We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted with staff attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jesmond Executive Villas
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusted with staff attitude”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Mr tony Hughes cancelled our booking due to a credit card misunderstanding. . Gave no time to sort out the correct number and gave booking away. Left my husband and children with no accommodation without notice. Within fifteen min when the card number was sorted had given it away. No apology no offer of help of any sort. Told it was our fault . Would never deal with them again

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kaiviti046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
What you failed to mention was that your husband arrived to check in and told the staff he had no money. The credit card used to make the booking had no funds. He was advised that if he couldn't pay for the room prior to check in then we would have to cancel his booking. He said ok and left the office. As we were extremely busy we were able to resell the room almost immediately. If he had simply told us that he was going to get money or call you then the misunderstanding could have been avoided. Trip Advisor is a forum in which to rate accommodation at which you have stayed. As you never stayed here I don't think your comments are appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    64
    52
    42
    75
See reviews for
104
77
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Okay, so if you're looking for a clean, value place to stay without bells and whistles that's not too far from the city centre (about 10km) then this will probably do the job. We have stayed here twice, both times for several nights and really, apart from us still trying to find the actual 'executive' in Executive Suites, it's not too bad. We recently paid more to stay in the newest section; a two storey, one bedroom apartment located up the back and away from the very busy main road (room 26). Based on the website photos and details, the apartment was just as we pictured it. The upstairs bedroom and bathroom are quite modern and clean, there's a king-size bed, the kitchen/lounge/dining area downstairs is pleasant and adequately equipped, and conveniently, there's also another toilet downstairs. There's a large shopping mall across the road, a few restaurants (with an excellent little Thai) and plenty of take-away places. Just down the road there's a lovely park for a stroll or picnic. We had to go to the office and ask for a few things that were in short supply, that is, soap and hand towels, but overall found the staff friendly and helpful. Just keep in mind this is not a palace and it's far removed from opulence, pretty scenery and quiet surroundings. However, it does the job for a short Newcastle stay. One more thing though, we couldn't find any written information about the room or motel in general inside the apartment anywhere, but after a while I discovered all the required info had been emailed to me. Thank goodness I paid extra for the Wi-Fi!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and came back to stay with us again.
We do not claim to be opulant. We are a family and pet friendly, self contained apartments about 10 minutes from the city and we price ourselves accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights back in January as part of our tour up the east coast. When we eventually found them, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found. On a small complex just off a roundabout, the site includes a small pool area and then apartments. Ours had its own car parking space and outside seating area. Then inside a nice kitchen lounge area, a bedroom and a jacuzzi bathroom. Air con was much appreciated and wifi worked really well for once (compared with other places we stayed). We had 4 adults staying here, on reflection perhaps a little cramped but we knew that two of the adults would be on a pop up bed when we booked. Meant not too much privacy but luckily we're close!

We used Jesmond as a base to visit Newcastle and also do a Hunter Wine Valley tour. The staff weren't too clued up on wine tours but we managed to book on online last minute. We went into town in the evening via taxi (about 10 mins) and had a few drinks. No issues with coming back late or being dropped off by taxi.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay, the value of this place was much better than hotels in the centre of Newcastle so we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jossters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive response, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are located about 10 minutes from the city centre but are in a great location to access the Hunter Valley only about 40 minutes drive. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here recently for 3 days for a getaway with my two friends.We arrived a 7.55pm and the office was already closed (close at 8pm) So we couldn't find our apartment in the complex, after walking around forever a person "living"at the villas showed us where our room was......It was 2 doors down the street in what looked like a converted garage! They have bought 2 x houses next door and simply converted the Inside as Apts, there is no signage, nothing there was even a beware of dog sign on the fence I was scared I was entering a private residence.
Inside the apts was ok however there is no phone to call reception so you need to either walk down the street or use your mobile to speak to them, and I wouldn't bother as every time we had to talk to the them they were so unfriendly and rude! When we entered the office you would get a stare like you were Intruding.
There was also no smoke detectors inside our "garage" which is worrying and not even 1 x piece of literature from the company or a compendium with any hotel Information.
I would never stay here again, It was poorly designed, rude front desk staff and definitely not executive Villas.

Room Tip: Beds are really really soft - I couldnt sleep on them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BethI153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We have spoken directly to the guests about this review as we believe that many of the accusations are incorrect. However I will briefly address these concerns so that our other guests reading these reviews do not think we are avoiding responding.
I closed the office myself at 9pm on the evening in question, after speaking to your group several times on the phone. A text message was sent to your phone advising directions to the apartment - our brand new homestyle 2 bedroom apartments located immediately next door to the villas. You would have had to have recieved this message as it contained the access code for entry.
The staff we not being rude, we were simply confused as you called us and asked for a sofabed to be made up when you only had 4 guests staying in the apartment and 1 King and 2 Single beds had already been supplied. When you came to the office to insist, we did supply extra bedding for no extra cost.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay, however we feel it is unfair to post information that simply isn't true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I found the hotel staff to be friendly, courteous and incredibly welcoming on arrival. The rooms themselves were lovely & more than adequate for the price ($100 flash sale on wotif). Spa room was awesome & big enough for 2 people with room to spare, loved the private front porch area and did not find the room (room 29, right on the main road) to be noisy at all, inside the room there is even a glass sliding partition to further block out the noise if need be (I didn't use it though or feel I even needed to). I expected the entry to the hotel to be right off the roundabout and to be a mega challenging issue by all the reviews but it wasn't and there is plenty of room to slow down and get into the entrance. Exiting was fine, yes, on a main road but plenty of opportunities to get onto the road. Shopping centre, pub/bistro & fast food within easy (2-3min) walking distance.

The only thing I found I didn't like was that the sheets had yellow stains on them, which I thought might have just been the downlights casting shadows but when I stripped the beds in the morning (as I always do to help out housekeeping) I found yellow stains on the mattress protector also, this is simply a issue for housekeeping to look at in future and to not ignore.

All in all, excellent value. I would stay again but would hope the sheets/ protectors were a bit better attended to. Thank you to the owners for the stay, we really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are very sorry about the sheets and it has been passed onto our housekeeping department.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

After reading some negative reviews before arrival I wasn't expecting too much.
But was pleasantly surprised, we stayed in a 1 bedroom and found it was good value.
We have two well behaved toy poodles and were really stoked they were allowed to travel with us.
We enjoyed relaxing in the big spa at the end of the day.
There were two TVs so my partner and I were able to enjoy different programs.
With so many pubs and restaurants to sample, we will definitely be back.
Two things to bring up- Hairs. Found in the spa so I had to give it a good scrub and a few hairs around the place.
The TV in the room pixelated and was a little annoying.



Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angieyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We have a new housekeeping manager that is inspecting all the rooms now so hopefully we will eliminate the cleanliness issues in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had to bring our one night stay forward at quite short notice as well as their computer systems being down and it was still a breeze to get a room. We stayed in the 2 bedroom deluxe. Reception staff were very welcoming. As I mentioned, we were only staying for the night and were in and out due to being at John Hunter Hospital but the room was fantastic! Very clean and tidy and everything in the room was modern. Whilst we didn't need it, the Kitchen had everything you need and again had all modern features. Both the main bedroom and the smaller room with 2 singles were again very clean and beds very comfy which is what we needed after a very long day. The lounge room section was great also, comfy lounges and large TV as well as having the nice heated air-con on to keep us warm. On top of that, the Spa in the bathroom was another cool feature and added to the experience. Speaking of the bathroom, again..very clean and modern..even just down to have little toothbrush holders..very cool. It is a bit of a death defying moment on exit as the cars from the round-a-bout come flying past but we survived ;). And even though the rooms are so close to the highway, we didn't hear a noise..and speaking of location, very close to everything. about 10 minutes to the Hospital. All in all, LOVED it and will be coming back here when we come down in 2 weeks time. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception-AllisonH, Guest Relations Manager at Jesmond Executive Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We love that you had such a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
5.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,406 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
355 reviews
4.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
6.0 mi away
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Newcastle Beach Hotel
#17 of 22 in Newcastle
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Executive Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Executive Villas

Property: Jesmond Executive Villas
Address: 185-193 Newcastle Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2299, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Executive Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Villas Jesmond provide a range of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and also spa apartments. Each apartment has a large television with eight Foxtel channels and wireless internet is available on-site. The Villas are pet friendly and are situated next to a large park. Stockland Jesmond Shopping Centre is just across the road and public transport is easily accessible. Newcastle hospitals, Energy Australia Stadium and The Entertainment Centre are all just a short drive from the Villas. Disabled rooms are available on request. There is exciting development happening at our Jesmond site over the next few months. The Villas will be opening brand new apartments to meet the high demand for accommodation in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Executive Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Executive Villas Hotel Newcastle
Jesmond Executive Hotel
Jesmond Executive Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing