distinct personality.The Junction Hotel exquisite rooms are contemporary in design while quirky in personality, each presenting a unique experience when you stay. All rooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high speed internet, walk-in showers, and most importantly an intimate setting that will refresh your senses and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing