We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night in newcastle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Alexandria
1 review
“A night in newcastle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Good experience- room was ready ahead of advertised check-in time and my online booking included late check-out and a 2for 1 breakfast deal.
Couldn't quite work out the climate control, esp overnight when I awoke feeling like I'd set the non-existent electric blanket at Hot++. Didn't ask for assistance as I was only there for one night. I'd recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Patricia A M,

Thank you for your review! Ít's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a friendly, 24-hour reception team who would have been happy to assist you with the air conditioning, regardless of the time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle in the future.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    447
    377
    132
    82
See reviews for
230
384
98
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westernaustralia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have never stayed at a travel Lodge before and I was a bit hesitant about my stay! need not have worried ! The staff were wonderful, the room over looking the sailing club was so good even had a microwave and dishes. ! The hotel is a 8 minute walk to the centre of Newcastle or two train stops and is opposite a great supermarket

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sueWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear sueWesternAustralia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I can see that you are a frequent traveller, so it's wonderful to hear that your stay at Travelodge Newcastle exceeded your expectations! I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to our friendly team, and I hope that you will now consider staying with other Travelodge hotels in the future.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

A very good hotel next to alot of things very clean worth the money,modern staff very friendly.If i had to stay at Newcastle again i would stay there as i know what they have to offer and how i was treated there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Peter N,

Thanks for providing your feedback following your recent stay. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay in our clean, comfortable rooms & our friendly team made you feel at home! We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge next time you're in Newcastle.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

It was everything that was quoted, we booked 7 rooms to attend a family wedding, Nicole helped with the bookings, value for money and friendly staff. Close to everything Newcastle has to offer. Thanks for a great weekend Travelodge, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Bruce T,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay! I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to Nicole & our friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our stay was great. Very convenient to everything. The staff and room were really nice and the meal at the restaurant was lovey. Close to Darby Street but was pouring with rain so chanced at the "Café" and it was a really nice meal. All good and no complaints. We had picked the room up on a deal so fabulous value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Diane B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay & particularly your meal in Sienna Cafe. We run great specials all throughout the year, so you can sign up to our mailing list to be first to know about our sales! We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms, great, roomservice not so much! I ordered in the restaurant at 8.30 changed the venue to my room and was expected to wait until 9.20 to be served a main, seriously over 40 minutes for a 25 minute meal with excuses like we had a function and that's an excepable wait time, dreaming. F no way I ain't paying for a meal I cancelled after being told it's another 15 to 20 away!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatsigot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Pelican Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in the BW on Sunday night prior to a 6AM flight. The room was clean and quiet, accommodation is positioned close to many options to dine out or buy takeaway and eat in and an easy walk to the harbour

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gregoryl984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan S, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Gregory L,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. I'm glad that you had a comfortable & enjoyable stay with us despite the early flight! I hope that we can welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle again soon.

Kind regards,

Linsey Skelton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Property: Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing