We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms attached to a great club - lots to do”
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Modern rooms attached to a great club - lots to do”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The twin rooms are the go here. As I was on business the spa room isn't worth the extra money and the garden rooms are a bit expensive for what you get. Dining options at the club are great & its hard to beat the blackened ribeye in the restaurant. Bed is comfortable and shower is fantastic in twin or spa room only. Garden room has it in a bath. It's attached to a club that has a great sports bar & the usual pokies etc. Also has a great pool.

Room Tip: Twin Rooms are the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    165
    44
    15
    14
See reviews for
91
106
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Executive Inn is located about 10-15 minutes drive from the docks (Cafes and dining) and Newcastle beaches. Newcastle is sprawling so this did not worry us. The rooms are new and very clean. We would stay here just for the shower head!! The hotel is attached to the Wests club with an excellent array of restaurants and bars (once again very new and no 'riff raff' seen!). Friendly staff topped our experience off. With free undercover parking as well, we would not hesitate to stay her again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level facing the street but we did not get any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dankir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Christmas and was more than happy. Big, clean room with two separate queen beds which were comfortable. Very modern and large bathroom, some are currently being renovated, but obviously ours already had been. Double shower recess with two shower heads and plenty of hot water. Lots of space on the vanity for your toiletries bag etc. There are quite a few rooms but noise was not an issue at all. Adjoins Wests Club, which can be accessed from the foyer. Bistro was open on Christmas Night, which was handy. All restaurants appeared to be open on Boxing Day too. Hotel has two lovely pools. We opted for the buffet breakfast in the dining room and although basic, is reasonably priced. Great place for families to stay. The suburb of New Lambton, where the hotel is located, has a village feel to it and is within walking distance.

Room Tip: One overlooking the pool area would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We recently styled here overnight between Christmas and New Year and were more then impressed. We had stayed some 15 years ago and the place is still in immaculate condition. We got a twin room to accommodate our family of 4 and the room was much more spacious than other hotels we have stayed at, the in room facilities were great, with enough towels, toiletries, pillows, cups and glasses etc. The pool area was amazing, plenty of places to sit, poolside service and 2 heated pools to choose from plus a bubbling spa. Being attached to Wests Leagues Club, if you wished to dine out the club could be entered via hotel reception which is handy...I'm not much of a club person so can't comment to much on what that was like, but no noise what so ever could be heard. We will definitely stay here again, and believe it is great value for money accommodation.

Room Tip: Pool View Rooms...Bliss..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronnyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Executive Inn for a night and the room was clean, spacious, had all the amenities one would expect and the pool and spa looked great. We had a great night sleep on a very comfortable bed. We were very happy with our room given how inexpensive it was to stay. Much to our dismay this morning we were woken well before check out to the sounds of hammering by builders in the adjacent room which was being renovated. This was especially frustrating as our baby was asleep at the time. Although there was a note in our room stating renovations were being undertaken (they had commenced in June) we were unaware of such renovations when we booked our room. I would have rated this hotel higher had it not been for this unpleasant experience.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mishellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Executive Inn after attending a Melbourne Cup function.
If you need to stay in Newcastle you could do a lot worse
Check In - polite and efficient, not particularly warm
Room
Bed - good with quality linen
Spa - as pictured
Shower - good with OK toiletries
TV - didn't test
Minibar - pretty good value for a minibar

Pluses
Very clean
Adjacent to Wests with multiple bars, restaurants and clubby delights
Wests members get a discount

Minuses
Reception was OK but a bit bureaucratic
Air Conditioning seemed to be set at either 'off' or 'cyclone'
Long corridors reminiscent of older style English hotels - one wonders whether one will ever reach one's room.
Breakfast on the verandah was reasonably priced but a bit passe and curling at the edges by 9.30 am

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJLBewdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed at the executive inn Newcastle for a couple of nights on our way south. On arrival reception were helpful, went to room and it was tiny but had everything you would need if traveling alone or on business. We had two kids with us so probably should've booked a family room, as I think they are available. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. The hotel is attached to wests leagues club which is handy if you were on business or wanted to see a show there. Plenty of restaurants onsite most of which are average fare, we tried hobarts and the Mexican. Hobarts is a worthwhile experience whilst the Mexican is pretty standard. Overall an ok stay, the hotel is along way from Newcastle and the beaches (situated in new lambton) which I didn't realize when I booked (didn't look either) room was very small and don't expect a view. Noise is also a bit of an issue, wasn't too bad when we stayed but Saturday night you can hear people returning from the club to their rooms. Would recommend as a business stay or if you are seeing a show as couple but not as a romantic weekend or family holiday.

Room Tip: Book a large room if you have more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderers9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
990 reviews
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Property: The Executive Inn
Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing