We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A seafood lovers delight”

Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 558 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
322 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A seafood lovers delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

On the Honeysuckle Wharf with great views over this busy working Harbour and looking over to Stockton SCRATCHLEYS has a tremendous choice of all types of seafood and shellfish. Not fine dining but just the location for a long lazy lunch with friends. Reasonably priced. Ask for a table at the waterside when you book

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    304
    132
    90
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best dinning experiece I've had in a VERY long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I'm always looking for a great seafood resturant that serves you a good size portion of fresh seafood without overcharging you for the experinece. Well this was without a doubt the best seafood dinning experience I've ever come across on any continent! We ordered the hot and cold seafood platter for two.............and it was the best seafood I have ever had! It wasn't cheap.....but I've never had such a great variety in any resturant in my 55 years on this earth! We plan to back again tonight. A MUST visit if you enjoy seafood.
Our server was new, and a bit unsure of herself, but it did not ruin the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you Thank you Thank you! We love positive feedback! We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scratchley's yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great location the best hot and cold seafood platter for two. Service excellent.
A really great night and will go again especially for special occasions. Great views of the harbour, and right on the water.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neece_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for posting your positive review! We are pleased you had such a great experience &look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amaaaazing! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and my partner live in Newcastle's CBD and have visited scratchleys multiple times since the first time we went there 6 months ago, every single experience has been better then the last, great sea food! great view, great prices & great staff who ensure your experience every time is a valued experience. Even let us take home doggy bags when our eyes are to big for our stomachs ;) ( which is most of the time! ) Overall will deffinately be a happy customer of scratchleys forever! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaylaShae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Good food and location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Food was good, especially the Sourdough and Dips platter for starters.

Nice location right on the water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing