We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be one of the best places to stay in the Hunter Valley”
Review of Elfin Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elfin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This must be one of the best places to stay in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This must be one of the best places to stay in the Hunter Valley. It is positioned some distance from the town so remember to purchase any food you want for the BBQ as you pass through if you want to avoid a return trip. We were advised that it would be best for us to eat on site rather than travel to the limited restaurants in the main town.

Rooms were a little dark but very nice. It was the fantastic shared breakfast area, kitchen and lounge that was open on two sides to the elements that we found most impressive. Eating breakfast (best cooked breakfast of our holiday!) overlooking the valley whist nature wandered past was a joy.

There was also a good sized swimming pool and a BBQ area.

It would be remiss of me not to mention the owner for whom nothing was too much trouble, a lovely lady who thoroughly deserves to succeed.

I do recommend that you don’t hire bikes from the local firm; ours gradually fell apart as we visited the local vineyards and one helmet was stuck together with tape plus they were not cheap to hire. I would judge that the only service that they had ever had was to pump up the tyres. In any case you may get down the hill to the vineyards but I challenge you to ride back considering the heat and more importantly the poor state of the bikes (yes and the wine tasting would not help).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrconcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. After a big day out wine tasting or riding bikes it is always so much easier to stay in and use the BBQ or enjoy the purchases made during the day on the veranda. Glad to to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
110
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Great welcome, comfy beds, amazing service, awesome breaky.
This is a place you should definitely stay. Just stunning.
They also sorted out a great wine tour and gave us extra bedding when an unexpected guest arrived!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 151Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
It was so interesting have you and your friends staying here with us, I love having overseas guests stay, always so interesting, that is the best part of having this little guest accommodation, all the lovely people we get to meet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We'd been to Elfin Hill 7 years ago, the first time we came to Australia, and loved it then. This time it was possibly even better! The rooms were lovely - we had one of the yet to be refurbished ones but it was very good, v.nice bathroom and amazingly comfortable bed. Our son had one of the refurbished rooms and it was really luxurious. On the second night a couple of friends came to stay and Marie and Mark were very kind and hospitable, providing an extra bed in the large room, even apologising that that particular room did not yet have a bed settee installed (when we hadn't asked for one as the visit had been unplanned) and charging very little for the extra bedding and breakfasts.
And what brilliant breakfasts! We only had the continental (included in the price) breakfast and didn't try the cooked breakfasts, but the tea and coffee kept coming, the croissants were delicious (and huge!) - and the homemade marmalade deserves special mention. Fresh fruit and yogurt, cereals, toast - we possibly didn't do it justice - it was all so good.
Marie arranged for us to join a wine tour - and we met some lovely ladies on a mums' weekend away. It was tremendous fun!
There is a beautiful sitting area at Elfin Hill with stunning views, where we feasted on bread, cheeses and pates, accompanied by the excellent wines of the area, all bought on the wine tour.

Altogether an excellent weekend, enhanced by the kindness and hospitality shown by Mark and Marie.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us here at Elfin Hill. Trust your journey home went safely and hope to see you back in Australia sometime in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our 4th stay at Elfin Hill over many years and we were visiting for the Bruce Sprinsteen concert. (Our son also had his first trip last year - so the next generation begins!). I can only reiterate what others are saying, it is a comfortable place to stay particularly if you want the enjoy the beautiful scenery / peace and avoid the large hotels and groups of tourists. Clean with everything you need plus more (BBQ, pool table tennis, lovely indoor/outdoor room to relax, even seats were left outside for us to sit on while we were waiting for our bus to the concert)
It is located in a handy position - close to Cessnock, Wollombi and still not far from the upper Hunter area. Try Constable wines nearby - super friendly and lovely gardens and good wines. The view from Audrey Wilkinson is also spectacular and a nice picnic spot.The Hunter Gardens are also lovely to walk through although it is pricey for families. You can easily spend a few hours inside.
If you want a great view go to Wollombi have something to eat at the Pub and then drive to Finchley Trig in the Yengo National park - amazing view with some Rock drawings nearby on a lower road (a 4WD is best as there is a lot of dirt road).
We had a meal at Emma's cottage which was fairly disappointing compared to other places around.
Elfin Hill exceeds in providing a relaxed and comfortable place to stay. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Chardonnay has a sitting area so plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLeary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Wow, that is an excellent review for us. Thank you.
keep returning please - it is always so nice to welcome familiar faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were looking for a peaceful overnight stay and weren't disappointed with Elfin Hill. We were a bit lucky as there were only two other couples, one of which never came out of their room, so we had a really peaceful time. The hosts were lovely, very genuine people. The communal area was great, we just sat on the deck most of the night, and the following morning, just enjoying the peace & tranquillity that you can't get in the city (we're from Melbourne). Excellent location with all the joys of the Hunter Valley at your doorstep. The rooms were modest, but spotless, and gave us a pleasant nights sleep. It was the setting, the communal area, and the great hosts that made the stay memorable.

Room Tip: We would love to try the Loft Villa, it's pretty new and separate to the other rooms, so would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
It was a pleasure to have you here. Elfin Hill certainly can provide that lovely peaceful relaxed stay. Happy to hear that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My daughter and I spent a "girls night away" in The Loft at Elfin Hill and had a really lovely time. The loft was spacious and fully self contained. Marie (and Lola the dog) were very welcoming and we were able to totally relax. Elfin Hills location is very convenient -close to all the vineyards and restaurants and to Hunter Valley Gardens. I would definitely recommend staying at this lovely B&B
Glenda

Room Tip: The loft is roomy,homely and self contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glendac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thanks Glenda for your lovely review. it was a pleasure to have you and your daughter here. Glad that you enjoyed your short break away in the delightful cottage. Look forward to having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Elfin Hill. The location is excellent - right in the heart of the Hunter Valley! The surroundings are so beautiful. The rooms were modern and clean, the breakfast was absolutely delicious and Marie was an incredible host. We had full use of the BBQ and kitchen during the evening which was a real plus. We would highly recommend staying here - we had a lovely weekend away and would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwest13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We loved having you here and it is always such a buzz for Mark & I to see out guests enjoying and using the BBQ and kitchen, makes for easy no fuss evenings without having to go out to eat!
Mark & I and Lola of course, welcome you back sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
1.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
8.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
860 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
360 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
729 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfin Hill

Property: Elfin Hill
Address: Marrowbone Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elfin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful elevated property in the heart of the grape growing district of Pokolbin with fabulous views of the surrounding vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range.Quietly tucked away yet so close to all the very best that the wine region has to offer including only minutes to 4 world class golf courses.Recently refurbished and upgraded hotel style rooms are very comfortable with everything you need to make your stay easy and enjoyable with large glass french doors opening out onto your private veranda and perfectly framing the stunning vista. The separate loft/villa cottage provides a luxurious space with full amenities.The views from here are also fantastic with doors that open out onto the garden and courtyard area.Our small table grape vineyard and our neighbours extra large Chardonnay & Shiraz vineyard and farm animals complete the picture. The salt water swimming pool along side the BBQ area and the guest pavilion provides a refreshing end to a day out amongst the many cellar doors, restaurants, cafes, gardens etc during the summer months. The pavilion is the perfect place to relax and watch the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elfin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfin Hill Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing