We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clarendon Hotel Newcastle NSW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Clarendon Hotel Newcastle NSW”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Not prepossessing sitting in a rather dingy old port/ industrial area we find this hotel to be a gem for the quality of food and the exuberant hospitality of the staff. At first we thought the dining room looked a bit like an old fashioned railway waiting room but the the food appeared and we forgot about appearances. The waiters both morning and evening were very cheerful and energetic Aussie blokes with absolutely,no pretensions but amazing memories for your preferences. We tried a couple of their $12:00 specials (rump steak and John Dory fish) and they were amazingly good for the price.
Definitely a return if we ever get back to Newcastle.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the Hunter St side as sometimes they have rather rowdy music sessions for young peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1943Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Hi, thanks for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience.

Our staff really do make all the difference and can turn an ordinary stay into an exceptional one. We’ve passed on your compliments to the kitchen – it’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed all your meals which are both good value and delicious!

Thanks again we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    171
    30
    22
    12
See reviews for
57
140
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have arrived on a Sunday and the hotel was closed. We had to call someone which provided us a PIN to enter the front door. We booked the hotel on the day before and therefore we missed the mail with instructions and PIN, but it was not mentioned when we booked it. When we finally entered the hotel it was very smelly as well as our room (suite). We got 3 pass codes for wireless, but all 3 were not working. After phoning ( it was no one at reception) with someone, they promised that it should work, but they would check if everything was OK. After one hour waiting for a call back he told me that there was some technical issues and he will re-set the system and will issue a new pass code to me. This one was not working as well.
Our room was not really clean. We found some strange red pills in our cupboard from other hotel guests.
The location seems ok when you want to partying, but not for families with children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank PrinceOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi, thank you for taking the time to review The Clarendon Hotel.

It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. Whilst we have made sure that all the online hotel travel sites clearly specify that the hotel bar & restaurant are closed on Sunday and that limited reception hours mean a self check-in procedure applies – we realise that this can be overlooked at time of booking. With this in mind we always endeavour to contact our Sunday guests by phone so we can explain the process in person. Unfortunately we were unable to contact you on your international number in this instance; this is why the only contact prior to arrival was via an email with your check-in instructions. As you know we have a 24hr contact phone number that guests can call at any time if they have any questions regarding self check-in or any other hotel service, hopefully this was helpful to you.

We do apologise for your free wi-fi service not working. The after hours contact person did come into the hotel to reset the system for you (this is why there was a delay in him returning your call). We are still unsure as to why it was not working for you as it appeared to be working on our end and for other guests. Now that we know that the reset did not work for you, we will contact our technician and enquire as to why you may not have been able to access the network so we can more effectively trouble shoot for guests in the future.

We have informed house keeping that there was still lost property in your room and apologise to you for this, we hope that you found all other aspects of the room cleaned to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the hotel, we do appreciate all forms as feedback as it helps us to improve on the service we provide.

*** For any future guests reading this review and looking to book on a Sunday or Public Holiday, we do have limited services available on these days and recommend contacting the hotel prior to arrival to see how this may affect your stay. ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I held my daughter's 21 birthday function here and it was very impressive. Great full for the friendly staff and lovely food. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Other entertainment places are easily accessible as with public transport being the train station across the road and taxi access at front door. Very pleasant experience over all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanettep773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi, thanks for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience.

It’s wonderful to hear that your family and friends were able to enjoy your daughters 21st birthday here. Your compliments have been passed on to the restaurant and function staff who always aim to provide both great service and delicious food – it’s fantastic that they were able to deliver on both counts!

We are happy that you were also able to enjoy the convenience of our comfortable rooms upstairs and our central location.

Thanks for the review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for work - great location as it is across the road from Civic train station and right near the waterfront. Rooms were comfortable and even though there is a building construction next door, the noise was hardly noticeable.

I chose to pre-book the breakfast and would strongly recommend. The serving was huge and fantastic quality but the cost very reasonable.

All staff were very friendly and most helpful. This is what makes all the difference to me. Given this is a smaller hotel, more boutique in style, the staff made it a delightful place to stay and this differentiates the Clarendon from the larger establishments nearby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Catherine, thanks for sharing your experience at The Clarendon Hotel.

We love hearing that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you were able to appreciate what we pride ourselves most on – comfortable rooms, a great location and friendly service!

Breakfast certainly is a highlight for many guests, your lovely compliments have been passed on to the kitchen. Thanks for recommending this to others.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Greeted by friendly, efficient staff. Hotel easy to find with taxis, public transport right at the front door. Room small but spotlessly clean (as it was every day we stayed) and well appointed. We stayed for an extended weekend and, in spite of the hotel being fully booked, it was remarkably quiet. The hotel is surrounded by Art Deco buildings, with the Civic Theatre a delight. There is a short stroll to many cafés and interesting shops. I had a query re. Lapsed free wifi and the reception person quickly, efficiently and cheerfully solved the issue. She was outstanding and clearly passionate about Newcastle. Her pride in her hotel and her city was infectious. We will return!

Room Tip: Select a room away from the lift and on the Civic Theatre side eg 108 109 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for visiting us at The Clarendon Hotel. We loved having you here!

We very much appreciate the feedback you gave during your stay, both the positive and the constructive. We have since changed the way we issue the free Wi-Fi passwords so that longer stay guests will have continuous access.

Thank you also for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor, it’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Newcastle itself.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were not sure what to expect, with it being a hotel attached to a pub, but the furnishings were lovely well appointed rooms were well above what we expected. Well stocked mini bar, friendly staff and just a shame that we had only one night there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank popgoesthechampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello, thank you for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience. We love exceeding our guest’s expectations so reading reviews like yours makes us very happy. We look forward to welcoming you again in future, hopefully for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I arrived after hours and was pleasantly surprised by the process I had to undertake to self check-in. For an overnight stay I would recommend if you, longer stays would likely see me looking for somewhere a little warmer, more spacious and relaxing. The heater is due for an upgrade however the room was well maintained and the service i received before and during my stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Bek, Thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you had no trouble with the afterhours check-in process and your stay with us got off to a good start. Thank you for your feedback regarding the heating, we are indeed looking into an upgrade.
It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed great service during your short stay, we hope to see you again in the future when the rest of the hotel is open so you can experience all aspects of our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
372 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing