We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rydges Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Lucky Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Blackbutt Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burwood Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
177
201
42
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
201
42
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscivic theatreblue doorgreat locationthe pubhunter streetcentral locationbeer gardensecure parkingcar parkbalcony roomgood sizestay there againnice roomgreat nightshort walklarge bathrooma great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Central location, great value, modern comfy hotel, close to Honeysuckle dining area.

No onsite parking but a public carpark is nearby and the bathroom was a bit small.

Toilet seat had cracks in it so that needs to be replaced, other than that great!

Room Tip: Queen room with sofa bed was great for 3 people
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Close to everything, this hotel is an old world charmer with generous size rooms which are very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff are amazingly friendly and focused on 'service' so nothing is too much trouble. Wish I could have the same hotel and service when I travel to other locations on business.
It also has a free guest laundry and wifi - both of which work really well!

Room Tip: I like room 101 which is referred to as the "Queen's suite" - has a balcony and a separate lounge area.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for your review Kristi. Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Great Hotel, location plus without the high prices of the Wharf area. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room very good. Separate entrance to the pub itself. Room size was big and so was the bathroom. Will definitely stay again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tmerchant7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Look forward to having you stay next time. Thanks for sharing your experience with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Nice clean room,great location near Darby st. Cafes and bars. Exhaust fan ? near room was a bit noisy during the night and access to pub restricted due to light rail works on Hunter st. But that’s only temporary.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mpshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to shortly having full access to the front of the hotel when Newcastle's new light rail system gets underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Room was more than just a pub, service was 5 star
I was disappointed in bathroom
Shower was old and you had to get naked to turn it on, something you don’t want when it’s cold but taps so far away from shower door and set under shower head so there’s no chance go stay dry

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Whiskawaytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thanks for your honest feedback, information like this is great for us to make improvements so thank you. Glad to hear that you have had excellent service we will let our staff know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews