We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Parkes Convent
Nearby Hotels
US$151
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
36
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic roomshort walk into townbed and breakfastoff street parkingcolinapartmentfurniturehostsfridgespabunkbathroomdish
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A beautiful warm welcome greeted us when we got to the Convent by the owners and their puppy,then taking us to the music room which had been heated,the beds folded down and the lights dimmed absolutely beautiful.The facilities in all the rooms were of an excellent standard and all keeping the look of the old world era made it all the more comfortable and relaxing.Sitting by the fire having a red wine with the dogs on their mates made our short stay so perfect,then having a kitchen stocked with lovely food for our breakfast made me not want to leave.Last but not least our dogs enjoyed the stay as they got to sleep inside in front of the fire and run around in the delightful yard.Definitely staying again for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colo001, Owner at The Old Parkes Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you and your family (including the dogs) enjoyed your brief stay with us and hope you have a reason to return soon.

Regards Colo001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This renovated convent is beautiful with high ceilings, gas fireplaces and lots of space. Colin is a wonderful host and can tell you about the history of the building. It has wireless broadband and a hot tub/spa in back. Go to visit Parkes Observatory only 20 min away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_valentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colo001, Owner at The Old Parkes Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Christine,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the doco turns out well for you.

Regards Colo001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My mother and I recently stayed in the Music Room on our way through Parkes.
My mums 3 little dogs were travelling with us.
After stressing and worrying about finding good accomodation that would allow us the pets, we thankfully found The Old Parks Convent.
We came across it on this website and so glad we did. We had a fantastic stay and so did our dogs.
Colin made us feel so welcome. Great place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colo001, Owner at The Old Parkes Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Deborah,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. Your are correct, it is difficult to find true "pet friendly" accommodation so we were glad we could help in that regard.
Regards Colo001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The owners have done a great job creating modern amenity while maintaining a simple, old-fashioned feel appropriate to the site. We stayed in the Music Room and I particularly like the kitchen and bathroom, which reminded me of the house I grew up in (although a lot more spacious and cleaner). Loads of character and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed recently and Colin was an amazing host, he set up a little room for our daughter and then also rang around trying to find somewhere for us to have dinner on a Monday night. The place is clearly old and I think could do with an really thorough clean, I also found just over $200 quite a bit compared to the other regional places we stayed at on this trip. But Colin was an excellent host and makes the place.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank PhilippaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews