We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please read”
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

It is a shame, overall a nice hotel but I agree they need to improve their pest control. The inn has feedback cards to provide positive and negative feedback. Please note if you give negative feedback, you are not supported by the inn. The staff are vague and very unhelpful. They do not care about their customers. Just some food for thought if you plan to stay their....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilliy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

My family - husband and two sons 9 and 11 drove to Queensland over Christmas and stayed one night on our way over and 7 days later another night on the way back home. The complex was huge with about five restaurants, a food court and a gaming area and underground parking. Our room was great with two twin beds and a modern bathroom with huge double shower and lots of room. We were lucky enough to make dinner in the Italian restaurant without a reservation and the food was terrific and the staff very friendly, we really enjoyed the evening. After dinner, as we walked down the corridor to our room, we could hear lots of shouting and noise, sounded like a party!!! Walking closer to our room, we realised it was the people next door - this was about 10pm, we'd had a big day and needed our sleep!! I called the front desk and they called the noisy room to keep it down but the noise continued and they called us to check how it was a little later and I let them know it was still going on. They then sent a security guard who made some of the guests leave but we were still worried that they might start up again during the night so requested to be moved. They did this and moved us to another floor. The next time we stayed the boys had a little time to swim in the pool, and they just loved it! We were once again lucky enough to have dinner in the Chinese restaurant (the restaurants are very popular!) and had the best Chinese dinner ever!!! Staff were lovely and the food was delicious. Once back in the room we settled for a good night sleep, I got up to use the bathroom and not to wake the family did not turn the lights on, I heard a little scraping noise and turned the light on to see a great big cockroach running across the floor and into the shower! I ran back to bed and tried to sleep but had to wake my husband to deal with it because as long as it was in the room I couldn't sleep! Deal with it he did and it took a while for me to sleep after that. I told the front desk about it in the morning and the young lady said "yuck, sorry" but there was no follow up. The restaurants were the best part of the hotel, I think we will try another hotel if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhat2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Executive Inn last Sunday night. Never again!!! After checking in with the rude staff behind the service desk, we tried to have room service delivered - but due problems with staffing - it was not an option (pregnant wife folks). Ok we slept, ate some of their greazy American style breakfast and left. But here's the thing - I accidently left my keys in the room. As we only live 10mins away I immediately phoned their "friendly" staff asking them to check the room. They said they did this - and nothing was found. I called again the next morning, that night and the next two days - desparately trying to find my keys, all the time hearing "the room has been checked for you and nothing was found" ringing in my ears. I knew the keys had to be there, I spent hours looking through everything at home without any luck. Finally I decided to call the Police. But I thought I would ring one last time before doing so. After pleading with reception another "check" was carried out ( only after threatening Police involvement - and guess what! THEY WERE THERE! BEEN THERE ALL WEEK! I couldn't believe it - they just didn't look! So guys make sure you don't get lied to if this happens to you, Never give up and remember they don't care!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Have stayed here around 10 times on business trips. Attached to a leagues club with plenty of gambling, shows, and restaurants. Hotel is fairly clean, showing some age. Staff always helpful. Location not so good for seeing Newcastle City. I'd prefer to stay in CBD at Crowne Plaza - beautifully located, but not convenient for my work. Food has improved in last 6 months, and the change of menu is welcomed, however food quality could be better. The new steak restaurant is worth eating at and the blackened ribeye steaks cooked for 18 hours or so are very tasty. They sometimes run out of these steaks, so it might pay to order in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Check in was smooth and friendly. Room was nice and it was clean and tidy. Beds were comfie and room was nice and quite. I have stayed here before and found the freezers do not work at all in the room. Thought I would give it another go and buy ice cream for the kids but again they don't work, it was liquid and was set on the coolest temp. Close to amenties such as Kotara Shopping Centre and pretty much in a central place with only a small drive away. I would stay again :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The twin rooms are the go here. As I was on business the spa room isn't worth the extra money and the garden rooms are a bit expensive for what you get. Dining options at the club are great & its hard to beat the blackened ribeye in the restaurant. Bed is comfortable and shower is fantastic in twin or spa room only. Garden room has it in a bath. It's attached to a club that has a great sports bar & the usual pokies etc. Also has a great pool.

Room Tip: Twin Rooms are the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Executive Inn is located about 10-15 minutes drive from the docks (Cafes and dining) and Newcastle beaches. Newcastle is sprawling so this did not worry us. The rooms are new and very clean. We would stay here just for the shower head!! The hotel is attached to the Wests club with an excellent array of restaurants and bars (once again very new and no 'riff raff' seen!). Friendly staff topped our experience off. With free undercover parking as well, we would not hesitate to stay her again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level facing the street but we did not get any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dankir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
857 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
392 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 24 in Newcastle
187 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 24 in Newcastle
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £90 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing