We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautiful room. Very spacious and comfy. The TV could be bigger.

The location is very convenient if you are traveling by train. It's just a few meters away.

The restaurant was the only down side... slow service, expansive and tasteless food.

Everything else was perfect. I would stay there again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thiago V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Thiago,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really do appreciate it. Your feedback regarding the restaurant has been passed on we’ll definitely see what we can do about bigger TV’s!

We hope to see you again next time you are in Newcastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Having not stayed here prior I was not sure of what I would find after checking in. What a wonderful surprise. Very modern and clean rooms made for a fantastic stay. Thank you Clarendon. I'll be back.

James Murphy

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesM2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi James,

We can’t wait to welcome you back. Thank you for taking the time write us this review, we are happy to hear that our staff and hotel made a positive impression on you. See you next time you are in Newcastle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Clarendon on Hunter was a delightful surprise. It is a small, quiet hotel, despite appearances. It is on the main Street, but very well insulated from traffic and train noise. It is very close to trains to Sydney (Civic Station is across the street, literally), making it an ideal destination when wishing to escape the humdrum of Sydney and not worry about driving. The promenade is amazingly beautiful, day or night. I couldn't take enough pictures of the shimmering waters of the harbour in the moonlight with Noby's Point as a picturesque background.

Best of all, the Clarendon offers great value for money, and secure parking at a minimal extra. The staff are friendly and courteous. The facilities are clean and newly renovated.

Room Tip: Back rooms face construction site currently. Best to choose Hunter street rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tembor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi,

Thank you for the taking the time to write us a great review. We are happy to have been able to pleasantly surprise you with our facilities and friendly staff.

We also loved hearing that you were able to enjoy the nearby foreshore – it really is beautiful especially on a warm summer night.

Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Clarendon provided us with great service from start to finish. There was plenty of communication prior to booking and also to confirm. The rooms were beautifully furnished and very clean and tidy. The location was perfect.. only a short stroll to the restaurants and water.

Room Tip: Don't let the old 'Pub Front' fool you.. the accommodation is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Natasha,

Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your stay with us! It will certainly make the reception and housekeeping staff happy to know that you appreciated their professional service.

It’s also wonderful to hear that you made the most of our location and got to explore the many great restaurants and Newcastle sights close by.

Thanks again, we hope to see you again next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Glad we were staying on the weekend as our room looked out on a big construction site. Not as close to the wharf area and beaches as I had expected. Urban hotel with free wifi which was appreciated. Bed was comfortable, handicapped bathroom is huge and odd for people who don't need that type of facility.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alaska_Traveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi, thanks for the review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the free wifi access and our big, comfy beds.

The good news with the construction next door, is that it has reached the stage where the site is now behind a wall and no longer visible to our guests. We are also in constant communication with the construction company who are considerate of our hotel guests and alert us to anything that may be disruptive to a normal routine. On the rare occasion that this has occurred we make sure to inform our guests so they are also aware.

Not certain what part of the foreshore or which beaches you wished to visit during your stay, but for the benefit of other readers, Honeysuckle is a 5min walk, Queen’s Wharf is 11min and Nobby’s Lighthouse is a lovely 34min scenic walk along the foreshore. The closest beaches are Newcastle Beach (17min) and Bar Beach (27min). All very short drives for those with a car.

Again, thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Cons-
1. We arrived on a Sunday, which strangely meant even though there were reception staff present, we still had to enter a code into the door to enter, and we had to prearrange to have the keys and the carpark fob in a safe because it was a Sunday. Which was very strange and also a little but worrying, as we thought if we accident,y got there after reception had closed that the keys or carpark fob wouldn't be there and we be stuck.
2. The directions for the hotel said we could park just out front to pick up our fob before going to the carpark, but there is no parking just outside, just the main road, therefore we had to do several laps of the hotel to be able to park, then get back to the hotel. Not convenient.
3. There were major repair works occurring, no apology from staff, no signs of works or apology either. Sawdust foot prints everywhere, and a strong smell of varnish.
4. The lift was very shaky and rattled, definitely needs to be repaired.
5. The room although modestly decorated had very dirty windows.
6. The kettle was full of water when we arrived, shows cleaning isn't very comprehensive.
7. The bottles of shower gel etc we're sticky, showing they have probably been refilled in a sloppy way.

Pros-
1. Close to all tourist hot spots. That's it


Very disappointed. Poor value for money. I think if you are a central located hotel you should have open doors in the day time. Fair enough if people arrive in late evening/night, but to have closed doors and various codes to get yourself in, very strange

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicola163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi Nicola,
Thanks for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. Please see our responses to your points.
1. Due to the CBD nature of our hotel we have found that the majority of our guests are corporate travellers or weekend travellers who do not require a Sunday night stay - this is why our bar & restaurant are closed and our reception desk is open only for guests who check out on Sunday morning. We make sure that every guest who is checking in on Sunday is well aware of this situation so they know what to expect when they arrive. We also make it very clear on the document containing the security access codes that there is a 24hr phone number that the guests can ring if they have trouble accessing the hotel. We have found that the majority of our guests have no issue with this arrangement as it is clearly explained before arrival.
2. We are sorry that you got the impression that you could park right out the front of our main doors. This is not the case, however there are numerous street parks within 20m of the main access door.
3. We do apologise if you were not aware of the renovations. The renovation schedule did change a couple of times as we tried to juggle several different contractors. We did our best to leave adequate signage for our guests but realise that this may not have been enough in some cases.
4. Whilst our lift is not brand new, it is safety checked and serviced regularly in accordance with Australian standards.
5. The interior of our windows are cleaned regularly, however as we require the services of rope access window washers to wash the exterior this cannot occur as regularly as we would all like. We are sorry this did not meet your standards.
6. Thank you for your feedback regarding the full kettle. We will pass this oversight on to housekeeping.
7. We do not refill shampoos & conditioners - they are replaced after every guest. We will check the seals on our stock to make sure none are leaking in the future.

Once again, thank you for your review. It is a shame that you arrived on a Sunday and during our quiet renovation period. Our renovations are now almost complete and the place is back to being dust free and is looking great. If you are in town again, please think about paying us another visit as you will find that when the hotel is open it is charming, friendly and a great place to stay in the heart of Newcastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Good location and nice room a little spoilt for us by guests partying in the room above us vomiting onto our balcony and throwing down their rubbish.
It's in a great location in easy walking distance to lots of cafés and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the top of the hotel so the vomit and rubbish from not so nice guests doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi Ann,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the room and our central location.
It is however very disappointing to hear that other guests at the hotel made your stay less than perfect. We would like you to know that this is the first report we've had of this exact kind of incident occurring. While noise complaints from other guests are rare, management are more than happy to mediate these situations so that no guest is inconvenienced by other guests of the hotel.
We hope that this unusual incident does not stop you from visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#2 of 24 in Newcastle
1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 24 in Newcastle
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing