We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Quiet in the Hunter”
Review of Elfin Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elfin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet in the Hunter”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were looking for a peaceful overnight stay and weren't disappointed with Elfin Hill. We were a bit lucky as there were only two other couples, one of which never came out of their room, so we had a really peaceful time. The hosts were lovely, very genuine people. The communal area was great, we just sat on the deck most of the night, and the following morning, just enjoying the peace & tranquillity that you can't get in the city (we're from Melbourne). Excellent location with all the joys of the Hunter Valley at your doorstep. The rooms were modest, but spotless, and gave us a pleasant nights sleep. It was the setting, the communal area, and the great hosts that made the stay memorable.

Room Tip: We would love to try the Loft Villa, it's pretty new and separate to the other rooms, so would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
It was a pleasure to have you here. Elfin Hill certainly can provide that lovely peaceful relaxed stay. Happy to hear that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
110
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My daughter and I spent a "girls night away" in The Loft at Elfin Hill and had a really lovely time. The loft was spacious and fully self contained. Marie (and Lola the dog) were very welcoming and we were able to totally relax. Elfin Hills location is very convenient -close to all the vineyards and restaurants and to Hunter Valley Gardens. I would definitely recommend staying at this lovely B&B
Glenda

Room Tip: The loft is roomy,homely and self contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glendac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thanks Glenda for your lovely review. it was a pleasure to have you and your daughter here. Glad that you enjoyed your short break away in the delightful cottage. Look forward to having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Elfin Hill. The location is excellent - right in the heart of the Hunter Valley! The surroundings are so beautiful. The rooms were modern and clean, the breakfast was absolutely delicious and Marie was an incredible host. We had full use of the BBQ and kitchen during the evening which was a real plus. We would highly recommend staying here - we had a lovely weekend away and would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwest13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We loved having you here and it is always such a buzz for Mark & I to see out guests enjoying and using the BBQ and kitchen, makes for easy no fuss evenings without having to go out to eat!
Mark & I and Lola of course, welcome you back sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sysney
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed in the loft villa for one night with my husband and 2 year old. Marie was so lovely and welcoming as was her friendly dog. The villa was wonderful and full of small touches adding to the overall comfort. My little boy loved the pool, chooks and never ending grass to run on. Marie's breakfast is fantastic too - the perfect way to end a great night. Highly recommend it and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazDanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
You three were such a pleasure to have here at Elfin Hill. It is very rewarding for us to see guests enjoying this property as much as we do. Makes it all worthwhile. Please return soon and make sure you bring that adorable child of yours! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have stayed at Elfin Hill twice now with my partner and was incredibly happy with the way we were welcomed and looked after. The vibe of the place is very relaxing and refreshing and peaceful. I have stayed in the separate cottage and also one of the cabins and both were extremely clean, comfortable and cozy and in great condition.
The view is incredible and exactly what I would want to wake up to and go to sleep to, and also combines very well with the amazingly fresh food on the large veranda area in front of the common room.
If I ever stay in the Hunter Valley I will always be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. Elfin Hill is certainly a lovely spot with fabulous views and everything you need to make your stay easy and enjoyable. Please return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A delightful place to stay, with a friendly and warm welcome.
Our rooms were beautifully furnished and extremelly comfortable, the whole setting is wonderful and peaceful, you really are surrounded by nature.
Marie is a fantastic host who brings you delightful breakfasts full of goodies!
We enjoyed everything about Elfin Hill, we only wish we lived nearer! England is a long way!
Thank you Marie

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerslady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thanks for your wonderful comments. I know that it is a long way to come from the Uk but please do. I just love having familiar happy faces return....so, guess we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our stay at this beautiful B&B was absolutely amazing. The lush escape of the astoundingly green property, combined with Marie's amazingly nurturing nature, made for a very relaxing and memorable two nights. The view from the loft was absolutely amazing, and the morning breakfast was always scrumptiously delicious! I have recommended this beautiful B&B to many of my friends and family, and would highly recommend it for anyone wanting a natural escape in the vineyards of the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: The loft at Elfin Hill is very quaint and beautiful, and is relatively secluded from the other visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahraa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thanks Maggie. You are always welcome. it is my pleasure to make sure our guests are well looked after! see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
1.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
8.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
358 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#4 of 39 in Pokolbin
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfin Hill

Property: Elfin Hill
Address: Marrowbone Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elfin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful elevated property in the heart of the grape growing district of Pokolbin with fabulous views of the surrounding vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range.Quietly tucked away yet so close to all the very best that the wine region has to offer including only minutes to 4 world class golf courses.Recently refurbished and upgraded hotel style rooms are very comfortable with everything you need to make your stay easy and enjoyable with large glass french doors opening out onto your private veranda and perfectly framing the stunning vista. The separate loft/villa cottage provides a luxurious space with full amenities.The views from here are also fantastic with doors that open out onto the garden and courtyard area.Our small table grape vineyard and our neighbours extra large Chardonnay & Shiraz vineyard and farm animals complete the picture. The salt water swimming pool along side the BBQ area and the guest pavilion provides a refreshing end to a day out amongst the many cellar doors, restaurants, cafes, gardens etc during the summer months. The pavilion is the perfect place to relax and watch the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elfin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfin Hill Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing