We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well priced, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“well priced, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at the Clarendon for a few days and the price was very good compared to the quality of the room - clean and friendly.
The only negative was the restaurant - the food was poor and it could really use a good clean - I do suggest going somewhere else to eat.
It is a typical Aussie pub so there is the 'pub smell' of stale beer when you enter - however this is what you get in this pub experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBrienSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation experience.
We have passed on your comments to the restaurant operators and they have taken your observations on board. At the start of the year the restaurant was taken over by ‘Made by Lesley Taylor’ who operates several well known restaurants in Newcastle. Since you stayed Lesley (who is a ‘hatted’ chef) has had a greater presence in the kitchen here at the hotel and has been addressing the feedback made in reviews.
Thanks again, we hope to see you some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    177
    33
    23
    13
See reviews for
59
147
30
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great Value for money. Friendly efficient service. Convenient Parking option. Large comfortable rooms. Good beer on tap Downstairs! We were very happy with our stay and will definitely stay there again when in Newcastle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank themasochist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your positive review. As well as enjoying our accommodation, we are definitely pleased that you were able to sample the great craft beers we have on tap. Did you know that we are constantly updating our guest taps to feature the finest in Australian craft beer including exclusive and limited edition brews?
Thanks again, we hope to see you at the Clarendon again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at the Clarendon . We were in 201 and while there was construction going on it didn't seem to bother us. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. Would most defiantly stay here when next in Newcastle . Avoid the travelodge..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We love hearing that we made a positive impression and that the construction next door did not affect your visit.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at The Clarendon at least 5 or 6 times now and it is always our number one choice when visiting Newcastle.
When it was first recommended to us we weren't too sure about the whole pub scene but this place exceeded our expectations from the beginning and has not disappointed on each of our returns.
The rooms are simple but modern, and have always been clean and tidy with everything we required. We've stayed in various rooms and ever had a problem with noise from the outside before which is a pleasant surprise considering the hotels central location. The only problem we have ever had was with the bedding arrangement and the staff were quick and efficient at solving this for us.
Definitely value for money and we will continue to return and recommend The Clarendon to friends!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank N0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your lovely review. Returning guests always make us happy as it means that we must be doing something right!
It’s great to hear that our staff have been looking after you and you have been enjoying your stays, we look forward to welcoming you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hallways and room smelt both musty and of too much cleaner, luckily there was a door onto a balcony for us to open. The bathroom is tiny and poorly set up. Everything was very outdated feeling. The lift smelt of beer. Good location close to Darby street with cafes and boutiques and river front dining areas. Felt it was a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sal_Cat_Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi, thank you for reviewing us. It is a shame that you found your stay disappointing. Our hotel was built in the 1930s in the Art Deco style, whilst it has been renovated several times over the years to suit modern tastes, it is still a classic building and each room has required a different design and layout to work in with the old architecture. We realise that this may not be to the taste of travellers that are used to staying in new building. However, we are happy that you found the location convenient and got to enjoy getting out and about in the heart of Newcastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singleton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room was average for the price as well as the noisy construction work next door.

The room/bathroom was clean and tidy and we had chocolates on our pillow.

We had the room cleaner an hour before check out knocking on our door to see if we were still there.

There was no mention of the construction work when selecting this place to stay at, so we were annoyingly woken up at 6am by the sound of the workman then the loud noise of drills etc from 630am.

Over all i probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: stay else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Michael,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that the construction affected your stay so much. We have been posting regular updates regarding the building site next door across our online listings since construction began last year but realise that sometimes these notices do get missed. Work on the site does not usually begin before 7am. The construction company notifies us if they need to commence any earlier and we pass this information on to our guests so they are aware and we can accommodate them in quieter rooms if they are not planning on departing early.
With regards to the being woken by housekeeping, we have double checked that they know not to knock on doors until after the check out time of 10am. We apologise if this was not the case during your stay.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again once construction next door has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay - the room was well proportioned, modern, quiet with a huge shower recess and the check in receptionist was very welcoming and attentive. The parking was a bit away from the building but we think it was as building nearby was taking place. We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs and we were just after a quick meal but waited forever to be served to have our order taken, our drinks to arrive and then our meal to be brought our. Even when we wanted to pay to leave we had to go to the cash register and then still wait. We went down the street for our breakfast ( which by the way was really great!). We will stay again mainly due to location.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room facing Hunter street and the train line - very well sound proofed windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cruzn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review us. We’re happy that you enjoyed the room and our location. It’s also wonderful to hear that you had a great experience at one of the many lovely restaurants close by. Your feedback regarding the hotel restaurant is also appreciated and has been passed on to the operators. Thanks again we look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
991 reviews
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing