We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarendon Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Novotel Newcastle Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$164
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$159
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Rydges Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gateway Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$165
US$160
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
173
195
41
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
195
41
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscivic theatreblue doorgreat locationthe pubhunter streetcentral locationbeer gardensecure parkingbalcony roomgood sizestay there againcar parkgreat nightshort walkgreat roomlarge bathrooma great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and my partner chose this hotel because we were attending a function at Town Hall, which was a one minute walk away. Everything that is not within walking distance is just a short drive away.The staff were lovely and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We love hearing that you found our central location so convenient during your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you here at the Clarendon again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We chose this hotel because we had to be near the Town Hall for a function. As with all city hotels, there are issues with lights and sounds ( we come from a small country town) but this really was fine. The building is old, with character but the rooms have all the mod cons and excellent beds.
The staff is Superb.
We had a light meal and breakfast downstairs. Best muesli Ever! The young man who seems to be everywhere would rate as employee of the year.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank sharptraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We welcome a lot of guests here that are attending functions at the nearby Town Hall or Civic Theatre. We hope you found the central location convenient for your needs. We appreciate your comment relating to lights and sounds and will soon be offering light sleepers and those not accustomed to city noise ‘sleep well’ packs to minimise any impact external factors have on our guests.
As for our ‘employee of the year’ you must be referring to Daz, a true hospitality professional who does work in all areas of the hotel – always with a big smile and helpful attitude. He has been with us for several years and is a highly valued member of our team. We’ve let him know that you appreciated his service as well!
Thanks again, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Conveniently located. Park the car and easy walk to the Civic Theatre, beach, Darby Street and Honeysuckle area. A good place for an escape weekend. Rooms were good and staff very pleasant. Enjoyable and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacsboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your great review. Your recommendation is invaluable and is much appreciated.
We hope to see you again for your next ‘weekend escape’!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great, conveniently located, affordable accomodation in the heart of Newcastle. Was pleasantly suprised by the quality and size of the rooms. Incredibly close to transport and restaurants and only a couple of minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrispalmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review us – we really do appreciate it. It makes us happy to hear that we were able to pleasantly surprise you with our comfortable rooms and convenient location.
Thanks again, we hope to welcome you here again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great value for money - our room on the train side was updated, clean and sound proof. Easy walk to Darby St cafes, Honeysuckle precinct, Hunter St mall. We stayed during the Easter weekend so parking was not an issue. Free quality WIFI.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikaela_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi,
Thanks for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a great stay and made the most of our location to explore the best drinking and dining strips that Newcastle has to offer.
Thanks for visiting, we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews