We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch venue with lovely service”

The Junction Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 558 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The award winning Junction Hotel has successfully merged traditional and modern design concepts, resulting in a truly unique venue. Open seven days til late we offer something for everyone! You can enjoy lunch or dinner in our restaurant or take a seat in the View Bar and dapple in our extensive wine list. On weekends take your time and enjoy that long lunch with matching wines, plus coffee and cake is also on offer...& With LIVE entertainment Friday and Saturday nights the Junction Hotel is the spot to be. Awarded 3 Schooners in the 2014 SMH Good Food Good Pub Guide WINNERS 2015 Best Casual Dining AHA NSW Awards for Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great lunch venue with lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had lunch at this pub for the first time today. Great, friendly prompt service throughout our lunch. I had the Lamb salad which was excellent and the perfect size. My partner had the Caesar salad which was nice although the presentation was a little unusual.

Lovely renovation with airy, light interiors and would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie05_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“food's usually good, but service isnt great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

the food is usually pretty good, with good desserts and a large selection of drinks. Service is not great, however. The girls are never very friendly, and it often seems as though you're in the way or annoying them. which is never a good atmosphere. at least, it isnt conducive to spending much money here. I'd come back for the trivia and the schnitzels, but only for that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sannahadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food okay. A bit pricey though for what you get...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner with a group of 7 others.
I had the lamb salad it was nice. Smaller than the last time I visited here. My husband had the salt and pepper squid. It was good. Nice and tender. The prices were higher than expected for the size of the meal.
Got busy and was quite loud with the music etc.. We are younger and I'm used to busy pubs but it was hard to have a conversation with others. I'd only return if someone else organised it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krystle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub accommodation ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. New funky rooms - we loved the rain shower and light effects! Also had a great dinner too! We are certainly coming back again soon. Thanks Anthony and Lucas for a great stay and great service! Brad and Jen

Helpful?
Thank BradJen2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great accommodation & staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a weekend with friends. Just wanted to say the accommodation & staff were excellent... Anthony (manager/owner?) was particularly good to deal with. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Matiu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Junction Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Junction Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing