We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Clarendon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Singleton, Australia
1 review
“Our stay at the Clarendon”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room was average for the price as well as the noisy construction work next door.

The room/bathroom was clean and tidy and we had chocolates on our pillow.

We had the room cleaner an hour before check out knocking on our door to see if we were still there.

There was no mention of the construction work when selecting this place to stay at, so we were annoyingly woken up at 6am by the sound of the workman then the loud noise of drills etc from 630am.

Over all i probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: stay else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Michael,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that the construction affected your stay so much. We have been posting regular updates regarding the building site next door across our online listings since construction began last year but realise that sometimes these notices do get missed. Work on the site does not usually begin before 7am. The construction company notifies us if they need to commence any earlier and we pass this information on to our guests so they are aware and we can accommodate them in quieter rooms if they are not planning on departing early.
With regards to the being woken by housekeeping, we have double checked that they know not to knock on doors until after the check out time of 10am. We apologise if this was not the case during your stay.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again once construction next door has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    177
    34
    23
    13
See reviews for
59
149
30
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay - the room was well proportioned, modern, quiet with a huge shower recess and the check in receptionist was very welcoming and attentive. The parking was a bit away from the building but we think it was as building nearby was taking place. We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs and we were just after a quick meal but waited forever to be served to have our order taken, our drinks to arrive and then our meal to be brought our. Even when we wanted to pay to leave we had to go to the cash register and then still wait. We went down the street for our breakfast ( which by the way was really great!). We will stay again mainly due to location.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room facing Hunter street and the train line - very well sound proofed windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cruzn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review us. We’re happy that you enjoyed the room and our location. It’s also wonderful to hear that you had a great experience at one of the many lovely restaurants close by. Your feedback regarding the hotel restaurant is also appreciated and has been passed on to the operators. Thanks again we look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We (couple and baby) Stayed in room 209 on the second floor of the building at the end of the corridor facing the main road. We heard very little road noise and considering there was construction happening at the back/ side of the building, we didn't hear a thing. Lovely staff were very welcoming and accommodating and were happy to set up a porta cot in the room for free.
$10 secured and under covered parking was a little inconvenient as it wasn't in the same building, but nether-the-less a welcome as we hired a car and there didn't seem to be any other free parking within close vicinity. Location was good, walking distance to everything needed.
Food was lovely, but I don't recall an in room food service option (maybe wrong) and the hotel is not open at all on a Sunday (which seemed pretty common with many of the pubs in Newcastle)
Oh and there wasn't a microwave (incase anyone wanted to heat food, wheat packs, baby bottles etc)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank linz311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear that your family enjoyed the stay and that you found the complimentary porta-cot handy. Just want to let you know that if you do choose to stay with us again that guests are more than welcome to use our loading bay (in the beer garden) for a short period to unload luggage if required, hopefully that eases the inconvenience of our car park location. Room service is available during restaurant hours, menus can be found in the room compendiums (we apologise if they were not in your room during your stay, we may have been updating the menu at that time). Our rooms don’t have microwaves, however our suites do have a small kitchenette that includes a microwave – we recommend booking a suite for guests that need basic kitchen facilities. Once again thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatton Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff were the best part of the stay at this the hotel.Rooms all smelt very musty and accommodation very basic.Paid for a deluxe suite but felt it was no better then a standard room that other members of our group had.Disappointed we could not have any breakfast or lunch on Sunday in the hotel.Also woken up early by construction on next property. but would love to say a big thankyou to the help given by the wonderful staff( especially Debra) and the lovely staff in the restaurant and bar.They are the ones that make this hotel a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Wendy, we appreciate the time you have taken to leave feedback on your stay.

We have spoken to housekeeping about the musty smell that you speak of and they are currently investigating this. Our Deluxe Rooms have the same facilities as our Standard Rooms - they are just larger. Essentially, if we can comfortably fit an extra single bed into the room for an additional guest then it is large enough to be considered a Deluxe Room. Some guests however do not find the additional space necessary. Our Suites on the other hand come with a kitchenette and living space and are significantly different to the rooms. We agree that it is a shame that we are not open for breakfast on weekends but we have found that with so many great breakfast restaurants just minutes away (at Honeysuckle & Darby St) it is not feasible for us to open for breakfast. We would also like to apologise for the construction noise, although it is out of our control we realise that it does occasionally have a negative affect our guest’s stay with us – we can’t wait for them to finish building!

Thank you for your kind words about our staff – they really do make the hotel friendly and inviting. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Room 205 in the front of the hotel was spacious, comfortable and very clean. For a one night stay it was more than we needed and we would definitely stay here again. Reception staff were very helpful and the parking in the adjacent building was very easy. A short walk to the Queen's Wharf area for lunch and then to the Honeysuckle Precinct for dinner which was very enjoyable. Yes there is construction next door, but we weren't troubled by it at all. We were there on a Friday night and did not hear one train horn during the night nor was there any noise from drunks outside. Also considered the hotel to be good value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Ronda, we really appreciate your positive review. It’s fantastic to hear that we were able to satisfy all your accommodation needs. It’s also good to hear that you made the most of our central location and were able to experience some of the great dining venues that Newcastle has to offer. Thanks again, we hope to welcome you at The Clarendon again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Couldnt find place from all the construction, bar staff attending desk,room dirty and small bathroom, train honks horn out front every half hour and wakes u up wen u eventually get to sleep from drunks outside window at front till 4am....absolutely terrible stay...rip off

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Jodie, thank you for taking the time to review us. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We do make it clear that we are boutique pub-style accommodation, once reception closes at 7pm, our friendly, professional bar staff take over reception duties. Our team, regardless of their position, are all capable and happy to assist our accommodation guests with any requests or queries. With regards to the construction, we are aware that some guests have trouble finding the hotel entrance and have worked with both the building company and Newcastle Council to place appropriate signage around the hotel – we are also more than happy to provide detailed instructions over the phone for guests that request it. It is surprising that you found the room dirty as we get many compliments on the cleanliness of the rooms especially since our head housekeeper is an absolute attention-to-detail gem who takes great pride in her work. She will be disappointed to hear that a guest was unhappy. For guests that are light sleepers and not used to city noise we are more than happy to accommodate in courtyard rooms that are less affected by the ambient noise of the city. Again, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on business. An upmarket pub with renovated rooms, good value and centrally located. A little disappointed there was no food available after a late check in. Spotlessly clean room and bathroom and a comfy bed. Nice to have free wifi too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Malcolm, thanks for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that most of your needs were met during your stay. Our restaurant does close at 9pm on weeknights but we are happy to make special arrangements for guests that are checking in late – just call us before 9pm and we’ll be able to sort something out. Thanks again, we hope you to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
997 reviews
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.6 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing