We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticked all the right boxes.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Executive Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ticked all the right boxes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I bOoked accommodation last minute to attend a conference in the a joining leagues club. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was easy to find and staff pleasant. As previous reviewers noted tv units do need updating but my visit was short so not really an issue. I would go back and recommend. Lastly the food atthe club was probably the best function food I have ever had. Thanks for a short but sweet visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ney2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    160
    43
    13
    14
See reviews for
88
99
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Regular travellers ( my husband) appreciate the clean, quiet, accommodation as a home away from home and the ability to enter Wests to make use of a variety of food/ entertainment options. The reception staff learn the names of frequent visitors who have a 24 hour check in availability which is nice. On the occasions I travel with my husband, I enjoy my time there- especially a leisurely breakfast on the Terrace.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Salma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed in May for 2 nights as we were visiting relatives in lambton. The hotel is just average, looks quite modern on the outside but the rooms are quite dated along with the facilities, bathroom was just unappealing. The elevator to the carpark had the feel that it would break down any minute. Room service for just desserts took almost an hour to come up to room, puzzled as it was all ice cream and a pre made brownie? Anyway for a quick stay and a reasonable price it will get you out of trouble but if you are used to big city hotels this may leave you feeling a bit disappointed. Staff friendly, and yes the $200 deposit as other reviewers have mentioned did take about 6 days to be returned, no big deal but they should advise on check in that this occurs.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the newer section as the older section is quite dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel in New Lambton, Newcastle. I found the room clean and comfortable and had everything we required. We had a spa bath in our room which was an added bonus, and they also supplied beautiful Moton Brown ammenites (very nice). I found the staff extremely friendly on check in and checkout. We also went to the Wests club adjoined to the hotel which was equally as friendly and had some wonderful reasonably priced cafes, coffee shops, and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel if in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki_kilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I loved The Executive Inn I visited in May 2014. I have stayed there before a few times as it is close to Lizottes restaurant when I visit Newcastle. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. I only stayed one night but was allowed to access Balance health Club on the day I arrived and on the day I left. It felt like a Health retreat with a swim in the pool and spa too. Wish time had have allowed a free Bike hire included too but there is so much to do in Newcastle...My only gripe is the $200 taken out of my account. I do not hold a credit card. Only a debit card and often only have enough funds in it for the week. I was assured the money would not be taken out but yes it does affect the balance in my account as it is just a debit card and I could easily been overdrawn. Be aware...It also takes all week to get it back . The management should give the option of a cash payment and drivers licence sight. Otherwise, excellent service and nil complaints :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Vale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have been staying there twice a year for last 6 years.

Agree with one other review that it takes many days to get the $200 deposit re-credited to your a/c.

I offered to pay cash for the deposit and they would not accept it. They claimed that they aimed to be as much cash free as possible.
Find this very hard to accept in a club that has at least 6-7 restaurants, countless bars and 100's of poker machines.
This year we have moved the whole reunion to a city restaurant and most of us who used to stay at the Executive are now staying at the highly rated Junction Hotel which is also 20% cheaper.
Executive Hotel is like a rabbit warren, with small rooms out dated furniture and tiny TV's.
Most of us attending the reunion used to play for Wests Rugby League) -attached to the Executive, but have decided the Hotel and the attached club are much too greedy.
How many establishments can afford to lose patronage of 25 -30 people twice a year for accommodation, dining and drinks ?
Much too expensive for what is offered!

Room Tip: stayed there 10 times so far- never found one that over impressed me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul627mv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here on several occasions and it is always reliable. If it was not for work paying I would probably stay closer to Newcastle and in a place that offers better value.
The rooms are always clean and quiet but don't represent value.
I would agree that some staff need some lessons in proper hospitality etiquette.
Parking on a Saturday night can be crowded and often I have had to park on the street which is not ideal.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jackliam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Inn

Property: The Executive Inn
Address: 10 Rugby Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Executive Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn Newcastle has accommodation packages for business or leisure travelers The Executive Inn welcomes people looking for complete Newcastle accommodation packages. Our 136 rooms include 32 spa suites as well as an apartment, all located close to the pool and adjacent to Wests New Lambton, with 12 restaurants and cafes to choose from and the fully-equipped Balance Health Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing