We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central if you are hitting the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice room, friendly staff and centrally located, live music out the back on weekend was probably as loud in our back room as in the bar but finished at 11 and we were out and about anyway. Friends in a room at the front of the building could not hear the music.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi Catriona, thanks for your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your room and our central location. We do have live music on Friday and Saturday nights until 11.30pm. Some guests come downstairs to listen or just enjoy the music from their balconies. And we are always happy to move guests to Hunter St rooms if they are looking for a quiet room before 11.30pm. Thanks again, we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Clarendon for the first time in February 2014. The Clarendon is in a great location within walking distance to restaurants along the water at Honeysuckle. It is a nice pub downstairs with nice food. The rooms are huge with a great bed, TV, balcony and a huge bathroom. I would definitely recommend the Clarendon Hotel and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi Kristy, we always love hearing that our guests want to stay with us again! It’s great to know that you enjoyed our rooms and our central location. Thanks for taking the time to review us – we look forward to welcoming you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I love this hotel, I have never stayed as a guest here but instead socialised at the bar or in the restaurant. If I needed decent, central and affordable accommodation to stay at following a night out in Newcastle, this place would be high on my list.

I have often ended up here for drinks following the Races or on the way to places like the Brewery in town, some nights we stayed at the Clarendon instead of moving on because the service, atmosphere and patrons were a lot of fun. I have also had meals here with friends and family prior to going to events in Civic Theatre {which is just up the road about 20m}and have never been held up waiting for meals to come out and wondering if we'd make the event.

The bar area is large at the front of the building and leads upstairs to booths, tables for dining and across to pool tables, bathroom facilities and poker machines. Often there is some live music going - and if not the tunes are pumping - which just adds to the atmosphere, if the weather is nice, they have outdoor seating at the back.

I had a birthday dinner and drinks session here about two years ago and I loved it, I had a large number of people {around 25}, when booking I had been turned away from multiple other venues in Newcastle who stated they could not or would not accommodate that many people. Once I rang The Clarendon I was relieved. I was told that my tentative number of 30 would not be a problem for them, they were happy for me to ring three days prior to the date and give them a more definite number. When we arrived they had made room for us at the back {still inside} of the venue with a long table which was ideal, I hadn't wanted to be separated from my guests.

The staff were friendly and happy for us to order at different times. Whenever we went to the bar we were treated warmly and asked if there was anything more that they could do to improve our time. A couple of friends and I enquired about some jugs of Sangria that we had heard would be coming to the Clarendon, they were not available yet {had just been an early promotion} but as it was early in the night and the bar was not overly busy at that stage, the staff happily made us a similar drink in jugs. It was a really nice touch and made our night even better. I have found the staff to be really helpful and aim to please their patrons as much as possible. I haven't ever had a friend I have gone with, tell me that they have felt uncomfortable or not enjoyed the night.

I haven't been for awhile, but after looking back on all the times I have had there - I cannot wait to go back! Give it a go, it is handy in location in that it is right near Civic station and close to other 'going out' venues - it is walkable from here to the Brewery, Customs, Grain Store or Great Northern {consider if the time you are there is appropriate for this though - a taxi isn't much to there either}.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi Sarah,

We really appreciate the time you took to write such a lovely, detailed review. It makes us very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our establishment on a number of occasions. A big thank you from all the staff for your continued support. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Only an overnight trip but had a great stay. Would recommend. There is some construction ongoing next door which did not bother me on this weekend trip but might during a weekday trip. Clean and comfortable. Close to train and entertainment precinct. I would stay there again on my next trip to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AussieDez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi, thanks for the great review. It’s good to hear that the building site next door did not bother you. So far the construction has had minimal impact on our guests and we are always happy to discuss any noise concerns with guests to make their stay more comfortable. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

At Hunterstreet in authentic building we stayed at the Clarendon for one night. Rooms are very nice and modern, good size, all amenities. Nothing to complain. Parkinggarage is first time hard to find. But easy to access. If you check in on Sunday the hotel is closed after 1pm. You receive additinal info how to enter hotel with code on frontdoor. Free wifi.

Room Tip: It seems all rooms are the same. They are good for short stay,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi, thanks for taking the time to review us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Newcastle. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Although the exterior of the hotel is dated, and we had to circle a few times to find a way to check in (because of the construction site next door), the refurbished rooms provided everything we needed. Double-glazed windows kept most of the noise out, although my husband said he could hear the trains at night. The central location meant it was an easy walk to the beaches and out for dinner. Bed comfortable and we both slept well. Only suggestion would be for a fold-up to be able to unpack a suitcase.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Quest4Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent travel experience with us. We are so pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the local delights of Newcastle, without having to venture too far from the hotel.

Thank you for the suggestion regarding the luggage rack in room, we have passed this onto management.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Clarendon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Fourth time I've stayed at the Clarendon.
Arrived back at the hotel after a very long day to find the kitchen closed. Very generous staff kindly offered to keep the kitchen open and prepare myself and colleague a meal.
Always great service from the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are more generous if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Andrew,

It’s great to hear from one of our valued regular guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a positive review. Our staff really are some of the friendliest in town and they love providing our wonderful customers with great service.

We hope you enjoyed your dining experience & look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,051 reviews
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £77 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing