We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverview Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lucky Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Newcastle(Newcastle)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Clarendon Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Chifley Apartments Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulevard on Beaumont Apartments(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burwood Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 November 2009

On arrival, we were welcomed with a delicious devonshire tea (the scones were homemade by our host, Bev). Our bedroom was large with very comfortable furniture and plenty of wardrobe space, a separate sitting room and a full bathroom. We also had full use of the lounge and dining rooms with access to cd's, dvd's and tea making facilities. Breakfast in the dining room was a gourmet delight as Bev is an excellent cook. This B&B is truly a home away from home and our hosts, Bev & Ron, catered for our every need without being intrusive. A very immaculately kept home. The location is excellent with a fantastic surfing beach and access to the City via a ferry across the Hunter River - only about a 2 minute ride. Great value for money, we will definitely stay at this wonderful B&B when next in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

This is what a perfect B & B should be !
We're Canadians who travel a lot and have rarely found one as good as this anywhere
Welcoming [coffee or tea & fresh made - by Bev herself - scones, cream & jam], friendly & comfortable, in a beautifully restored period house. Lovely bedroom with a very comfie bed & an immaculately clean, enormous bathroom a few feet away down a private hallway.
But Bev herself is what makes Riverview Gardens so good - great source of of local info - from where to eat [the General Washington pub - great food but we did wonder about the name !] to where to see wildlife & area history. She's there when you need anything but never intrudes..
Breakfast includes all the usual things plus Bev 's home made breads which are fantastic - so save room for them....
Newcastle is a short drive away over the bridge - or a very nice ferry ride if you prefer - and her rates are great, much better than motels in Newcastle for a far better experience
If you're in the area & looking for a really good place to stay, we'd highly recomend this one

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

When we booked a room at this bed and breakfast on arrival at Newcastle airport we knew it promised to be a good place to stay because the owner Bev Bryce apologised for not being able to pick us up from the airport. Upon our arrival we received a really wam welcome from Bev and her husband Ron and we were given tea and scones. The bungalow is an old property that has been beautifully restored to retain all the original features, and although the furnishings were not ultra modern they were extremely comfortable. Everything was very clean and we had a really nice bathroom, it was not an en-suite but it was totally private and for our sole use. The breakfasts were very good and Bev and Ron could not do enough to make our stay pleasurable. When we were leaving they were so concerned we might miss our ferry Ron drove us to the quay. If ever we visit that part of the world again I would have no hesitation in booking in with Bev and Ron Bryce.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Leafy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

We needed accommodation in Stockton at Xmas '06, and our cousin booked us into the only B&B open in the village, which lies just north of Newcastle, NSW, a short ferry-ride across the Hunter River.
Bev & Ron Bryson made us very welcome, and gave us a lovely cream tea, with home-baked scones to die for. Good start. For all bar one night of the five we spent there we were the only guests, and on the other night we never saw the other guests! The house is an Edwardian/Australian gem, and is kept in immaculate condition by the proprietors. The room was large, had a very comfortable bed and lots of wardrobe space. The bathroom, for our exclusive use, was huge, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was chosen on a menu-sheet that we gave to Bev the night before, and nothing was too much trouble. On Christmas morning, we had an extra-special 'champagne' breakfast, with local sparkling wine and crackers (they call them bon-bons). We had use of a comfortable lounge with TV/DVD if we wanted, and there was air conditioning if needed. Locally, there is a a long beach on the ocean side of the village, and a couple of places to get a decent meal. Newcastle and Stockton aren't obvious tourist destinations, but if anyone is lucky enough to go there, this is the place to stay. At about £55 (stg) per night for the double room it was astoundingly good value.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank Acker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews