We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hospitality, beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elfin Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elfin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant hospitality, beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Our host was Marie who is so warm and welcoming, she really made our stay an absolute pleasure.
Our room (for my group of friends) was fantastic and all small touches had been thought of.
Everything was clean and efficient, the breakfast was great and everyone who worked there was friendly and the location is stunning.
For a weekend away with the girls, the loft/villa was the perfect place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Thank you for your review re the loft/villa. It is such a special spot that it never fails to please.
Hope to see you and your group of friends up here again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
107
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked Elfin Hill as our selected accomodation while we were in the Hunter Valley for CMC Rocks the Hunter. It sits atop a hill with the most stunning scenery and much needed tranquility. Our host Marie was so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was ample with a fantastic selection. The large atrium room which is available to sit in for breakfast or just to chill out with friends on the lounges with the fire going. We loved it. We wished we had more time to see some of the Hunter Valley. There were 3 of us girls together in a room and there was still plenty of space. Would love to come back here again and if we come back for CMCRTH next year this will definitely be the place we will book.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha_R1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Thanks ladies for your review. Elfin Hill is an excellent place to stay for the concert weekends as we are so close to the venues and with the bus stopping at the gate certainly makes it easy.
Look forward to having you back again at the next CMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Elfin Hill is a gorgeous little B&B style motel set on an beautifully elevated 6 acre property just minutes from the main winery drag of Pokolbin. The owners Marie and Mark are so welcoming and extremely accommodating, nothing is too big of an ask and they have a genuine interest in making your stay as comfortable as possible, they were even kind enough to help us out with our car troubles.

The rooms are quaint and peaceful, the beds are comfy and Mark and Marie cook up a mean breakfast - i highly recommend the Breakfast Bruschetta with Poached eggs! Yum!
Waking up to gorgeous views of the property and enjoying breakfast on the pavilions deck area looking over the vineyards, or enjoying a bit of wine and cheese watching the sun go down over the valley and playing a little catch with Lola, Marie & Mark's beautiful blue healer.
Our fave spot to sit and enjoy the sun was on the deck chairs down on the grass, we made good use of those chairs :)

If you prefer to stay in rather than go out for dinner, Elfin Hill has a commercial style kitchen that guests are encouraged to use as well as a beautiful fairy light lit BBQ area.
The Lounge room in the pavilion has couches, books, a stereo, a TV and a fire place that that just radiates cosy country side relaxation.

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Elfin Hill and will absolutely be back again!

Thanks again Marie & Mark for making our stay so wonderful, we really enjoyed our time with you guys.

Mathew & Alisha Smith
(Mat & Ally)

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Riesling" Room, which was clean, modest and comfortable. Marie and Mark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. Mark & I and our staff really appreciate such positive feedback.
Hope to have you both back here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Away from the tourist hub of Pokolbin is the peaceful location of Elfin Hill where Marie will look after all you needs. Was an excellent find and I will certainly highly recommend to all my family and friends traveling to the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Hope that the music lessons are going well for you in the Blue Mountains. Thanks so much for all your useful tips and advice you gave me too. Perhaps we will get to visit you one day soon. Take good care.
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed just the one night after a fluke recommendation by the Info Centre in Cessnock when friend & I were getting desperate for a place due to rain.Everything is just the way you like it because Marie listens quitely and makes sure you feel like it's naturally that way becuse she adjusts things to your needs. Will be coming back again and again and recommend it to the rest of the family and friends

Room Tip: Just tell Marie exactly what you are looking for and she'll be honest about the pros & cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thanks for your review. I love doing what I do but of course it helps if you have guests that appreciate it!! Elfin Hill is such a lovely spot it is hard not to enjoy it.
Please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvtotravel00
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Elfin Hill, waking up to a fantastic view and having breakfast on the main deck was very relaxing and the owners are very welcoming and eager to please.
Would be a great place for groups to stay. The large communal lounge kitchen and deck area was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
It was lovely to meet you and have you here at Elfin Hill.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I volunteered to find accommodation for our groups weekend away.
We were a party of 12 so I did lots of searching on the Internet till I found Elfin Hill.
Rang Marie to see if there was availability, she was lovely very helpful.
Elfin Hill is a perfect place for groups or family gatherings lots of room.
What sets Marie & Marks accommodation out is the wonderful pavilion room with couches & a wrap around veranda. This is were you can meet up have a drink,play games as we did,or watch a movie.
It's is set up on a hill with great views,we had perfect weather,also places to sit outside,& take in the view.We used the pool & the barbecue. Elfin Hills location is very close to all the vineyards and restaurants and to Hunter Valley Gardens. We ate at The Veranda Restaurant & had a great night.When I booked, the restaurant gave me the contact number for a shuttle bus 0459145065. Had a lovely driver who pick us up & drop us back on time at a great price.
This was on a Saturday when there was a consent on.
We returned to our haven,where we all went in to the garden & could just hear Lionel Richie singing ,under the stars perfect end to the evening.
Marie served us a great breakfast every morning nothing was to much trouble.
Every one was very happy with there rooms,air con,TV,tea & coffee ext.
We went to some lovely wineries but a weekend is just not long enough.
Maybe we can go back again in winter.

Many thanks Marie Mark & her team.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SydneyOysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Manager at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
It was with pleasure that mark & I had you here at Elfin Hill. You were a lovely happy and very easy group to look after ..so good to see you all enjoying yourselves and what we have to offer,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us.
Look forward to another gathering soon.
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
8.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.8 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
5.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfin Hill

Property: Elfin Hill
Address: Marrowbone Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elfin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful elevated property in the heart of the grape growing district of Pokolbin with fabulous views of the surrounding vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range.Quietly tucked away yet so close to all the very best that the wine region has to offer including only minutes to 4 world class golf courses.Recently refurbished and upgraded hotel style rooms are very comfortable with everything you need to make your stay easy and enjoyable with large glass french doors opening out onto your private veranda and perfectly framing the stunning vista. The separate loft/villa cottage provides a luxurious space with full amenities.The views from here are also fantastic with doors that open out onto the garden and courtyard area.Our small table grape vineyard and our neighbours extra large Chardonnay & Shiraz vineyard and farm animals complete the picture. The salt water swimming pool along side the BBQ area and the guest pavilion provides a refreshing end to a day out amongst the many cellar doors, restaurants, cafes, gardens etc during the summer months. The pavilion is the perfect place to relax and watch the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Elfin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfin Hill Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing