We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting, superb views and wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Berenbell recently and had a marvellous time. The hosts,
Ken & Suzie were very friendly and helpful, but also left us alone, so it was very private. The
setting is gorgeous, with a beautiful view of the vineyards, and it is very peaceful and quiet, so
we slept very well.

It was close to a lot of very good cellar doors and restaurants and a short drive to Tempus Two
where we went for a concert.

We thoroughly recommend a stay here, and will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schatze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The service and location is wonderful, however I made the mistake of thinking the cottages were detached - they are not and we had the misfortune of experiencing a VERY noisy party next door.

Not only did they arrive, singing their heads off at 1am, they continued to yell, sing and be generally loud and obnoxious the entire weekend.

Not blaming the property owners, they did have a word when we asked, just bear in mind some cottages are adjoining and you can be unlucky. It sort of ruined the peace and tranquility...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyWorkingMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueken070, Owner at Berenbell Vineyard Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We were somewhat surprised to read a review some 3 months after the time of the stay at our premises. Given the nature of the complaint, we would have thought a call to the owners, who are permanently on the premises, requesting that they intervene and resolve the issue in question at the time.

It is important to put the record straight and advise readers that the 3 Cottages are standalone properties and not as noted in the review "next door/attached to each other".

The reviewer obviously stayed in one of the 2 bedroom Lodges which are attached and they would have known at the time that the Lodges are side by side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We arrived at Berenbell Vineyard Retreat just before dusk after a very long day's scenic drive from Coff's Harbour and in time to see the fantastic setting for our next couple of nights stay and a troop of kangaroos feeding on the grass outside our bungalow. Knowing that we were tired and hungry, our hosts, Suzie and Ken, soon got us settled in to our accommodation and recommended (as well as kindly booked) dinner for us at the delightful Villa du Pays restaurant at the Leogate Winery on the Broke Road. What an excellent choice nearby and, after sampling some of fine Leogate wines, we retired to the tranquillity of our patio to enjoy a bottle of wine from the nearby Scarborough on Hermitage estate under the canopy of stars above us. As well as having an unobstructed view of a huge vineyards in front of us, our one bedroom bungalow was tastefully furnished, spacious and well equipped with all that we wanted and more besides. The en-suite bathroom oozed character with an antique style bath and separate shower, while the spacious living room had the benefit of a log burning stove for those cooler winter nights and a kitchen area should you wish to cater for yourself. Suzie and Ken were very keen to make sure we gained the most from our short stay giving us recommendations on places to eat and wineries to visit as well as a delightful country route for us to take to our next stop in the Blue Mountains. The welcome and kindness we received from Suzie and Ken, their attention to detail and the location and overall quality of their accommodation made for a simply idyllic stay. If you plan a visit to Hunter Valley and are looking for somewhere to stay we cannot recommend Berenbell Vineyard Retreat highly enough.

Room Tip: Suzie and Ken kindly placed us in the only one bedroom bungalow which has a completely unobstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sputnik_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

No, they didn't pay me to write this! I'm just a big fan
Imagine driving up a quiet country lane, past several popular vineyards and restaurants, into a secluded retreat where you are greeted by friendly hosts (Ken and Susie) and directed to your miniature cottage. Surrounded by hedges to ensure your privacy from the 3 other cottages, you enter your temporary home, to be confonted by unobstructed drop-dead views of the Brokenback Ranges, vineyards and dams.
The wood fire has been set and ready to set a match. The air-conditioner in the bedroom has been switched on to ensure your immediate comfort in the beautiful, brisk Hunter air. The fridge reveals fresh home-made muffins, to be consumed with the fresh plunger coffee and Twinings tea.
Or perhaps a glass of local wine White or red? A half-bottle of each awaits. Weather permitting, enjoy your wine on the private terrace, enjoying those stunning views. Perhaps saying hello to the visiting kangaroos, magpies, butcher birds or kookaburras.
If all that sounds too exhausting, hop in the claw-foot bath tub in the pristine bathroom, enjoying the complimentary MOR toiletries and fluffy white towels.
So private that you need not see another soul during your stay. Several varieties of cereals, organic wholemeal sourdough bread, milk, juices, butter and spreads ensure there's no need to do a breakfast shop.
Need something? Ken and Susie are literally just up the hill, but don't intrude on your private enjoyment of the gorgeous property.
With several local wineries and Bluetongue Brewery within walking distance, you may wish to venture out to enjoy some tasting, without worrying about breathalysers. When you return, you'll discover that the fire has been rebuilt, ready for your enjoyment.
The time will fly by, and you'll find that sadly, you'll have to say goodbye to this lovely place.
But it will have worked its magic on you, and, like me, you'll soon be planning your next trip to Berenbell, in the lovely Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: We were in cottage 4, which has fabulous views, but they probably all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights in these beautiful surroundings. We stayed in the lodge and loved everything about it. It is spick and span and the lovely touches of muffins, complementary wines and the fire made for a perfect couple of days. Not to mention the amazing views, would definitely recommend and is top of my list for Hunter Valley .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borntotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A group of us - 4 adults stayed in Berenbelle for 3 nights and we enjoyed every moment of it. The host Ken and Suzie were very hospitable. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The backyard opens up to wonderful view of vineyards and mountains. The mini-kitchen was very well equipped and stocked with continental breakfast. The location of the cottage is very central - 5~7 mins drive to well known vineyards.

This is our 2nd visit to Berenbelle and we are looking forward to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoonYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A beautiful location for a quiet weekend away. Relaxing and surrounded by the peace and beauty of the hunter wine country. Just delightful, comfortable, cosy and convenient. Ken and Suzie were delightful hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: All cabins are equally equipped. A must do dinner experience is the Ridge View Restaurant and the Cy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angecof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 39 in Pokolbin
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#7 of 15 in Pokolbin
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berenbell Vineyard Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berenbell Vineyard Retreat

Address: 60 Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £153 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berenbell Vineyard Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on extensive grounds in a secluded lane, Berenbell Vineyard Retreat offers superior self contained one bedroom Cottages and 2 bedroom Lodges. This superb location enjoys magnificent views of rolling vineyards and the rugged Brokenback range which are simply without compare. Berenbell is the idyllic retreat in which to relax or celebrate that special occasion and explore the Pokolbin wine country. Berenbell is located within minutes drive of 17 Cellar Doors and 8 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Berenbell Vineyard Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing