We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend over the Easter Break so the restaurant and bar were all closed, so i'm not sure if that would have made any difference to our stay but we loved the place! The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is massive. We had a little balcony and the bed was super comfortable. Great location to get around and upon checking out the receptionist was super friendly. I even forgot some clothing items in the room and they called up to let me know. Would recommend this place to anyone. We loved it!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ArizonaRubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candi_JB, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to jump online and leave us such a great review!
We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and we hope to see you back again one day soon, perhaps not on a public holiday so you can try out our bar and restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

Spent the night here with my girlfriend after a night out on the town. Easy to get back to our room late at night. NIce and wide and comfortable bed! No complaints for noise from next door which was good!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
4  Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candi_JB, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

WOW what a great place to stay while in Newcastle. Lovely to sit down at the end of the day and have an awesome meal with a few drinks with your friends. Then to sleep in a very comfortable room and bed to wake up knowing that there is a lovely breakfast downstairs just waiting for you.
Thank you Clarendon Hotel Team for the amazing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 December 2012

Hi Matt,
Thank you for the great review! We always like to hear when our guests enjoy their stay. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The rooms are small but clean, new looking with modern furnishing. The restaurant/bistro downstairs is efficient, relaxed and serves tasty food. Highly recommended.

Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

2nd visit in two years.. And exactly the same. If you don't enjoy yourself you are ok.. We were with 16 over fifty year old.. We had dinner and at least five couples stayed the night and we were asked to leave. They are kidding.

If yOu are thinking of going there DON'T. Trust me. It is shocking go somewhere else

Steve

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 November 2012

Hi Steve,
Thankyou for taking the time to review The Clarendon Hotel, it is a shame to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. Our restaurant is a family friendly venue and we generally have rave reviews from a broad range of customers. If you would like to email us at: info@clarendonhotel.com.au with some more details, our general manager will happily look into this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

we stayed one night and booked on wot if we were not dissapionted when we got there .The staff were so helpful could not do enough for you .Our room was spotless we had a balcony . the linen was lovely towels soft . The bar staff were lovely and really enjoyed there job and the same in the dining room when we had dinner and the same for breakfast even brought us 2 newspapers to readwhile waiting for our breakfast . The staff at the Claradon made our stay very enjoyable we will be back

Room Tip: had a south room with a balcony all very new and spacious spotless good selection of teas plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 November 2012

Thanks for the great review! We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay, and pride ourselves on providing unique customer service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We booked a winter warmer deal online and were very pleased with the accommodation and service. We were greeted very warmly and there were no problems checking in. For the price we paid we were very happy with the room - nicely decorated, very clean and a nice big bathroom with all you could want including haird dryer etc. We got a paper delivered each morning, free parking and a la carte breakfast plus drink vouchers included in our room rate - which saved us about $120 per day compared to our last stary at the Crown. As mentioned before if you want 5 star thats fine but it will cost more. The food here is excellent - especially the brekafasts and the staff in the kitchen and front of house were enthusiastic, welcoming and attentive. If you are looking for a warm, friendly hotel with good honest food and accommodation give it a try, we were very happy for the price we paid and would consider coming back again. My only gripe was the bar staff on the friday night were a bit rude but there were also others who were great but its not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: We faced Hunter St and the double window glazing makes the room very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 November 2012

Thank you for your review Samantha, it is always great to hear such good feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the bar staff, I have noted what you have said and it is a point we will raise at our next staff meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,055 reviews
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing