We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont judge a book by its cover!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We only stayed one night - booked on-line from Port MacQuarie so was a bit worried when we turned up we nearly didn't go in the door. There was no-one in the dark reception but after a short wait but the young lass that came to check us in was clearly not happy to be at work that day,,, so a bit of an average start.
The room was decorated nicely and had a lovely comfy king size bed. We were facing Hunter street and opposite the railway line but had no difficuly sleeping at all. the only complaint about the room was a big stain in the middle of the room and that the shower door was broken (oh and the shower really could have been alot cleaner).
We ate in the pub downstairs which was great food and excellent service,,, also had good pizza delivered to our room through their friendly room service.
So overall i think it was good value for a night or too. Its in a good central location and compared to other prices around a couple of small things you just have to accept.
There's always the Crowne Plaza over the road for those who want a no stains or a spotless bathroom, but you'll pay for it.
Also very importantly, Newcastle is a really lovely little town - if you are just passing briefly have a good look around its a fascinating place with an abundance of history and amazing architecture... and dont miss a swim in the rock pools, Enjoy!

Room Tip: I would go for the rooms facing Hunter st if they all have double glazed windows, as at the moment t...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for The Clarendon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel about 3 yrs ago and decided to stay there again. The hotel rooms have deteriorated dramatically in the past few years. They have a strong smell of cleaning products, yet the rooms are dirty with hair in the bathroom and stains on the carpet. The bathrooms are rusty, mouldy and water leaks through the shower to make the bathroom floor wet. The hotel is really only a pub! With average pub style accommodation. They claim to be luxurious, but this is not true. We would not recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBMB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Terrible hotel. The owners should be ashamed of this establishment, as well as the way they market this dive of a joint on the internet. Very dissapointed....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AB85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I was horrified when I finally drove up, Hunter street looks terrible with many boarded up shops I was beginning to think I'd just drive on and find another place to stay, but having paid already I ventured in. The reception is an extention of the bar, with the same stale beer odours. The room was much better than the surroundings would suggest, with pleasant minimalist decor. The bathroom was a good size although could do with a good clean. I had a room facing Hunter Street and the railway but wasn't bothered once by it.

I only stayed one night whilst driving up the east coast and it suited my needs perfectly. I wouldn't choose to stay here for a longer trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at this 'hotel' for one night as we were there seeing a show at the theater and the location was convenient (the theater is nextdoor.)
Going by the pictures provided, it looked nicely done up & I thought it was good value. I was wrong!
Our room was so noisy as it was situated right above the pub. We had an early morning flight and got more sleep on the plane than we did in the room.
I found the room quite dirty. The carpets were grubby and we found a dead cockroach right in the middle of the room.
Would not recommend staying here - not even for one night.
Its only saving grace was that staff were friendly and the restaurant had great food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I went to Newcastle for 3 days/2 nights for a friend's wedding and to see the Newcastle Jets vs LA Galaxy (David Beckham) game. This hotel is centrally located in the Newcastle town and is within walking distance to the wharf which has plenty of restaurants, bars and pubs.

The room was modern and really big. The bathroom was neat and clean. It suited our purposes fine. The only awkward thing was bringing our luggage to our room. We had to walk past all the patrons at the restaurant at the back of the hotel from the carpark.

I would definitely stay here again. I booked the hotel through them directly and quoted the code/deal that is on their website. With this deal we were able to get a complimentary bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

this is a great place to stay!good rooms!good service and friendy staff!also try the great resturant!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbomate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 23 in Newcastle
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 23 in Newcastle
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £70 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing