We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Recommend”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had the pleasure of 8 nights recently. Location: excellent. Staff: very efficient, friendly and committed to their jobs and worked as a team. Hotel: exceptionally clean, with very nice newly renovated rooms. Meals: Fabulous breakfasts, great weekly specials and other meals great - very good value. 5 min. stroll to wharf for alternative restaurant meals, and site seeing. Nearby mall, picture theatre. Everything you wanted. We were extremely pleased we booked here, as it was exactly what we wanted. Staff went out of their way to interact. They really were great. For those that have left comments on the music - GET A LIFE. We were warned and the nights were NOT late. A Hotel that appears is a great spot for regulars as well. Thanks guys Wilma & Graham Trounce. Vic.

Room Tip: Just book. It is a Hotel - but offers plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hi Wilma & Graham,

We loved having you stay at the hotel! It is always a pleasure to get to know our guests. Thanks for the great review - it makes us happy to know that you really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Looking forward to meeting you both again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    182
    34
    23
    13
See reviews for
59
153
33
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed at the Clarendon for one night at the end of the June. The rooms are very modern and very comfortable. The bathrooms are enormous!! The location of the hotel is excellent too and you won't find a more central location than the Clarendon. Reception staff are very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi Klkh2000,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Happy to hear that you appreciated the rooms and found our central location convenient. We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We chose to stay at the Clarendon based on a recommendation from a friend who lives in Newcastle. We've never stayed in a pub before so we were not sure what to expect. They had good rates on a last minute site so we decided to give it a go. And weren't we pleasantly surprised! Yes, it is a pub downstairs but with a classy Art Deco style bar and lovely restaurant. The whole place has heaps of character and the staff were extremely friendly and well trained. When we checked-in we were given an upgrade straight away which was surprising as often when you book on a last minute site you are not given these kinds of perks. The room itself was stylish and comfortable and the bed was incredible! Loved the linen & the shower head! Free wi-fi was another great bonus - apparently this is standard. Will definitely stay again when next in Newcastle and recommend it to friends who have been a little wary of pub accommodation. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: You can request a balcony for no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_bug_99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi Travel Bug,
Thanks for the great review. It's always wonderful to hear that guests are enjoying our style of boutique pub-style accommodation. Once upstairs many people have been 'pleasantly surprised'. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night mid-week. The location is great and is close to Queens Wharfe and good restaurants. The room was very spacious, modern, quiet and spotless. Huge shower with great, fast hot water. Special shout-out to the staff at reception. So helpful and friendly. Will certainly stay here again if we return to Newcastle.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kits06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi Kits06,

Thanks for the lovely review - we are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

i often stay at the Clarendon Hotel when i am in Newcastle doing business for my wine brand LISA MCGUIGAN WINES. My last experience was the best trip to Newcastle i have had. The Hotel provides everything I need but in particular Darren on the Breakfast shift was always so happy that i want a bit of his positivity to rub off on me for the day so i ate breakfast there every day. The cocktail bar is in my opinion the best place to meet for drinks and in fact i met a few locals there that were very entertaining.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but the ones at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi Lisa,

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a great review!

We are very happy to hear that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. Darren certainly is great asset to our team - it's lovely to hear that he has such a positive impact on our guests.

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

First time I've stayed in Newcastle and I have to say this hotel is an absolute gem. Very good value, very friendly staff in the bar and on the hotel reception and modern, clean bedrooms. We stayed in a 5 person bedroom, which wasn't massive, but certainly did the job. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Newcastle and I will certainly be staying here again next time I'm down!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC071293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi JC,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to review us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and always found it to be perfect for a night out in Newcastle. The rooms are immaculate, quiet and well appointed. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Perfect location to be able to walk to many venues along the foreshore. Had dinner at the restaurant with friends and it was great.
Really couldn't fault this last visit and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi Grant,

It's wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us on several occasions. Thanks for taking the time to write us such positive feedback - we really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing