We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Great area”
Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junction Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice and enjoyed our stay both times. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, rooms are very funky and the Junction neighbourhood has many nice restaurants. Would recommend this hotel, and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wanderlust8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We love our staff and The Junction itself so couldn't agree with you more. Love to hear about return guests...promise that when you come back again you will try yet another room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Loved staying in this funky hotel, Staff were fun & friendly. Lucas was so helpful, we were given a free bottle of wine when we ate in the restaurant downstairs. Food was so good. Would highly recommend everything about staying here it is excellent. It is a small hotel with not a lot of rooms.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be great as they are all individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

You stay with us to get away and enjoy yourself, and it sounds like you did just that! Appreciate your review, and are happy you had a fantastic night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at the Junction for one night recently, can highly recommend this hotel for accommodation and food. Rooms were fantastic and unique, great to stay somewhere which doesn't look like every other bland hotel out there! We had dinner downstairs which was lovely, and all the staff from check in to check out were so friendly and pleasant, so nice to get fantastic customer service which seems to lack in so many places these days.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are definitely proud of the rooms we have created for our guests...and bland was not in the brief! But, we have to agree with your point on customer service. This above all is by far the most important part to us - our local are treated like family, but we want out accommodation guests to feel like family too even if it is only just for 1 night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

So often these 'funky' hotels disappoint. Either the decor is tacky or the staff look at you as though you've crawled out from under a stone if you aren't one of the 'beautiful people'. But not so at the Junction Hotel. Staff were welcoming and helpful and the licensee Lucas went out of his way to look after us. Descriptions of the rooms in previous reviews and photos on the website do not disappoint. Despite being above a bustling bar and restaurant, our room (room 8) was silent. We enjoyed an excellent meal with a very interesting menu. As some of the menu items were new we were asked to give our comments, which was a nice touch. Breakfast isn't served but there's a wide choice of eating places within a few steps of the hotel. It's refreshing to find accommodation which is different without being overpriced. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Appreciate you lovely feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We believe that if you love what you do it shows. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I chose this venue on previous tripadvisor comments and it did not disappoint! Rooms were very modern and comfortable and the restaurant downstairs is also very modern and with great food and service!

Room Tip: All of the rooms I'm sure are of the same quality, we stayed in room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mermaidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We think Trip Advisor is a fabulous tool for those travelling....so glad that the hotel lived up to your expectations. We know that we love our hotel and are proudf of what we offer here by way of service too.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked in for 3 nights. This was going to be a short holiday to celebrate my wife's 80th birthday. The rooms are on the floor above a busy pub, and it was a bit diffcult to find the entrance to ths accommodation. We were checked in at the hotel bar and escorted to our room #7.
Then came the first shock. The room was tiny. A Kingbed occupied most of the room, leaving a couple of feet between it and the walls. Nowhere to park the suitcases, no wardrobe, no drawers, a 12 inch railing in the corner of the room with 3 clothes hangers.
The bathroom was fine, except that it had a see-through glass door. The decor was nice and modern, but overall the place was unlivable - not for a stay of 3 days.
I think it would be fine for someone attending a function in the hotel below and not wanting to drive home, or someone with minimum luggage, or a one night stand, but not for regular travelers.
I told Lucas, the manager, of our disappointment and he was gracious enough to not only return our money, but even arranging some accommodation elsewhere. By the way the price of the room was very reasonable, and I am sure the service would have been great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Lukas did mention your visit to our Hotel and was truly disappointed that you and your wife deemed the accommodation unsuitable to your needs.

We are, as mentioned in most of our reviews, boutique accommodation at a vibrant cosmopolitan hotel that offers first class service.

The rooms provide all of the creature comforts, and the beds are like sleeping on a cloud. If you ever return to Newcastle give us a call, room 1 will satisfy all of your needs and more.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We liked the decor and the overall ambience of the hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. Enjoyed the restaurant. The Junction provides a good base to explore Newcastle. We walked into the city, swam at Bar Beach and there are plenty of nearby cafes.

I do wonder if the 'see-through' bathroom door feature is also there in twin rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at Junction Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

So you would have been in rooms 8 or 9...these are our only two rooms that feature the glass shower area!

We totally agree that The Junction is a great base when staying in Newcastle with most of its offerings 5 mins in any one directions. If you come back to play in our city a little more make sure you try a different room...no one is the same!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,038 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
857 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 24 in Newcastle
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 24 in Newcastle
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Address: 204 Corlette St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2291, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £84 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Junction Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER NSW AHA Awards for Excellence - Best Accommodation. The Junction Hotel is located in a vibrant cosmopolitan area only 10 mins from the heart of Newcastle, NSW. Situated on the coast of NSW, we are only a 2 hour drive north from Sydney or 20 mins from Williamtown airport. This modern hotel has recently undergone a transformation on its second floor, being lovingly and painstakingly designed into 9 striking rooms, each with their own distinct personality.The Junction Hotel exquisite rooms are contemporary in design while quirky in personality, each presenting a unique experience when you stay. All rooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high speed internet, walk-in showers, and most importantly an intimate setting that will refresh your senses and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing