We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
nsw
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

we had arranged a bit of a family get together so had about 5 rooms booked . it was the ideal place for this as all the family could get together either around the lovely pool area or in the adjoining club in one of the many restaurants or lounge areas . our stay was very comfortable although some of the rooms apparently had a lot of traffic noise at night . the only complaint i have is there was no wifi & we were a bit disappointed at the queen size bed , i thought everywhere had king size these days . one other personal issue , i would like a rail to help get in & out of the pool & spa. overall though a very enjoyable place to stay , with great facilities .

Room Tip: rooms near the main road are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmothernsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    162
    43
    13
    14
See reviews for
88
102
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here a couple weeks back for a xmas party and we weren't expecting much from the Hotel, however we were quite impressed at the over all size of the room and the design. We stayed in a spa suite and paid a little more for the package inclusive of champagne, strawberries, chocolates & bath salts. Definitely a nice feel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Many guests are often surprised to find the additional facilities of The Executive Inn, Newcastle including the numerous restaurants in the adjoining Wests Club and complimentary access to Balance Health Clubs.

We hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards,
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I arrived very late and was greeted very warmly. Spacious room and clean. After 5 days in as many hotels, very pleased to say best breakfast was here. Home made beans in tomato passatta! For those arriving late or even early, food can be obtained from the adjoining Wests club.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D023604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hello,

We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed The Executive Inn facilities and breakfast on The Terrace. With over 12 dining options located in the adjoining Club many of our restaurants including Chophouse Grill, Emerald Gardens, Trattoria eighty eight and Cantina are open till late.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Room was adequate and clean. Service from front counter was very good. would recommend if you are visiting Newcastle. Kids loved the pool. Meals at the club were ok, not exceptional, but passable. Handy location. All in all, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiknzoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback. Our guests are lucky to have access to over 12 dining locations in the adjoining Wests Club including the Chocolate Bar, family friendly Cantina Mexican, the affordable FoodCourt and silver service Hobarts Restaurant.

We hope that you’ll stay with us in the near future and have the opportunity to explore the Club facilities further.

Kind regards,
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Despite starting to show its age a little (missing faucet tops etc), the rooms are well presented and very clean. The prices are also reasonable especially if you get one of the special deals. The convenience of the attached Wests club with its multiple restaurant choices and bars is also a bonus. Undercover parking is free also. I'll go back (again).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hello Phillip,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with your feedback. It’s great to hear that you had time to explore the Wests Club facilities; many guests are unaware that we have many fantastic restaurants, live entertainment and complimentary access to Balance Health Club. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I travel reasonably frequently to Newcastle and usually stay here or its sister establishment the Gateway Inn at Mayfield Both are part of the Wests Leagues Club, and have all the club's facilities attached. The rooms are a good size, with separate lounge area, comfortable beds and relatively quiet.
Having access to the Club's facilities is a bonus, with a full range of restaurants ranging from cheap to more expensive. For fitness enthusiasts, hotel guests have access to the club's gym - you get a pass at the desk. There is also an attractive pool and for those brave enough to take on the traffic, there are free bikes with helmets available
Free off street parking is an added bonus.
If you are staying a few days it is well worth joining the Leagues Club - membership is cheap and gives you discounts on food and drinks, as well as accommodation, at all the club's facilities, including Wests Nelson Bay Diggers..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morewindOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your fantastic feedback. With so many dining and entertainment options mere metres from your doorstep, it's great to hear that you had the time to explore the extensive facilities at Wests New Lambton.

If you're feeling energetic during your next stay don't forget that all hotel guests receive complimentary access to Newcastle's premier facility Balance Health Clubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
478 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I've been coming to the Executive Inn in Newcastle for five years now and it remains my preferred place to stay in Newcastle.

It is great value for money - rooms are big, beds are comfortable and staff are friendly and efficient. The leagues club attached to the hotel provides a range of cheap (as well as higher-end) eating options, a gym (get a free pass from the hotel front desk), as well as a good swimming pool.

Parking is off-street and free and the location is central to most places business people need to go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your kind feedback and recommendation.

It’s great to hear from our regular guests, in particular their feedback on facilities and staff.
As you mentioned our complimentary access to Balance Health Club, selection of over 9 dining options (including the Chocolate Bar) and heated lagoon style pool means that guests have a huge variety of entertainment options right at their doorstep.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Property: The Executive Inn
Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing