We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend ”
Review of Nagisa

Nagisa
Ranked #21 of 656 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$85
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This is a little gem, surrounded by overpriced hotels/restaurants. The service was a little slow at times, but they were helpful when needed. Started with sushi, very well prepped, very fresh produce. We had the lamb and fish, absolutely amazing. Followed by some Japanese whiskey, what’s to complain about. Highly recommend.

Thank X69ZLpeterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, Peter. We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

I guess I could tell that wasn't going to be a great experience when I could see our wine sit at the bar till the waitress decided to stop chatting up the barman.

First dishe came out, then decided to order the rest of our food. Specifically asked for the food the be staggered. Waited for a while, no food. Then the waitress asked if we wanted anything else before the kitchen closed. As we didn't have an idea what we were getting we ordered one last dish. 6 mins later everything arrived at once. Just what we requested not to occur.

Wine never topped up. Really unimpressed. They knew I wasn't happy and never asked anything.

Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hi Tim. Our staff will never tolerate verbal abuse. We're sorry for your experience but that kind of behaviour is unacceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Not quite as good as our favourite Teryaki Boy in Sydney but still a good second. Friendly service, tasty food and warm on a cold night.

Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely, review., Charmaine. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We thought the food here was amazing, the service was really efficient. Overall a great night and a great meal, what more could you ask for. Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwoFrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We hope we have the chance to serve you again. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

By far the best Japanese in Newcastle. Have literally had everything on the menu.
My wife does not even eat seafood and Nagisa is one of her favourite places to go for dinner...
Both Lunch & dinner you will not be disappointed.

Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback, James. We're so delighted to receive such praise. We look forward to continuing to serve you and your wife. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nagisa also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Nagisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing