We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault anything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault anything”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Room 205 in the front of the hotel was spacious, comfortable and very clean. For a one night stay it was more than we needed and we would definitely stay here again. Reception staff were very helpful and the parking in the adjacent building was very easy. A short walk to the Queen's Wharf area for lunch and then to the Honeysuckle Precinct for dinner which was very enjoyable. Yes there is construction next door, but we weren't troubled by it at all. We were there on a Friday night and did not hear one train horn during the night nor was there any noise from drunks outside. Also considered the hotel to be good value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Ronda, we really appreciate your positive review. It’s fantastic to hear that we were able to satisfy all your accommodation needs. It’s also good to hear that you made the most of our central location and were able to experience some of the great dining venues that Newcastle has to offer. Thanks again, we hope to welcome you at The Clarendon again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    179
    33
    23
    13
See reviews for
59
152
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Couldnt find place from all the construction, bar staff attending desk,room dirty and small bathroom, train honks horn out front every half hour and wakes u up wen u eventually get to sleep from drunks outside window at front till 4am....absolutely terrible stay...rip off

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Jodie, thank you for taking the time to review us. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We do make it clear that we are boutique pub-style accommodation, once reception closes at 7pm, our friendly, professional bar staff take over reception duties. Our team, regardless of their position, are all capable and happy to assist our accommodation guests with any requests or queries. With regards to the construction, we are aware that some guests have trouble finding the hotel entrance and have worked with both the building company and Newcastle Council to place appropriate signage around the hotel – we are also more than happy to provide detailed instructions over the phone for guests that request it. It is surprising that you found the room dirty as we get many compliments on the cleanliness of the rooms especially since our head housekeeper is an absolute attention-to-detail gem who takes great pride in her work. She will be disappointed to hear that a guest was unhappy. For guests that are light sleepers and not used to city noise we are more than happy to accommodate in courtyard rooms that are less affected by the ambient noise of the city. Again, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on business. An upmarket pub with renovated rooms, good value and centrally located. A little disappointed there was no food available after a late check in. Spotlessly clean room and bathroom and a comfy bed. Nice to have free wifi too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Malcolm, thanks for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that most of your needs were met during your stay. Our restaurant does close at 9pm on weeknights but we are happy to make special arrangements for guests that are checking in late – just call us before 9pm and we’ll be able to sort something out. Thanks again, we hope you to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Clarendon was a great place to stay. Close to restaurants along the water and an easy walk to cafes. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Our car did not fit in the designated car park and the staff did not hesitate in organising a special car park for us at the back of the pub. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food and service were excellent. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotless. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 121Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Cathy, thanks for your lovely review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that our friendly staff were able to meet your special requests. We look forward to welcoming you when you choose to stay here next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice room, friendly staff and centrally located, live music out the back on weekend was probably as loud in our back room as in the bar but finished at 11 and we were out and about anyway. Friends in a room at the front of the building could not hear the music.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Catriona, thanks for your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your room and our central location. We do have live music on Friday and Saturday nights until 11.30pm. Some guests come downstairs to listen or just enjoy the music from their balconies. And we are always happy to move guests to Hunter St rooms if they are looking for a quiet room before 11.30pm. Thanks again, we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Clarendon for the first time in February 2014. The Clarendon is in a great location within walking distance to restaurants along the water at Honeysuckle. It is a nice pub downstairs with nice food. The rooms are huge with a great bed, TV, balcony and a huge bathroom. I would definitely recommend the Clarendon Hotel and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Kristy, we always love hearing that our guests want to stay with us again! It’s great to know that you enjoyed our rooms and our central location. Thanks for taking the time to review us – we look forward to welcoming you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Maitland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I love this hotel, I have never stayed as a guest here but instead socialised at the bar or in the restaurant. If I needed decent, central and affordable accommodation to stay at following a night out in Newcastle, this place would be high on my list.

I have often ended up here for drinks following the Races or on the way to places like the Brewery in town, some nights we stayed at the Clarendon instead of moving on because the service, atmosphere and patrons were a lot of fun. I have also had meals here with friends and family prior to going to events in Civic Theatre {which is just up the road about 20m}and have never been held up waiting for meals to come out and wondering if we'd make the event.

The bar area is large at the front of the building and leads upstairs to booths, tables for dining and across to pool tables, bathroom facilities and poker machines. Often there is some live music going - and if not the tunes are pumping - which just adds to the atmosphere, if the weather is nice, they have outdoor seating at the back.

I had a birthday dinner and drinks session here about two years ago and I loved it, I had a large number of people {around 25}, when booking I had been turned away from multiple other venues in Newcastle who stated they could not or would not accommodate that many people. Once I rang The Clarendon I was relieved. I was told that my tentative number of 30 would not be a problem for them, they were happy for me to ring three days prior to the date and give them a more definite number. When we arrived they had made room for us at the back {still inside} of the venue with a long table which was ideal, I hadn't wanted to be separated from my guests.

The staff were friendly and happy for us to order at different times. Whenever we went to the bar we were treated warmly and asked if there was anything more that they could do to improve our time. A couple of friends and I enquired about some jugs of Sangria that we had heard would be coming to the Clarendon, they were not available yet {had just been an early promotion} but as it was early in the night and the bar was not overly busy at that stage, the staff happily made us a similar drink in jugs. It was a really nice touch and made our night even better. I have found the staff to be really helpful and aim to please their patrons as much as possible. I haven't ever had a friend I have gone with, tell me that they have felt uncomfortable or not enjoyed the night.

I haven't been for awhile, but after looking back on all the times I have had there - I cannot wait to go back! Give it a go, it is handy in location in that it is right near Civic station and close to other 'going out' venues - it is walkable from here to the Brewery, Customs, Grain Store or Great Northern {consider if the time you are there is appropriate for this though - a taxi isn't much to there either}.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Sarah,

We really appreciate the time you took to write such a lovely, detailed review. It makes us very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our establishment on a number of occasions. A big thank you from all the staff for your continued support. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,005 reviews
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing